We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much potential..but lacking in a few aspects”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
Wallington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Much potential..but lacking in a few aspects”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

This hotel, when the volcano is visible, has a great view of the volcano and has a very aesthetically pleasing walkway to the rooms, with palm trees, flowers, a pond with fish along the way. I didn't make the booking so didn't know the cost, so cost excluded it was a nice place for those looking to get away from everyday life. They need to extend the WiFi range, have both bars working at the pools.

Pros: Two pools, each with great view of the volcano. Spacious 'chalet' cabins, three beds each (family of 5 could fit in one). Great breakfast food, nice bar. Didn't try the spa but it's supposedly good.

Cons: Weak WiFi connection from room (need to be by restaurant/lobby to get any strength). Weak shower head. unattended/non-functioning bars at either pool. No glass cups/ice machines available. Staff was alright, could have been friendlier. No computers to access. There were light switches outside, so technically a stranger could walk to your cabin and turn on the main light from outside..weird

Room Tip: The cabins are nice, something different than just having one of the regular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmm3744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    38
    54
    30
    17
See reviews for
44
49
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Even though hotel offered very competitive prices (US$100 for a 5 persons "chalet") it did not provide most of the offered amenities (free wifi @ room), no working phone, room light would only work along with ventilator, water on shower made you stick real close to wall, both pools did not have a working pool bar, no kids pool). And to make things work, volcano is no longer active so no real reason to stay there (they do not offer thermal waters), Only remarkble item is their massage/beauty spa.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

akron, ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We were booked into this hotel last minute on a change from a previous booking though our tour package. The hotel was dated. The TV was an older model & only got one USA Channel. Our room was clean but others in our group were not pleased with how clean their room was & they were distressed with mold in a couple of the rooms. The grounds were better maintained than the rooms. The meals were bland at best. The serving staff for meals could care less about serving us, the tables were lacking basics like salt & pepper, they were needed because the food was tasteless & the breakfasts lacked any meat. If you have a chance research the hotels/resorts in the area & stay here only if everything else is sold out!!! .

Room Tip: Rooms offer a great view of the volcano. If you can get an upper level room facing the volcan that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dakappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Rooms had plumbing & mold issues (in multiple rooms). View of volcano is great. Food was poor to mediocre at best. Staff wasn't friendly or very accommodating. I would definitely try another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2txgirlsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed in lots of hotels in CR, but this one was the only one we had trouble with. The Front Desk man was the rudest, uncompromising person I've ever dealt with at a hotel (and I've stayed in many!). The pool was dirty and looked like it hasn't been cleaned for ages. The air conditioner in the room leaked and made a lot of noise (which made it impossible to sleep considering it was also really hot out). The bathroom was also pretty disgusting - looked like it hasn't been cleaned since last night's stay. The hotel was also relatively far from the center (La Fortuna) - it would be a 15 min drive on the taxis there. Speaking of taxis - they're all scam artists in Arenal (if you order the taxi through this hotel). They charge you for the mileage it takes them to get to the hotel in addition to where they take you. So by the time they get to you, they already clocked $20 worth!!! Be careful with them - and the hotel desk guy is not helpful at all with them because he gets a cut out of every time he calls you a taxi!!!! Be mindful of that. And don't stay at this hotel if you want a peaceful vacation. Oh, and the WIFI didn't work.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cizofworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

From our lovely cabin, a gorgeous view of Arenal. The view is wonderful. The grounds of Lavas Tocotal are extremely well kept, and a joy to wonder through. The staff are very professional and helpful.
Suggestion: be sure and visit Ecotermales----the real, rustic hot springs! Go around four in the afternoon, stay for dinner---and enjoy the magic---monkeys included.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

Probably one of the best view of the volcano. We stayed in a regular room and were very supprised by the quality. We paid $134 for 2 nights !! Incredible deal. We did not try the retaurant... but once for the breakfast (included in the price). Very basic....
The location is great: a few miles from La Fortuna and very close to all attractions

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philitwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#26 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Fuego Arenal
Hotel Fuego Arenal
#44 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#39 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lavas Tacotal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas Tacotal

Property: Hotel Lavas Tacotal
Address: 10 Km West from downtown La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 2772-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lavas Tacotal 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Lavas Tacotal you can enjoy the natural greatness of the Arenal Volcano. Its amazing conic shape and constant volcanic activity, the Arenal Volcano is one of the most important attractions in Costa Rica. Walk through trails of solidified lava, ride across exhuberant forests, the activity of the Arenal Volcano during the day or by night. The amazing spectacle of incandescent lava flowing from the crater is truly breathtaking. The hotel amenities includes air conditioning, maid service, pool, restaurant, tennis, bar, laundry, spa, 24 hour security, souvenir shop, and private parking. handicap facilities, and non smoking rooms are also available. The room amenities includes cable TVs, balcony, safe deposit boxes, telephones, mini bars, and Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lavas Tacotal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavas Tacotal Hotel
Hotel Lavas Tacotal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing