We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Don't Waste Your Money !!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lavas Tacotal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
San Tan Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Waste Your Money !!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Check in was the start of a very bad experience. The staff could not answer any questions we had. There wasn't anyone to help with bags, the place is very old and run down, the room smelled, the beds were old and you could feel the springs of the mattresses, no phone, plumbing issues, very out dated pool and terrible food. I HIGHLY suggest you pick someplace else to stay. There is nothing to do around the area and cost $14.00 1 way to town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry Davis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    36
    49
    30
    17
See reviews for
42
46
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

The staff here was extremely helpful, especially when I had a problem with my transportation. They worked very hard to find me transportation to my next destination. I had room 13 which has a spectacular view of Arenal vocano. The room has a nice balcony. It was a good value. There are no phones in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for room 13; it has a nice view and a cute balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oleoides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoersholm, Denmark
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Wi Fi only working in the middle of the reception and only sometimes... Telephone in the rooms didn't work!
No safe box not even in the reception, no transportation to La Fortuna, nothing! The pool area with only two very uncomfortable sun chairs...
The staff was nice, but unprofessional...
Beautiful view, but u get that everywhere in this area.
I checked out to day earlier ( prepaid room, [--])

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarstenBjerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

This hotel has a great view of the volcano..however it is old. we changed rooms 4 times. in the end we settled on the first room. Our room the A/C didn't work (it was due to the batteries in the remote) second room had ants, third room TV didn't work (ended up taking batteries from one room and switched them to get our A/C to work) Didn't trust the restaurant due to the lack of patrons. We did end up eating breakfast next door at Campo Verde. The girls who run this place are very dedicated. The place is clean and became our hang out. I'd recommend this place!! It was cute, clean and well run. Also they set us up with taxi's for cheap to the Arenal volcano National Park and gave some awesome advice.

Finally do NOT cross the road and eat at the Mirador Steak house. The place is a scam. By far the worst steak house in the world. Bad service. They have two menu's one for tourists and one for locals. Also they try to rip you off on the bill by charging 28% tax and just assume tourists will not notice.

I'll have to say the staff tried hard to accomodate us at Lavas tacotal, the cleaning staff tried hard to clean our room. However this hotel is dated and requires significant renovations. In fact the roof looks patched up when it requires new shingles. Parts of the roof on the 'newer hotel room section' under balconies have collapsed due to water damage. The two ladies at the front desk were nice and good employees. Problem is with the owners/managers.

I would recommend staying else where. for $$ and view stay at Campo Verde which is next door.

Room Tip: the 'newer' rooms in the back of the property /closer to the volcano seem to be the nicest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nb414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

At first we thought this was going to be a wonderful place to stay. It was charming and had a great view of the volcano. The breakfast was okay but the same thing each morning. After our first night there (we had 2 rooms) our children complained about a smell. One of our girls (16) fell asleep on top of the covers and then in the middle of the night got under the sheets and felt something sticky. She got up in her sleep, showered her legs off and got in bed with her sister. The next morning when I went into their room I pulled the covers down to see that there was stool at the bottom of the bed. It was not a small amount (not a baby) and was obviously put there on purpose. We felt that they must have had a disgruntled worker who may have been fired, play a real nasty trick on the hotel. We changed rooms and all was fine. When we went to check out we asked for them to compensate us just for that room for that one night. They only gave us a 30.00 credit which is unbelievable. We were very nice about the situation and they could not comp one room for one night. From now on, check your beds before you get into to them. DISGUSTING.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank may6_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed only 2 nights in the quiet season so not many other guests, but even so the hotel felt closed.

On our first day we wanted to get some food at midday, we were told there was no food available as they were cleaning and they didn't know where we could go to get any. At 4pm we went back down to the restaurant to get a couple of beers but were told they had no cold ones as the fridge had been empty so they'd only just gone in there. Fortunately there is a cowboy restaurant over the road which has both cold beer and food!!

There are two tiny pools. Both look like they used to be pool bars back in the 70s but now look disused and grubby.

Room 13 had great views of the volcano with two giant windows looking out. Unfortunately the windows were well overdue a clean. Room had AC which worked well but dripped water continuously onto the badly wired plug socket below. Empty fridge in the room was so noisey but we were afraid to unplug due to the AC unit dripping into it!

Breakfast was drab. One tiny pot of coffee available, small amount of fruit. The American breakfast was cooked to order but just consisted of toast, eggs and some dodgy looking ham. Restaurant had no menus or prices advertised so we didn't dare venture in there again at other meal times.

Really would not recommended staying here. The Montana de Fuego over the road looked far nicer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenifaHaych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

This was part of an EF package tour so I had no say in the booking. It was mainly average but I found the bed comfy enough. The giant window wall that did not open was kind of problematic esp. with a glass door that also needed to be covered by a curtain. We also did not like the fact that our door had to be locked WITH THE KEY to remain closed. No latch would require you to locate the quickly in an emergency.

We had difficulty adjusting the A/C and when the staff left a window in the bathroom open which we did not see, the A/C was useless.

The view from this hotel was stunning and we spent as much time as possible outside in the very attractive gardens.

Room Tip: Long walk to some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSturgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.1 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#27 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Fuego Arenal
Hotel Fuego Arenal
#46 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#39 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#24 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#29 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lavas Tacotal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas Tacotal

Property: Hotel Lavas Tacotal
Address: 10 Km West from downtown La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 2772-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lavas Tacotal 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Lavas Tacotal you can enjoy the natural greatness of the Arenal Volcano. Its amazing conic shape and constant volcanic activity, the Arenal Volcano is one of the most important attractions in Costa Rica. Walk through trails of solidified lava, ride across exhuberant forests, the activity of the Arenal Volcano during the day or by night. The amazing spectacle of incandescent lava flowing from the crater is truly breathtaking. The hotel amenities includes air conditioning, maid service, pool, restaurant, tennis, bar, laundry, spa, 24 hour security, souvenir shop, and private parking. handicap facilities, and non smoking rooms are also available. The room amenities includes cable TVs, balcony, safe deposit boxes, telephones, mini bars, and Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Lavas Tacotal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavas Tacotal Hotel
Hotel Lavas Tacotal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing