We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What we needed...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Pradera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Pradera
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“What we needed...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Stayed here 3 nights with my GF for our adventure trip to La Fortuna. It was just what we needed. The hotel was centrally located for our plans/activities (we went to La Fortuna Waterfall, zip lining, Arenal volcano tour and to the hot springs). Room was clean (had a/c, hot water, tv), staff was ok, breakfast was good, pool/jacuzzi were excellent with a nice view of the volcano. Our room also had a great view of the volcano too. This is the place if you need a warm bath and a clean room after a day of activities.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mglmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    160
    39
    11
    6
See reviews for
80
172
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

we stay there for 2 nights, and every times i got out off the room i was amazed by the nice view on the volcano Arenal. I think that for the price it was a good value and the breakfast was good. The room where nice and clean , great distance from the town if you have a car . We have been lucky that one day a guy from the staff came next to the pool whit 2 parrots and i have been able to feed them and old them in my hands it was really a nice experience overall the staff was friendly and helpful. Little inside if you want to do the hiking for the volcano stop at the first entry before the national park the trail are cool and a good part of it is all volcano rock from the eruption of 1968 .

Room Tip: I didnt had the cabinas but it think that i would be cool because the room are close from each other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

La Fortuna definitely is one of those places you have to visit if you come to Costa Rica however due its fame it is also one of those places where you spend more. Prices, as usual, do not necessarily meet the quality criteria but we were happy when we found Holtel La Pradera.

Like most of the hotels in the area it was erected on former cattle pastures and is runned by families. We wanted to stay in one of the more private bungalows but they were all occupied so we stayed in a standard room which was quite adequate for our needs.

The whole La Fortuna area is like a big play ground for either those pursuing some adrenaline rush or paused activities thus the less we wanted to do was to stay in a bedroom watching TV i.e., however if you are active travelers like us you already know how rewarding is to have a descent mattress to lay on at night.

We had only breakfasts (included in the overnight rate) at the hotel, the options are not many nor plentiful but very tasty. If you are planing to have a day full of adventure you may need a hearty “Gallo Pinto” to keep your energy up until your next meal.

For those arriving by public transportation may find its proximity to La Fortuna town (2 Km) very convenient. Most restaurants, stores and tour operator offices are there. The direct view to the Arenal volcano (at least from the Garden rooms) complement the overall experience at this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InMyOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Fantastic place to stay! The staff were all friendly and the grounds were beautiful. Some language barriers, but nothing that couldn't be worked out. Free internet on one computer. Cab rides are fast and cheap, so no big deal being 2km from town., but there are bars and shopping within walking distance of the hotel if you didn't want to go into town. There are two friendly parrots that live there! The booze at the bar/restaurant is a little limited. The menu is reasonably priced and the food is large portions and very flavorful! This was the only hotel that remembered and was on time for wake up calls. The rooms are basic but have a T.V. and air conditioning, and a mini fridge. Oh, and they have an ice machine, which is a bonus as many hotels didn't have one. We would stay there again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpacorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

We had a fantastic stay at the hotel. The service was wonderful and I would highly recommend the hotel. The room was neat and clean. We stayed in room 30 which had a jacuzzi tub, which was great after the hike. As for the breakfast, it was delicious. The best rice and beans I ever had. The bread pudding was so good. I also enjoyed the parrots that were there for breakfast. Thank you all for such great service.
N. Chris Gargoff and Chanock Richka

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncwindchimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

This hotel is ok. It's a little out of town (many hotels are) near Baldi hot springs. Staff could be friendlier and more helpful.
All hotels in the area have volcano view so this is not a selling point.
Restaurant is quite good with generous servings.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristin0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

The hotel is facing the Arenal volcano so offers a nice view. There is a beautiful pool area and a nice patio in front of the room. The rooms need some repair as the bathroom fixtures where cracking and falling apart and the mattress was very soft. The walls are very thin and you can hear your neighbour speaking full sentences. There was a fridge in the room and a/c which was nice. The walk to La Fortuna town centre was about 20-25 minutes.
From the moment I checked in I felt the front desk staff (a young girl and especially the man) were unfriendly. Whenever I went to the front desk to ask something the staff seemed very inconvenienced to be bothered (this was at any time of day). Too bad for the staff because the scenery is lovely.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDNsoloadventuregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#24 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pradera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pradera

Property: Hotel La Pradera
Address: 2 Km West From la Fortuna, San Carlos | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Pradera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pradera Hotel
Hotel La Pradera Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing