We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mildew!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel have a good location between city La Fortuna and Arenal National park. We can not see Volcano because of bad weather. The grounds surrounding is really good, but same like in all Arenal region. Rooms is pretty good, but mildew all over bath! We have to wear flip flops to take shower. It's disgusting!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

We were booked for two nights as part of a tour. The hotel has a hotel-style portion as well as individual cabins. We were in the hotel section. Our room was neat and clean. The matress was a little hard. The grounds surrounding the hotel are beautiful with many flowers and decorative plants. The restaurant is open open air and has a limited menu and bar. There is no air conditioning but we really didn't need it. There are two pools with swim up bars, neither pool was heated and the bars unstaffed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I booked 2 rooms via Expedia at this hotel for the great rate and because of the amazing view of Volcan Arenal. We were in regular motel, type rooms but they have little, private cabinas that I wish I would have known about. The grounds are pretty with 2 pools and an included breakfast. They only thing we didn't love were the mattresses. For the price, this hotel is worth it. Arenal area hotels are very expensive.

Room Tip: Check out the cabinas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StacieKvanvig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Our stay was for two nights at this hotel. We were in the hotel type room vs the individual cabins. Our room was neat, clean and comfortable. We had a deck that overlooked a beautiful courtyard and pool. The only drawback to our room was an air conditioner that wasn't working at its best - this wasn't a big issue as we were out during the day and back late in the evening. The hotel is older but well kept. The property has two pools for guest use and they are well maintained. It is an awesome experience to wake up at the foot of Arenal Volcano which has been sleeping for 2.5 years - it is a beautiful sight!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank SilverPack09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

The view of the Aernal volcano from this hotel cannot be beat, but the hotel is a little outdated. The rooms are clean and safe, but nothing more. The grounds are very nice and it is really cool to sit in a pool and watch a smoking active volcano.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Check in was the start of a very bad experience. The staff could not answer any questions we had. There wasn't anyone to help with bags, the place is very old and run down, the room smelled, the beds were old and you could feel the springs of the mattresses, no phone, plumbing issues, very out dated pool and terrible food. I HIGHLY suggest you pick someplace else to stay. There is nothing to do around the area and cost $14.00 1 way to town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry Davis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The staff here was extremely helpful, especially when I had a problem with my transportation. They worked very hard to find me transportation to my next destination. I had room 13 which has a spectacular view of Arenal vocano. The room has a nice balcony. It was a good value. There are no phones in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for room 13; it has a nice view and a cute balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oleoides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.7 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#36 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
4.5 mi away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#41 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
87 reviews
5.8 mi away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#34 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
181 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
161 reviews
4.4 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#30 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lavas Tacotal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas Tacotal

Address: 10 Km West from downtown La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 2772-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £53 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lavas Tacotal 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Lavas Tacotal you can enjoy the natural greatness of the Arenal Volcano. Its amazing conic shape and constant volcanic activity, the Arenal Volcano is one of the most important attractions in Costa Rica. Walk through trails of solidified lava, ride across exhuberant forests, the activity of the Arenal Volcano during the day or by night. The amazing spectacle of incandescent lava flowing from the crater is truly breathtaking. The hotel amenities includes air conditioning, maid service, pool, restaurant, tennis, bar, laundry, spa, 24 hour security, souvenir shop, and private parking. handicap facilities, and non smoking rooms are also available. The room amenities includes cable TVs, balcony, safe deposit boxes, telephones, mini bars, and Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lavas Tacotal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavas Tacotal Hotel
Hotel Lavas Tacotal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing