We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and kinda romantic”
Review of Hotel Villas Vilma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villas Vilma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Guided by Tripadvisor reviews we stopped here for a night on the way to Arenal volcano. Properly well kept and has beautiful volcano view. Manicured lawn, beautiful flowers, stone pawed walkways, big pool and jacuzzi. Clean rooms with quiet split room ac systems installed, showers with plenty of hot water.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MarcusSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Villas Vilma is a ten unit travlers motel that provides a resort feel at a very fair price. Being located right on the major road gives you quick access to municipal buses and local businesess. The staff is helpful and the grounds are kept manicured by a master gardener. The Black Rock travlers motel next door provides an american breakfast. Don't forget to see the peacocks and the back three acres of typical volcanoe terrain landscape. Vilma's pool and covered hot tub is a pleasure generous in size and its appealing setting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely place to stay, great value for money well recommended. Great pool and hot tub. Staff very friendly. Room spacious and comfortable.
Great view of the volcano. More like apartments than hotel rooms. Good restaurants nearby. Very clean and well looked after.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here for one evening on our way from San Jose over to the coast. The hotel is conveniently located and clean. The staff are very friendly. We had a beautiful view of the Arenal volcano from our room. Property is well-maintained and, although we didn't get to partake, the pool and hot tub looked very clean and inviting. Surprisingly, there is a lot of traffic on the main road that the hotel is off of, so the road noise was a little loud at times. The noise subsides, as the traffic does, into the evening hours. We were several rooms off of the road, so I imagine that the traffic noise would be louder in the rooms closer to the road. Overall, a good experience and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room further away from road to avoid the sound of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

They had nice clean rooms and the staff was very helpful with booking the shuttle and getting taxis. It was a decent price for the room and the accommodations were perfect for our one night stay. Its conveniently located in walking distance from restaurants and shops

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegA107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This place exceeded my expectations.

We only stayed one night, but would have liked to stay more.

The gardens were lush and beautiful, as was the view of Arenal Volcano from the entrance.

The included breakfast is in a neighbouring hotel and that was really nice.

The owners were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StueyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Villas Vilma is a nice place located just outside La Fortuna, in the direction of the Arenal Volcano and all the main attractions. Stayed there only 2 nights, and arrived without any sightseeing arrangements. The family who runs the place (sister and brother, I believe) was very helpful in making recommendations for things to see in the area, making same-day reservations for us for a tour of the Hanging Bridges in the Jungle, helping us find transportation to our next destination, and recommending restaurants. The place looks nice - as others said, bungalows with a hammock and a coffee table + love seat on a small patio. The indoors is not much to brag about - but it's simple, clean, and has air conditioned. The wifi worked well (and it's free). The pool and hot tub were nice looking, but there are a lot of bushes around so we always found leaves, flowers (and some bugs) floating around. Not a big deal but it made it look unkempt a bit although I saw someone cleaning it daily. The breakfast was simple but freshly cooked (coffee, orange juice, gallo pinto, peanut butter and jam, and eggs) - good way to start the day.

Room Tip: Our room/ bungalow was right in the middle. I liked it, except that our neighbors woke up before we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buburuza1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#36 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#16 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
651 reviews
1.1 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#30 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#41 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#40 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
117 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Vilma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Vilma

Address: 2km oeste del centro de La Fortuna, San Carlos | carretera al Volcán Arenal, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £58 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Vilma 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villas Vilma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villas Vilma Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing