We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This was part of an EF package tour so I had no say in the booking. It was mainly average but I found the bed comfy enough. The giant window wall that did not open was kind of problematic esp. with a glass door that also needed to be covered by a curtain. We also did not like the fact that our door had to be locked WITH THE KEY to remain closed. No latch would require you to locate the quickly in an emergency.

We had difficulty adjusting the A/C and when the staff left a window in the bathroom open which we did not see, the A/C was useless.

The view from this hotel was stunning and we spent as much time as possible outside in the very attractive gardens.

Room Tip: Long walk to some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSturgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

The view of the volcano is the reason to visit this hotel. The picture is not a lie, and it was awesome one morning we were there. We were fortunate to have one of the cabins so it had a lot of space, it was fairly quiet, and the A/C worked. The kids enjoyed the pool, and the restaurant/bar area was kind of cool with a tiki hut style roof and open air views. The meals were ok, and they had some wifi in the lobby. On the negative side, we had no water pressure in the shower, some friends had no hot water, our refrigerator did not work, and the electric plugs were out on one side of the room. We had a king-size bed, which was great, but it was a little saggy.

Room Tip: The cabins are nicer than the rooms in the hotel section, and further away from the pool may be good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MizzouLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

There was so much disatification that I'm just going to list the error of this hotel's ways! While giving credit to the few things that were OK. I was traveling for semi-business so this trip was not paid with personal dollars. But I felt so bad ANYBODY had to pay money on this place. Fellow TA Reviewers...trust me...I am very fair and honest! just read my other reviews. Had I not been on a tour with native Spanish speakers I would've been lost because outside of housekeeping staff, no one else was very nice.

The following were OK...
1. Working air conditioning , rooms only
2. Nice housekeeping staff and kept rooms as clean as they could get them

Serious Errors
1. property did not feel secure!
2. Horrible food
3. Wi-fi is ONLY in the lobby...and good luck with consistent connection there! (this is really bad when you're away from family and are trying to communicate via the Internet) I couldn't even FaceTime in the privacy of my room.
4. Rude dining staff and flirtatious lobby staff...professionalism please!
5. Soiled seat cushions in the lobby area
6. Filthy restrooms In the public areas
7. If staying on the lower level, younwill have a store front like glass door that has see thru curtains. So at night, if you have any light on in your room, people passing by WILL see you!
8. You can feel the springs in your bed! When I travel, I expect the same sleep experience or better.

Okay that's it! It's giving me horrid memories of an otherwise fantastic trip! This was one out of 3 hotels I stayed during my 7 day trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor. You will have a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DivaLadyJ_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We booked through Travelocity, which currently only pictures the rooms as cabanas, not the motel at the bottom of the lodge, which I was expecting. The view was great, even with the volcano dormant, and the staff helped us book tours and taxis. The laundry was not on time (and my friend really wanted to wear jeans horse-back riding). All in all, it was good for the money. The beds were comfortable with a mini-fridge. We had a massage at the spa, which was great! I'd definitely go back, but book directly through the hotel to make sure I got a cabana.

Room Tip: Call the hotel during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Don't expect frills or luxury at this hotel, but expect fairly clean rooms and beautiful grounds that can be enjoyed from the porch of your own cabin. I believe there are both regular rooms and individual cabins available at this hotel, though we stayed in one of the cabins. The doors do not seal tightly and there may cracks in the walls that allow bugs and lizards in. It wasn't a huge problem for us, but we kept towels rolled up near any visible openings to the outdoors so we could avoid an issue. We also had some trouble with the key for our door but the staff was glad to help resolve that for us quickly. All in all, I was pleased with the experience for the price we paid. To spend about $80/night, you can't expect much so I was happy to have a clean room, great view of the volcano just outside our door, and easy access to explore the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We were not impressed with this hotel. We had a lower room (1st floor on a 2 room building) and found that the window in the bathroom was open to some of the operating mechanical equipment for the hotel. The noise was so loud we had to close the window and the bathroom door in order to sleep. The staff in the diningroom stood around and did not offer any service except to tell us that we should go elsewhere for dinner (we had booked this hotel because there was an on site restaurant). While the room was kept clean by the housekeeping staff, the hotel is definitely showing wear. We went to the pool for a swim and found a chair at the bottom, we moved it ourselves even though there were staff standing around. The loungers at the pool were all broken. I say look elsewhere, you can do better.

Room Tip: The rooms are facing each other, no privacy. This seemed strange because their is a beautiful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

A beautiful property, but practically empty except for tour busses. None of staff seemed to speak English. Restaurant completely empty, except during breakfast it was swamped with tours. Practically no wi-fi.
Terrific view of Arenal Volcano, but it's done nothing for at least a year.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDBAlbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#36 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
4.2 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
829 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#34 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#31 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,262 reviews
5.1 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#35 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
150 reviews
4.5 mi away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#41 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lavas Tacotal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas Tacotal

Address: 10 Km West from downtown La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 2772-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £52 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lavas Tacotal 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Lavas Tacotal you can enjoy the natural greatness of the Arenal Volcano. Its amazing conic shape and constant volcanic activity, the Arenal Volcano is one of the most important attractions in Costa Rica. Walk through trails of solidified lava, ride across exhuberant forests, the activity of the Arenal Volcano during the day or by night. The amazing spectacle of incandescent lava flowing from the crater is truly breathtaking. The hotel amenities includes air conditioning, maid service, pool, restaurant, tennis, bar, laundry, spa, 24 hour security, souvenir shop, and private parking. handicap facilities, and non smoking rooms are also available. The room amenities includes cable TVs, balcony, safe deposit boxes, telephones, mini bars, and Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lavas Tacotal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavas Tacotal Hotel
Hotel Lavas Tacotal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing