We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an ok budget hotel, location is good”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Arenal Jireh

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Arenal Jireh
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“an ok budget hotel, location is good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

it was our first trip to Costa Rica, during the New Year, so we picked what was available.

The hotel is clean and cheap. Rooms are a bit dated, but everything worked.

Location is pretty good - center of the town La Fortuna, and we could see Arenal Volcano right from our bed.

Staff is OK, but not very fast.
Breakfast was basic "Tico Tipical". There was a sushi restaurant that looked great, on the 2nd floor. However, with so many other options steps away we never ended up in this restaurant.

Room Tip: third floor rooms have great views of volcano and La Fortuna downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelEasyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    20
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
12
20
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed in the hotel for one night in one of the nice rooms on the top floor. While the room was OK and the view very nice, it was terribly loud at night. we heard everything from the adjacent room and from the street. The free Internet is unusable slow and the breakfast wasn't that good. The staff was really nice though.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ichreisesehrgerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Firstly I should point out that our expectations of hotel rooms is of course influenced by the price. This was a cheap hotel in the centre of La Fortuna, and so of course we did not expect 5* luxury. What we did expect was somewhere comfortable & clean to sleep, and hot water. The room we had was on the first floor opposite the unappealing swimming pool. This meant that we had only one window into the room, right next to the stairwell. As a result, we were unable to open our curtains for privacy reasons, and the room was in a constant state of darkness. The room itself felt grubby - perhaps a little more light would have helped this, but as it was it felt dirty and in need of a good clean. Sleep was also hard to come by - the room next to the stairwell meant we heard everyone coming & going, but far worse than this was the interminable cockerel who started his cock-a-doodle-dooing at about 4am and continued for about 3 hours. AGH!

Breakfast was additional to the room charge, and the cost was not prohibitive. However, we were not told that we needed to pre-book breakfast in advance so just be aware that you need to let them know the night before if you do want breakfast.

Overall this was not a great experience for us, and we certainly couldn't recommend the hotel. We stayed in lots of cheap hotels in Costa Rica, but this was the only one where we felt standards were below par.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preciousholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

rockies
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

First, for the price, this hotel offers a ton of amenities, like AC, fridge, huge bathroom, cable, and swimming pool. Having said that, the basics were sub-par. The mattress was old, pillows were lumpy, and I had no hot water for a shower. The friendly front desk guy let me use another room's shower (that didn't have a shower door), but really?? My suggestion to make this a top notch stay, a little investment in plumbing, mattresses, and good pillows would make it a 5-star experience!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunnyrockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Our hostels.com confirmed reservation wasn't "a confirmed reservation" even though I had put a deposit down online. They were full even though it was off season. An hour of sitting in the lobby trying to find other accommodations, the helpful receptionist said she moved some incoming guests around so we could check in to the "hostel room". A large room on the 3rd floor with 5 beds and some rolling trundle beds. The room was clean and big. The room, however, had 2 glass doors which was the only downside for lack of privacy. I'm hoping hostels.com will refund my deposit since it didn't secure my reservation. Oh & The lava lounge is right across the street which makes lots of noise until 11-12 at night. I heard the rooster mentioned in other entries but it was never loud enough to wake me up on it's own. Cock-a-doodle-do!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmg930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

there are plenty of hotels en San Carlos, each to suit your budget and your needs.
i was working downtown and needed something close-by, clean and decently priced.
i got there around 7pm after i finished working. was greeted by the lovely Arlin who asked if i was traveling alone and for how long i was staying, she mentioned the complimentary breakfast and reminded me that since being too close to the street and to a bar, there would be some noise.
she took me to my room on the 2nd floor and i found a lovely little bedroom that suited my needs to perfection. it had a queen bed with adorably folded towels, a sofa, tv, coffee maker and dresser. inside the bathroom was spacious, it had a safe deposit box and hot water.
all i wanted to do was sleep since i had an early morning. the noise wasn't as loud as you'd expect in SJ for a thursday night, i was able to sleep anyways.
the next morning i was greeted by 2 breakfast options: gallo pinto and eggs, or fruit and toast, both accompanied by coffee or a fruit drink: i had the fruit and toast.
i'm not a picky traveler, most of my travels across CR are work related, i've had to stay in crappy places so i'm happy when the room is clean, the bathroom spacious and the water is hot.
i really cannot complain, and if i ever have to work at La Fortuna again, this is where i'm staying.
Dra, Pessoa Acosta

Room Tip: 2nd floor worked fine for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DraPessoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

This hotel is located on the corner of two major roads so the noise of boy racers, quad bikes and general traffic goes straight through the walls, meaning no sleep till the town settles down at about 24h00 odd. The rooster mentioned in previous comments is still very much alive and eager to make sure that you don't get much sleep.
The rest of the hotel is very nice, shower is good, coffee machine is nice, beds are comfortable. Just a shame about the noise

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexc1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rabfer
Hotel Arenal Rabfer
#45 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
#38 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#37 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#39 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenal Jireh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Jireh

Property: Hotel Arenal Jireh
Address: 150 M W Del Parque Central La Fortuna | 1 block west from Central Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 03 - 4417, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 60 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arenal Jireh 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Arenal Jireh Hotel
Hotel Arenal Jireh Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing