We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place for the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villas Vilma

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Villas Vilma
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great place for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

bright & cherry bungalows,very clean,comfortable.the grounds are very pretty with their gardens and pool,(with large jacuzzi) It was nice to be able to sit outside your room on the covered patio and look at the view of arenal volcanoe, Happened to be a cloudless morning so was able to see the top of the volcanoe---AMAZING! The young man (filan) at the desk was very helpful, I happened to fall in love with one of the dogs that ran around on the property,, would stay here again, also a lovely cafe down the street connected to an italian looking restaurant with beautiful hanging vines on it. Cool town, lot's to do.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindawoodruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    82
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
41
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loma Linda
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here one night with our family of four. The cabins are picturesque and the grounds are very well manicured. There is a nice pool and jacuzzi. The hotel provides pool towels for $2 a piece which I think is overly priced. Pool towels should be included The room had a full size bed and two twin beds. The shower was spacious and the water was warm. There was soap but not shampoo and conditioner provided. There was no hair dryer. The bathroom did have a not very pleasant smell but we assume is sulfur. We are at the foot of the volcano. The room has a nice porch with a view of the volcano. There is a comfortable set of chairs and coffee table on the porch. Our family enjoyed sitting there to chat and enjoy the view. The room has a refrigerator and a long counter with a sink. We did have to go back to the reception to get the right amount of towels and the remote for the air condition. The mattresses are not necessarily high quality and the pillows are old and lumpy. I think the lighting of the room could be improved. It is good during the day because of the two big windows, but it's rather dim at night. However, this was a wonderful place to stay and the price was right for a low budget. We paid $75 total which is rare in this town. It is a touristy place and everything is overly priced. The hotel is close to downtown if you have a car. Activities are arranged at the reception for you if desired. They have a wide range of activities to offer. They are all about $80 per person. Overall it is an excellent place of you are just looking for a nice place to spend a day by the Arenal Volcano.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peacemomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanVillegas, Director Comercial at Hotel Villas Vilma, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you so much for your comment!
Unfortunately there was a misunderstanding about the situation with the towels, we are very sorry about it, we don´t make any charge for the towels or any service besides the room rate and breakfast.
We would like to get in contact with you in order to eventually make a return for any extra charge you paid.
Your comment is very important for us! thank you for staying at Villas Vilma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is my second stay in less than four months and this stay was even nicer than the first. The buildings have been repainted a pallet of brilliant colors, with up grades to the TV's lights. Still a very good place to stay when in La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Rooms 69 & 70 have the best view of the volcano and are farthest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here 3 nights, December 29-January 1. The grounds are gorgeous. The room is simple and the bed wasn't the best but you really can't beat the value. The breakfast coupon they offered for the place across the street was also a great deal. Very good breakfast and a generous portion.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srhilg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I booked this room at the last minute for new year's eve and was surprised by the good price ($60). I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. The place is beautiful with tropical gardens, huge pool and jacuzzi, and cute bungalows facing the volcano. The rooms are big and clean with two double beds. The bathroom has a spacious shower, towels, soap.

The hotel is very small and not service-oriented but I don't mean this in a bad way. It is a place to stay - a good one and a nice one, but don't expect a concierge service to be available for you.

The location is good too, in between the town of Fortuna and the hot springs and volcano. Would recommend for a short stay for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swissmiss82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

This little resort is family run. The are great. The pool and spa are wonderful and you are a quick cab ride to the center of town. You are 5 minutes from the hot springs and at the base of the volcano. A family of four has plenty of room inside and out of the room.

Room Tip: Good price and great location, especially if you have a rental car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

The grounds and pool area are beautiful as well as the outside of our room. When we checked in we received our bath towels, upon arriving to our room the bathroom had no hand towels or face clothes or soap!! They gave us a bar of soap after we asked. Also there were hand prints all over the bathroom tiles, not very clean. The beds were very uncomfortable and the sheets too small or something because the sheets immediately came off the bed corners when we got in and no matter what we did they would not stay on!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Korn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Pradera
Hotel La Pradera
#24 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#39 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#37 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Vilma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Vilma

Property: Hotel Villas Vilma
Address: 2km oeste del centro de La Fortuna, San Carlos | carretera al Volcán Arenal, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Vilma 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villas Vilma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villas Vilma Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing