We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place for average price”
Review of Arenal Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average place for average price”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The location was good, close to the center of La Fortuna (be prepared of a touristic and expensive village). We had a nice bungalow, with good terrace. The pool was nice and big. We were a bit shocked of buss American schoolchildren who arrived, but it was no problem and they stayed just one day. We didn't really like the breakfast. It is a small buffet, but not really tasty.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IwanYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    61
    36
    16
    9
See reviews for
61
85
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The setting, gardens, pool etc were good but the service was non-existent; we came back after dinner at about 9.30 to find the reception locked and in darkness and a security guard waiting with our key. Moreover, our neighbours banged on the wall to silence us as we entered our room!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

My husband and two kids and I stayed here for two nights in december. This hotel is a step above camping. Small rooms with dirty bed covers and no blankets, making for some cold sleeping. The rooms are dated. Our cabin was close to the road and we could hear cars go by all night. The hotel charged us five dollars each to use towels to go white water rafting. I can understand a deposit in case we did not bring the towels back, but between our family and the family we were traveling with, we spent $40 on renting towels. The hotel is close to la fortuna, which was convenient. I would skip Arenal before staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kipper2010Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We looked forward to staying at this resort but were quickly let down. The reception was friendly and no problem checking in. The problem was the room was far too small for two adults and a teenager. We were lucky enough to be able to rent the room next door but this did cost.
The rooms wer very dated, a coffee machine but no coffee or cups or anything to go with it. Two double beds that had seen better days. No where to put suitcases. A lot o little things that you would normally expect in a hotel these days.

The grounds of the resort were quite nice and a view of the volcano was possible from a couple of spots.

Another problem was road noise, big trucks and motorcycles could be heard late into the night and early morning.

Breakfast was ok but being served outside there was always the threat of flies and mosquitos.

In our view the property has good potential but needs some money spent to update and upgrade the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelockes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Three days at this family-owned inn was one of the highlights of our 12 day trip to CR. Our impeccably clean and air conditioned bungalow was located in a tropical garden home to a variety of beautiful flowers and birds and a large crystal clear swimming pool that reflected the Arenal Vocano. We started each morning with a typical Costa Rican breakfast of delicious local fruits, black beans and rice, and eggs made to order. The staff was very friendly and spoke English so well that we were able to learn more about the country than just the basics. They were also patient and had a sense of humor while we practiced our very basic Spanish. Centrally located, the inn is a 5-minute walk from the downtown of La Fortuna with tour companies, restaurants, and shops to poke around in and buy souvenirs. This inn is a real gem.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaugot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Arenal. . . What a gorgeous place to visit. My boyfriend and I came to Costa Rica for a ten-day getaway. We were unsure of where to stay when visiting Fortuna, but we knew what we wanted. We were looking for a place that was close to town, reasonably priced, and included the gorgeous view of the volcano we had heard so much about.

We just happen to come across Arenal Country Inn and it was simply lovely. The people there were very helpful in assisting us with different tours and other excursions. The view of the volcano from the pool is gorgeous and we were even lucky enough to see an eruption. For the amount that we paid, I feel that we had a beautiful room and the grounds were something to be admired. I would definitely recommend this hotel to someone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamer1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quebeq
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2010

this place rocks great owners close to everything sweet deal!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_Keller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
320 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#34 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
147 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#36 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#26 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
285 reviews
8.8 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
808 reviews
0.7 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Country Inn

Property: Arenal Country Inn
Address: 1 km south of the Catholic Church | 1km Sur de la Iglesia Católica, sobre la ruta 702, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Country Inn offers the possibility of enjoying nature while being in a lovely and cozy country site. Surrounded by amazing gardens, our guest will be able to relax while being in a safe, private and comfortable environment. We strive to offer you a unique hospitality experience, based on individual attention. Arenal Country Inn`s wide property, located less than a mile from La Fortuna Catholic Church, allows our guests to enjoy nature and also experience Costa Rican´s life style. While having breakfast every morning, the bird watching experience is a gift from nature. Each one of our rooms is equipped with: TV with cable, air conditioning, mini fridge, telephone, safe deposit box, fine wood furniture, private bathroom and terrace. This hotel also offers a large swimming pool area, tour desk service, Wi-Fi access, entertainment area and parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Country Hotel
Country Inn La Fortuna De San Carlos
La Fortuna De San Carlos Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing