We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Price for a Charming Stay in Arenal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arenal Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenal Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
1 review
“Good Price for a Charming Stay in Arenal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

Arenal. . . What a gorgeous place to visit. My boyfriend and I came to Costa Rica for a ten-day getaway. We were unsure of where to stay when visiting Fortuna, but we knew what we wanted. We were looking for a place that was close to town, reasonably priced, and included the gorgeous view of the volcano we had heard so much about.

We just happen to come across Arenal Country Inn and it was simply lovely. The people there were very helpful in assisting us with different tours and other excursions. The view of the volcano from the pool is gorgeous and we were even lucky enough to see an eruption. For the amount that we paid, I feel that we had a beautiful room and the grounds were something to be admired. I would definitely recommend this hotel to someone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamer1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    61
    35
    15
    9
See reviews for
60
84
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
quebeq
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

this place rocks great owners close to everything sweet deal!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_Keller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

My husband and I spent two nights at Arenal Country Inn. Upon arrival the owner/receptionist greeted us warmly. She gave us all the necessary information for the hotel and area including tour options and the dinner menu. We ordered dinner and it was delivered to our room at the time we specified.
We went for a walk that evening and the owner offered me an umbrella because it looked like rain. She also makes the food which is tasty (better than other hotel food we had in the country). She keeps a tab on all purchases and you can settle upon leaving.
The grounds are beautiful with lovely gardening and a beautiful pool. The place was very quiet and calm. I suppose this would not be a place to go for a lively, busy atmosphere.
The rooms are small but comfortable. The AC worked perfectly and the TV was well-placed. The bathrooms were clean, well-working, and had blow-dryers.
Overall I felt this was a very pleasant place to stay, the owner was great and it was close enough to walk to town. The only complaint was that the Internet connection was down while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boo5400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

If you just plan to do tours, then this could be a good home base. It's nice that the rooms are spread out (i.e. there are 1 or 2 rooms per housing unit rather than stacked together in one building. The A/C was good and the TVs worked well. However, if you want to lounge around and relax, probably better off elsewhere where there are activities outside of the room. They have a pool, but alas it was empty and under repairs. Pretty much nothing else to do there besides take tours. It's remote from other places and very limited food options (have to rely on their restaurant, which is mediocre at best). As for Internet, the only access is one computer in their lobby that you can pay to use that didn't work while we were there. You could easily have lizards in your room (we did), so be prepared. Do not sign a commitment to be there for many days unless you are sure what you are getting - we expected working Internet and a working pool - and that is why we signed up for a few days. We left after early because we needed a pool and Internet. They charged us for all of the days we signed up for and refused to reduce fees for lacking these promised amenities (despite the fact they previously had agreed to only charge us for the nights we were there). What good hotel would do this? So you may want to try them for a day before making a long-term commitment.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel4441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicagoland, usa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

When my husband, 18month old daughter, and I drove up to the Arenal area, we were looking for some place quiet to stay. We were more than sick of roosters and semitrucks by this point in the trip. Arenal Country Inn is the place to be if you want to be alone and quiet. We got a very good night's sleep there and thought the grounds were lovely. There is a nice pool and baby pool, with several comfortable lounge chairs set up, and there is a restaraunt that serves your included breakfast. The ambiance is very country, open, floral, and nice. The odd thing about this place is that even though it was only the first week of January (holiday season for Ticos and Americans), there were only one or two other cabinas that were occupied. We were the ONLY people at the pool, the ONLY people at the restaraunt, and the ONLY people walking around the place. It's so clean and rather nice, we couldn't figure out why noone was there! It's listed in the Lonely Planet as upscale or topend, but we would knock it down to midrange. The bathrooms are nice, modern, and clean, with very hot water, and I think there was even a hair dryer. The cabinas aren't huge, but there is enough room for the two double beds, fridge, table and chairs. We found the girls at the desk very nice and helpful; they spoke very good English.

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds and pool, nice cabinas, midrange cost
  • Disliked — There was NOONE else there, nothing at all to do but sit at the pool.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank julielizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

Very nice place, great clean and spacious cabins, awesome pool on the grounds. The girl on the reception desk was super helpful and also booked activities for us. We couldn't see the volcano because the weather was bad and foggy but you could probably in general. Close to town which was convenient for us to go get food and drinks :)

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank iva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

This is probably a 2 star facility. Grounds are beautiful, staff is helpful with reasonably good English. Cabanas are pretty basic with double beds, small table/2 chairs; bare bulbs in ceiling; AC works well; stupid rule restricts each person to one towel/day. Situated about 1 km south of Fortuna. Walk is difficult to navigate when rainy or at night. Fortuna is ultimate tourist trap with more tour companies than tourists. Management was never in evidence during our 3 day stay.

  • Liked — Nicely landscaped with native palms, plants
  • Disliked — cabanas
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joehansen1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.5 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#34 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#24 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Country Inn

Property: Arenal Country Inn
Address: 1 km south of the Catholic Church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Country Inn is a small hotel with twenty rooms distributed in ten bungalows; all of then surrounded by exotic gardens. All you have to do is reach the door of your room and you will go from the most comfortable human made environment to the magnificent nature. Rooms with cable TV, A/C, mini fridge, telephone, safe deposit box, private bathroom and terrace. Large swimming pool area, food service, internet access, tour desk and parking. Impeccable cleanness and friendly service is our promise. We will make our best to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Country Hotel
Country Inn La Fortuna De San Carlos
La Fortuna De San Carlos Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing