We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location in a beautiful setting”
Review of Hotel La Pradera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Pradera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Upon arriving at the hotel, the staff initially seemed confused when I was checking in, but all was well, and the had my reservation. We stayed in one of the bungalows because the rest of the other rooms were booked, but I'm glad we did. I found them to be very cozy (though yes, the lighting seemed insufficient at times) It does get loud with the nature surrounding you, but it wasn't enough to prevent us from sleeping or anything. I read that there are ATV tours out of the hotel, and saw the ATVs, but never heard them. We had a gorgeous view of the volcano right from out window! Unfortunately clouds sat atop the volcano for most of our stay, but the pool, jacuzzi, and grounds were lovely. Breakfast each morning was delicious!! The first two mornings there was a buffet, however the day of our departure there was only a limited a la carte menu, which was slightly disappointing. There is a grocery store within walking distance, which was very convenient, though we did have a car. Overall it was a beautiful place to stay in a great location if you plan on staying in the la fortuna area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djenah79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Pradera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed March 17-20. Had excellent weather. We were in the cabins. Clean, spacious and comfortable. Great location from town. Very good food and fairly priced. Grounds very pretty and pool and hot tub clean and comfortable. Nice people. Sky Trek a bit of a trip over poor roads., but worth the trip. Baldi Spas just down the road. It was a good value. $35.00.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was a 2 star hotel but it felt like more. It was good enough for our needs and had a beautiful view of the volcano. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast that came with your stay was very good. This location was very close to town and the hot springs. I highly recommend this hotel for the money this was a great deal and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jac43346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Due to availability we spent one night in a superior Bungalow and two nights in a standard room.
The superior bungalow was very nice, large, detatched and set in lovely grounds with great views of the Volcano. It was well equipped with TV, A/C, Fridge, coffee maker and one double bed. As seems the norm in Costa Rica the room was very dark, even with the lights on! No hanging space in the room, only in the bathroom. The bathroom was again large and again dark, maybe the hideous maroon bathroom suite didnt help! it was very well equipped with towels and all the neccesary toiletries in dispensers.
The standard room was perhaps slightly smaller and set in a terrace amongst lovely grounds, with good views of the volcano, still well equipped, as per the superior bungalow, only with two double beds. The main difference being it was a lot lighter, oh and a not quite so hideous green bathroom suite. We had a problem with our A/C unit which was repaired within 15 mins of us reporting it
The pool and jacuzzi were very nice, clean and set in lush surroundings. Pool towels were available from reception.
We only ate breakfast and one lunch in the restaurant. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice plus freshly fried eggs or omelettes or both if you wished! Lunch was from a menu, mainly snack type foods, nacho's, sandwiches etc.
The hotel was a taxi ride out of town, but the ever helpful lovely reception staff were always on hand to call one for us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting La Fortuna.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potbellypig26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Our recent 3 day stay at La Pradera was wonderful! The grounds and the pool were very well kept, beautiful vegetation and they even had name plackards under many of the plants. The room was clean, and the bathroom was very large-especially the shower! We had a frig and the a/c worked great. I recommend booking one of the rooms toward the back, not the ones near the road. We had a little patio with chairs in front that faced the pool and the Arenal volcano. The breakfasts were tasty, with a mix of traditional Tico food (pinto and plaintains) as well as freshly made omelets and plenty of hot coffee. La Fortuna is an easy walk. The family who owned/managed the hotel were very helpful and friendly. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back had a better view and were more quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whiteners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our tour company Desafino Adventure set us up in this hotel! The food there was by far the best we had in La Fortuna...besides Don Rufinos. I recommend you try the soup! The staff was very sweet and helpful. The rooms were nice and comfortable for little time we stayed in it! It was very clean we had a fridge, A/C, and nice big bathrooms!The grounds on the hotel are absolutely beautiful! The view you have from your room and the resteraunt was great! At just about a mile outside of town I highly recommend this hotel for the food alone which you get a discount on.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MistyDawn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here somewhat by accident, the price was dirt cheap for the room, which was one of the best we actually stayed in. Comfortable beds, working AC. Nice views of the volcano, nice pool and walking trails around the grounds. Gigantic bathrooms and shower, seriously the shower alone was the size of my entire bathroom. Nice staff, nice food at the restaraunt. If we had planned on staying in La Fortuna longer we would have stayed several more nights here.
They had a fridge as well, which we took full advantage of.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKGirl1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#34 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#16 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Magic Mountain
Hotel Magic Mountain
#20 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
770 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#22 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pradera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pradera

Address: 2 Km West From la Fortuna, San Carlos | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £50 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Pradera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pradera Hotel
Hotel La Pradera Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing