We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience in costa rica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
A TripAdvisor Member
Scottsdale, AZ
11
Reviewed 13 September 2005

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night and it was miserable. Not only was their massive construction going on right outside our window but the service staff was horrible and there are not views of the volcano from the rooms as advertised. The owner and staff are rude and unhelpful. By far the worst hotel in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2005

WE paid a $55 a night with breakfast and tax for a private little cabina overlooking the volcano. Worth the money.

There was plenty of construction going on which I disliked.

The service was usually great. I really liked a guy named Miguel who booked us great local trips and found us great deals. If he is there ask for him.

The food was okay. There are better deals elsewhere but it was usually empty and private for dinner. Free breakfast was excellent.

The pool is in a bad spot which I saw barely anyone using. It feels like you are always being watched.

Room service was excellent. The large rooms were very clean.

Parking is very tight.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allmotorchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Lancaster, Ohio
13
Reviewed 30 April 2005

Stayed here our second night in CR. We stayed in the 'new' section just recently completed with another newsection still being built. Room was spacious, quite with porch and hot tub and english speaking tv. We later found this to be a rarity in most of the places we stayed in CR. We found the service to be excellent with the hotel staff being most gracious and helpful. Especially Johnathon and a fellow I called New Jersey as his english was excellent and he told me that he had spent time in NJ. The hotel took us out to see the volcano at night for free and spent about 2 hours showing us and other guests the lava flow. I can't speak for the older cabins but the two new additions were the nicest that we stayed in in northern Costa Rica. Plus we liked the Arenal area MUCH better than the Monteverde area. The pool was clean and new and the grounds were beautiful. We really enjoyed our stay and wish we had scheduled more time here instead of the Monteverde area.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2004

I had such a terrible experience at this hotel that I have to write about it. The cabinas are very dark inside, and lighting is very dim. They are fairly clean inside, but living in such dark quarters is pretty depressing. The hotel staff are NOT HELPFUL AT ALL. One morning I went to wait for a transport bus...I doublechecked with the front desk person for the arrival time. I was told 12pm. I sat and waited for 1.5 hours, and the bus never showed up. The front desk person saw me sitting there waiting patiently and never bothered to come over to me and tell me they would find out why it did not arrive, or offer to call me a taxi. Instead, he just ignored me. At 1:30pm...I walked over to him to inquire politely. He shrugged his shoulders and said he didn't know what happened, but could call me a cab. I said fine. I waited for 35 minutes, no cab appeared. I marched back to the front desk person and asked where my cab was...and he said he tried to call them once but the line was busy....he left me standing there waiting for 35 minutes and didn't even bother to call the taxi company back, or even let me know what was going on. The other bad experience was that this hotel serves a free continental breakfast, but the hotel checkin NEVER TOLD ME THIS. I only found out about it on my last day there when I checked out early in the morning and saw a food spread laid out!!! Don't stay here!! It is not comfortable, not physically located conveniently to anything such that u have to take a taxi everywhere, and the service is terrible!

4  Thank travellots99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Isa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Hotel Lavas Tacotal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Derry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Hotel Lavas Tacotal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PirataJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Hotel Lavas Tacotal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#36 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
248 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#41 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
122 reviews
5.1 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#35 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
170 reviews
4.5 mi away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#40 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
91 reviews
4.4 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#28 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lavas Tacotal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas Tacotal

Address: 10 Km West from downtown La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 2772-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £50 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lavas Tacotal 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Lavas Tacotal you can enjoy the natural greatness of the Arenal Volcano. Its amazing conic shape and constant volcanic activity, the Arenal Volcano is one of the most important attractions in Costa Rica. Walk through trails of solidified lava, ride across exhuberant forests, the activity of the Arenal Volcano during the day or by night. The amazing spectacle of incandescent lava flowing from the crater is truly breathtaking. The hotel amenities includes air conditioning, maid service, pool, restaurant, tennis, bar, laundry, spa, 24 hour security, souvenir shop, and private parking. handicap facilities, and non smoking rooms are also available. The room amenities includes cable TVs, balcony, safe deposit boxes, telephones, mini bars, and Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lavas Tacotal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavas Tacotal Hotel
Hotel Lavas Tacotal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing