We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Pradera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Pradera
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was a 2 star hotel but it felt like more. It was good enough for our needs and had a beautiful view of the volcano. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast that came with your stay was very good. This location was very close to town and the hot springs. I highly recommend this hotel for the money this was a great deal and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac43346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    158
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
79
168
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rainham kent
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Due to availability we spent one night in a superior Bungalow and two nights in a standard room.
The superior bungalow was very nice, large, detatched and set in lovely grounds with great views of the Volcano. It was well equipped with TV, A/C, Fridge, coffee maker and one double bed. As seems the norm in Costa Rica the room was very dark, even with the lights on! No hanging space in the room, only in the bathroom. The bathroom was again large and again dark, maybe the hideous maroon bathroom suite didnt help! it was very well equipped with towels and all the neccesary toiletries in dispensers.
The standard room was perhaps slightly smaller and set in a terrace amongst lovely grounds, with good views of the volcano, still well equipped, as per the superior bungalow, only with two double beds. The main difference being it was a lot lighter, oh and a not quite so hideous green bathroom suite. We had a problem with our A/C unit which was repaired within 15 mins of us reporting it
The pool and jacuzzi were very nice, clean and set in lush surroundings. Pool towels were available from reception.
We only ate breakfast and one lunch in the restaurant. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice plus freshly fried eggs or omelettes or both if you wished! Lunch was from a menu, mainly snack type foods, nacho's, sandwiches etc.
The hotel was a taxi ride out of town, but the ever helpful lovely reception staff were always on hand to call one for us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting La Fortuna.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank potbellypig26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Our recent 3 day stay at La Pradera was wonderful! The grounds and the pool were very well kept, beautiful vegetation and they even had name plackards under many of the plants. The room was clean, and the bathroom was very large-especially the shower! We had a frig and the a/c worked great. I recommend booking one of the rooms toward the back, not the ones near the road. We had a little patio with chairs in front that faced the pool and the Arenal volcano. The breakfasts were tasty, with a mix of traditional Tico food (pinto and plaintains) as well as freshly made omelets and plenty of hot coffee. La Fortuna is an easy walk. The family who owned/managed the hotel were very helpful and friendly. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back had a better view and were more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiteners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chickasha, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our tour company Desafino Adventure set us up in this hotel! The food there was by far the best we had in La Fortuna...besides Don Rufinos. I recommend you try the soup! The staff was very sweet and helpful. The rooms were nice and comfortable for little time we stayed in it! It was very clean we had a fridge, A/C, and nice big bathrooms!The grounds on the hotel are absolutely beautiful! The view you have from your room and the resteraunt was great! At just about a mile outside of town I highly recommend this hotel for the food alone which you get a discount on.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MistyDawn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here somewhat by accident, the price was dirt cheap for the room, which was one of the best we actually stayed in. Comfortable beds, working AC. Nice views of the volcano, nice pool and walking trails around the grounds. Gigantic bathrooms and shower, seriously the shower alone was the size of my entire bathroom. Nice staff, nice food at the restaraunt. If we had planned on staying in La Fortuna longer we would have stayed several more nights here.
They had a fridge as well, which we took full advantage of.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKGirl1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel on Jan. 31. We booked this hotel thru their website for $75. While we were in La Fortuna they had an advertisement on the street listing the rooms for $50. It was a great hotel just outside of La Fortuna. We stayed in a room facing the pool. The room was very clean, had A/C, a fridge, flat screen tv. The mattress was a little soft. The pool and grounds were very nice. The included breakfast buffet was very good. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunandsnowUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

My family of five with three kids (14,12,9) really enjoyed this hotel. It was away from the heart of town just maybe a mile or so up the road and away from the city feel. It felt very luxious and our room was facing the pool. Since it was so affordable we decided to get two rooms side-by-side. This way we still had the ability to supervise and my daughters had the girl time they wanted.

We were also close to both the location we we went for Zip-lining at another resort called. Canopy tours was the company at the Los Lagos hotel. We booked this at the hotel for the going rate..very fair about $45 a head. It was the best time we all had on the trip and probably the best family experience we had in our lives!!!! The other great thing was aftter the zip-line which we did at about 1 pm there waste. Multiple pools which were heating by the hot springs of the mountain.

On the other side of the hotel heading into town we went up this hard rock road to the base of the volcano to get to the Arenal waterfalls. Also wonderful.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again and we all loved it!!

Room Tip: Canopy tours
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#26 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pradera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pradera

Property: Hotel La Pradera
Address: 2 Km West From la Fortuna, San Carlos | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel La Pradera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pradera Hotel
Hotel La Pradera Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing