We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! You definitely want to stay here if coming to Arenal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Amazing! That's the only word to describe this resort. The suites were absolutely beautiful with floor to ceiling windows with a view of Arenal Volcano. Incredible!

The staff was charming and very friendly. The service was impeccable and we loved every minute we were here! The hot springs although not as expansive as others, were perfect and private!

I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Book the suite - second floor has the best views!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,250)
There are newer reviews for Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

5 star rooms, 3 star food but worth choosing for setting and hot springs in garden. Spa good too, try the chocolate body massage.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Very nice meet and great. Excellent facilites and rooms. Beatuful view of the volcano. Good lunches. Dinners better at a vilage restaurant. Pool area can be noisy during school vacation. Tours arraged by hotel are very nice, but expensive. Double check that arrangements have actulaly been made for your tours (out of 4 tours we had confussion with 2).

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
Thank elenasWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

The room was the most amazing one I've had in my life in terms of the views directly on the volcano. I had seen the website, but it is one of the few times when reality was above the website. Truly amazing. We had room 404, i.e. one of the top ones, with slanted roofs. We could see the Arenal from our own bed. You just have to stay in this place. The tropical gardens are like from a dream.

On the downside though is the food. We had read all the bad reviews, and I'm afraid to say they are true. The first night we ordered a la carte and it was better but the second night, we had an included dinner and it was not only medicre, but actually awful. We didn't even bother trying the dessert.

For breakfast you get processed orange juice. In a five star hotel? The waiter even felt offended when I asked if he had freshly squeezed orange juice.

I must say however, that the food in Costa Rica is pretty lousy. As much as Costa Rica is wonderful for its nature, don't go there for the food :-)

Apart from the restaurant, Arenal Kioro is a marvelous hotel all in all though!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swissmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Fabulous rooms, great service, and incredible location.
We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slitoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We absolutely LOVED this hotel and location.

To start, the staff is incredibly friendly, helpful and accommodating, which goes hand in hand with the service we experienced.

The food was delicious--exactly what we were looking for. Authentic cusine and event US favoirites with a Costa Rican twist.

The view from the room is like no other I have ever seen. The photos on the website, do not do this place justice. It is beyond-words beautiful. Very clean and kept.

We booked many tours from the hotel including ziplining, canyoning, hanging bridges, white water rafting, etc. All the tours were fantastic. I would definitely recommend using the hotel preferred vendors for your tours.

You will not be disappointed! I have already told all my friends and family about this amazing resort.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. There are views of the volcano from every inch of the hotel: rooms, restaurant, pool, grounds, gym, game room & spa. The rooms are spacious and well set up for a family staying together to get a little privacy. We loved the hot spring pools. The staff was welcoming and helpful -- you are greeted in the lobby with a cocktail. Breakfast was great and we enjoyed the dinner here as well -- their mahi mahi was wonderful. We didn't rent a car, but had the tours pick us up in the lobby. Wish we had taken a cab into La Fortuna for dinner/shopping one afternoon. The pathways around the property are beautifully landscaped.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amschway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,315 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,420 reviews
1.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,932 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa

Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Kioro)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £138 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer's delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing