We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views of Arenal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Views of Arenal”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I booked 2 rooms via Expedia at this hotel for the great rate and because of the amazing view of Volcan Arenal. We were in regular motel, type rooms but they have little, private cabinas that I wish I would have known about. The grounds are pretty with 2 pools and an included breakfast. They only thing we didn't love were the mattresses. For the price, this hotel is worth it. Arenal area hotels are very expensive.

Room Tip: Check out the cabinas
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StacieKvanvig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    38
    56
    31
    17
See reviews for
45
50
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Our stay was for two nights at this hotel. We were in the hotel type room vs the individual cabins. Our room was neat, clean and comfortable. We had a deck that overlooked a beautiful courtyard and pool. The only drawback to our room was an air conditioner that wasn't working at its best - this wasn't a big issue as we were out during the day and back late in the evening. The hotel is older but well kept. The property has two pools for guest use and they are well maintained. It is an awesome experience to wake up at the foot of Arenal Volcano which has been sleeping for 2.5 years - it is a beautiful sight!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SilverPack09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

The view of the Aernal volcano from this hotel cannot be beat, but the hotel is a little outdated. The rooms are clean and safe, but nothing more. The grounds are very nice and it is really cool to sit in a pool and watch a smoking active volcano.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Tan Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Check in was the start of a very bad experience. The staff could not answer any questions we had. There wasn't anyone to help with bags, the place is very old and run down, the room smelled, the beds were old and you could feel the springs of the mattresses, no phone, plumbing issues, very out dated pool and terrible food. I HIGHLY suggest you pick someplace else to stay. There is nothing to do around the area and cost $14.00 1 way to town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry Davis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The staff here was extremely helpful, especially when I had a problem with my transportation. They worked very hard to find me transportation to my next destination. I had room 13 which has a spectacular view of Arenal vocano. The room has a nice balcony. It was a good value. There are no phones in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for room 13; it has a nice view and a cute balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oleoides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoersholm, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Wi Fi only working in the middle of the reception and only sometimes... Telephone in the rooms didn't work!
No safe box not even in the reception, no transportation to La Fortuna, nothing! The pool area with only two very uncomfortable sun chairs...
The staff was nice, but unprofessional...
Beautiful view, but u get that everywhere in this area.
I checked out to day earlier ( prepaid room, [--])

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarstenBjerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This hotel has a great view of the volcano..however it is old. we changed rooms 4 times. in the end we settled on the first room. Our room the A/C didn't work (it was due to the batteries in the remote) second room had ants, third room TV didn't work (ended up taking batteries from one room and switched them to get our A/C to work) Didn't trust the restaurant due to the lack of patrons. We did end up eating breakfast next door at Campo Verde. The girls who run this place are very dedicated. The place is clean and became our hang out. I'd recommend this place!! It was cute, clean and well run. Also they set us up with taxi's for cheap to the Arenal volcano National Park and gave some awesome advice.

Finally do NOT cross the road and eat at the Mirador Steak house. The place is a scam. By far the worst steak house in the world. Bad service. They have two menu's one for tourists and one for locals. Also they try to rip you off on the bill by charging 28% tax and just assume tourists will not notice.

I'll have to say the staff tried hard to accomodate us at Lavas tacotal, the cleaning staff tried hard to clean our room. However this hotel is dated and requires significant renovations. In fact the roof looks patched up when it requires new shingles. Parts of the roof on the 'newer hotel room section' under balconies have collapsed due to water damage. The two ladies at the front desk were nice and good employees. Problem is with the owners/managers.

I would recommend staying else where. for $$ and view stay at Campo Verde which is next door.

Room Tip: the 'newer' rooms in the back of the property /closer to the volcano seem to be the nicest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nb414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#26 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Fuego Arenal
Hotel Fuego Arenal
#45 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#30 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#39 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lavas Tacotal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas Tacotal

Property: Hotel Lavas Tacotal
Address: 10 Km West from downtown La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 2772-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lavas Tacotal 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Lavas Tacotal you can enjoy the natural greatness of the Arenal Volcano. Its amazing conic shape and constant volcanic activity, the Arenal Volcano is one of the most important attractions in Costa Rica. Walk through trails of solidified lava, ride across exhuberant forests, the activity of the Arenal Volcano during the day or by night. The amazing spectacle of incandescent lava flowing from the crater is truly breathtaking. The hotel amenities includes air conditioning, maid service, pool, restaurant, tennis, bar, laundry, spa, 24 hour security, souvenir shop, and private parking. handicap facilities, and non smoking rooms are also available. The room amenities includes cable TVs, balcony, safe deposit boxes, telephones, mini bars, and Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lavas Tacotal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavas Tacotal Hotel
Hotel Lavas Tacotal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing