We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and lovely facilities”
Review of Arenal Volcano Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arenal Volcano Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hospitality and lovely facilities”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I have been staying in this hotel several times and each time I'm impressed by the hospitality and attention each employee pays to the clients. Not only at the reception but also in the restaurant which is on the site. Very convenience if you don't want to go out for dinner and the food is delicious. They do homemade pizza and great pasta.

We stayed in a deluxe room this time and I think it is worth booking them over the standard rooms. Nothing wrong with the standard rooms but the deluxe one has a great view and it is kind of nice to have your own little cabina with a small terrace to sit outside.

We also used their spa treatment and it was the perfect thing to do for after a hard day of rafting, hiking or any of the other adventures. I had a deep tissue massage - it was just perfect. My friend did a facial treatment and loved it. The spa is on the hotels property, so very convenient.

Breakfast is very good too, buffet style, with lots of different things to choose from. I definitely keep recommending this place as it is great value for what you pay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeckoTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    278
    50
    8
    1
See reviews for
237
404
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We recently stayed 2 nights at this hotel and really enjoyed our stay. When I was booking the room, I had a hard time figuring out the difference between the standard room and the deluxe. I ended up booking the deluxe since it was only $10 more and I'm glad we did. The standard rooms are lower on the slope and don't have as great of a view of the volcano. We stayed in room 108 and had a great view of the volcano. Keep in mind also, the standard rooms are all connected while the deluxe rooms are their own separate little bungalow.

Overall the hotel was VERY clean and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. TIP - if you are planning any tours, be sure to just book it when you get to the hotel instead of in advance since you get a bit of a discount for booking with them at the time of your stay.

We also ate at the restaurant our first night since we were too tired to check out La Fortuna and we were happily surprised. They served our favorite ceviche and arroz y pollo so we highly recommend checking them out. The prices aren't the cheapest but they were pretty standard for the touristy restaurant places.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are their own seperate bungalow with a better view of the volcano while the standard ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allegmma82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed in Room 108, very nice, clean and spacious. The hotel grounds are gorgeous! The hotel staff were all friendly and the restaurant has good food. You will need to take a short cab ride into La Fortuna, as it is several miles away.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My son loved this hotel. He is 5. We've traveled a lot and he still asks to go back to the Volcano Inn. The pool area was lovely and just enough for a family with kids. The view of the Volcano was spectacular, from virtually every angle. And there were banana trees scattered around the property that we got to pick bananas off of... The staff was really great. I do agree with other reviewers that say if you don't have a car you might feel stuck out of town. We had a car and thought it was in a great location, quiet, accessible.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profeviaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed here Sept 2010 but didn’t get round to writing review as we got engaged on our trip to Costa Rica so have spent the last year planning our wedding.
This hotel has an amazing view of the Volcano which was our main reason for being here, however it is out of town so without a car you are a bit stuck apart from using taxis. The little individual rooms are great and are all positioned to have a great view of the volcano. They are on a good size with two double beds but are quite basic. The bathroom was a little damp but i guess this in this environment it is difficult to be anything else.
Pool area is small but lovely and made for a very relaxing place and was a good enough size for a reasonable swim.
Breakfast was great and really good choice and good quality produce, however food in the evening was not great and fairly basic but quite expensive however we found this across most of Costa Rica in hotels. There appear to be a lot of coach trips during the day which can make lunch quite busy.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed for three nights in Room 109 which had a great view of the Arenal Volcano. The staff were very friendly, courteous and went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable. In addition, they also made last minute bookings for us for various activities. The room was very clean and spacious. The hotel surroundings of plants, flowers and birds make it very relaxing. The food at the hotel was very good and saved us several trips to La Fortuna. My wife and I would definitely go back to Costa Rica and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a Jacuzzi Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights and could not fault anything about it. The room we had, 107, had a magnificent view of Arenal Volcano, the staff could not do enough to help us and help with directions to all the places we wanted to go, as well as giving us good information on what to expect when we got there.

The gardens were home to many, many different birds and you woke up each morning to the sound of them singing.

I have travelled the world and stayed in many places and this rates in my top 10!

Room Tip: 107 has a great view from your bed of the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riocobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Volcano Inn

Property: Arenal Volcano Inn
Address: 6.5 KM North West of The catholic church of La Fortuna, San Carlos. | 6.5 km NW of the Catholic church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Volcano Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Volcano Inn is a 25 room hotel surrounded by exotic gardens that can be admired from the tranquility of your room or by taking a small walk on its natural trails. Every guest may enjoy the view of the Arenal Volcano from its own terrace. Come visit us and make Arenal Volcano Inn your home while vacationing in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Volcano Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Volcano
Arenal Volcano Inn Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing