We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March 2013”
Review of Arenal Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenal Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The big plus about this hotel is the grounds. I was woken at about 5.30 by a stunning dawn chorus and, bumping into others from my group, saw some magnificent bird life (plus the odd squirrel). We were there for the wildlife so this was ideal.
Our room was good and spacious with a TV and fridge. The hot water was hit and miss and can go from really warm to freezing with no notice. The open-air breakfast by the swimming pool was fine, not a great choice but nice fresh fruit and a couple of cooked items and cereals.
I walked into town, La Fortuna, and this took about 10 minutes along footpaths by the road side. The hotel reception closes at 7 p.m. and the bar was never open during our stay. However, there are several good stores in La Fortuna where you can stock up on supplies for your room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

The grounds are beautiful which is really the most positive thing about this place. Rooms very tired, and the staff on reception were fairly impersonal. Breakfast was adequate. The inn is in a good location for town - only about a ten minute walk. This place suited us as we were travelling with a group of people and we enjoyed the grounds and the fact that the accomodation was in small units in the grounds. If the rooms were updated it would have been a much more positive experience, but all in all it was fine.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eljayjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Hotel itself is o.k. People are friendly and breakfast is o.k.
Hot water is simply not available. Water heating system is gas powered and standing outside against a wall. We asked twice to repair it and twice it was promised and twice nobody did anything.
The road along the hotel is very noisy with a 24 hour traffic flow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with hot water as far as possible away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Positives: wifi in the room, little fridge in room, 10minute walk to town
Negative cold shower on some days, decor is dated, breakfast is ok
We had headlamps to walk to town, which helped. I got my laundry done for 14$. They did a nice job. I stayed at 5 hotels in Costa Rica and this was one on the bottom. Yet, the wifi was good. Maybe this is more important to me than hot water.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This was a lovely place to stay. The swimming pool was great and our room was fine - very clean and small but well maintained. Unfortunately when we were there the weather was misty and wet so we never saw the volcano.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gloslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The grounds are beautiful and spacious, the blue tiled pool was great really enjoyed it at night. Rooms are run down and really need some TLC. Breakfast was adequate. Really ticked about the one towel policy, really people, your pool is a great selling point but you don't want to spring for a towel so your guests can enjoy it!? Hope someone comes in and updates the cabins because it has a lot of potential with a beautiful backdrop of Arenal and flowering plants, this could be quite a resort. Please someone, show it some love! Ditch the 70's decor and trash the funky toadstools, this could be a great place!

Room Tip: They are all the same, I would not use the fridge, ick, and the rooms are ugly. Spend your time outd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Beautiful grounds, and we had a great view of the volcano from our porch. Lots of gorgeous plants, and a super nice pool. If only the interior matched the splendid grounds. Dated sheets, spreads, and drapes (yes, drapes).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#36 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#32 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#22 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#41 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
86 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#35 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#34 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Country Inn

Address: 1 km south of the Catholic Church | 1km Sur de la Iglesia Católica, sobre la ruta 702, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 59 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £54 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Country Inn offers the possibility of enjoying nature while being in a lovely and cozy country site. Surrounded by amazing gardens, our guest will be able to relax while being in a safe, private and comfortable environment. We strive to offer you a unique hospitality experience, based on individual attention. Arenal Country Inn`s wide property, located less than a mile from La Fortuna Catholic Church, allows our guests to enjoy nature and also experience Costa Rican´s life style. While having breakfast every morning, the bird watching experience is a gift from nature. Each one of our rooms is equipped with: TV with cable, air conditioning, mini fridge, telephone, safe deposit box, fine wood furniture, private bathroom and terrace. This hotel also offers a large swimming pool area, tour desk service, Wi-Fi access, entertainment area and parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arenal Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Country Hotel
Country Inn La Fortuna De San Carlos
La Fortuna De San Carlos Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing