We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view ever. Would definitely go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at Arenal Kioro in September 2010 as part of a two week tour of Costa Rica. We stayed there for five nights and had a wonderful time. The rooms are spacious and beautiful with the most amazing views. At night we would lay in bed and watch the volcano for the red fire. During the day you could see the full volcano and landscape from the bed as well as the in room hot tub. We got the laundry service after a dirty trip in Corcovado and they did a great job. We also got room service two nights and found the service to be fast and the food was good. Breakfast buffet was delicious as was the lunch menu. Try the farmer's chicken. The restaurant for dinner was also very nice with beautiful views. The hotsprings are relaxing and beautiful. They are private and not crowded with views of the volcano. We received drink service to the hotspings which was also really nice. The grounds themselves are beautiful with lots of colorful flowers and birds. We took advantage of the couples massage which was relaxing and a perfect afternoon after our morning excursion. They have plenty of excursion options. We did the Volcano hike, Horseback Riding to Fortuna waterfall, white water rafting and a hike to Rio Celeste. I highly recommend Rio Celeste. It was beautiful however it was a full hour hike through the rainforest to get there so make sure you have good shoes. The hotel is organized with great service and all staff are friendly and eager to help. I would definitely go back. This was a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naturetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2011

My husband and I were here for our honeymoon in August of 2010. We stayed 3 nights at the hotel, it was a fabulous experience. The breakfast buffet was great, there were these cheese roll things that were out of this world. I'm still craving them. The swimming area/hot springs were really pretty and enjoyable. We saw the volcano explode multiple times, and during each we had a great view. The staff was very friendly and attentive. All around-- an excellent addition to our honeymoon.
The only downside was the restaurant that served dinner/room service. It was not the best food I experienced while in CR, but it was edible. I recommend going to La Fortuna for dinner though.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Farris0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Amazing! That's the only word to describe this resort. The suites were absolutely beautiful with floor to ceiling windows with a view of Arenal Volcano. Incredible!

The staff was charming and very friendly. The service was impeccable and we loved every minute we were here! The hot springs although not as expansive as others, were perfect and private!

I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Book the suite - second floor has the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

5 star rooms, 3 star food but worth choosing for setting and hot springs in garden. Spa good too, try the chocolate body massage.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Very nice meet and great. Excellent facilites and rooms. Beatuful view of the volcano. Good lunches. Dinners better at a vilage restaurant. Pool area can be noisy during school vacation. Tours arraged by hotel are very nice, but expensive. Double check that arrangements have actulaly been made for your tours (out of 4 tours we had confussion with 2).

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
Thank elenasWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

The room was the most amazing one I've had in my life in terms of the views directly on the volcano. I had seen the website, but it is one of the few times when reality was above the website. Truly amazing. We had room 404, i.e. one of the top ones, with slanted roofs. We could see the Arenal from our own bed. You just have to stay in this place. The tropical gardens are like from a dream.

On the downside though is the food. We had read all the bad reviews, and I'm afraid to say they are true. The first night we ordered a la carte and it was better but the second night, we had an included dinner and it was not only medicre, but actually awful. We didn't even bother trying the dessert.

For breakfast you get processed orange juice. In a five star hotel? The waiter even felt offended when I asked if he had freshly squeezed orange juice.

I must say however, that the food in Costa Rica is pretty lousy. As much as Costa Rica is wonderful for its nature, don't go there for the food :-)

Apart from the restaurant, Arenal Kioro is a marvelous hotel all in all though!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swissmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Fabulous rooms, great service, and incredible location.
We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slitoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,506 reviews
1.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,366 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,896 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa

Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Kioro)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £183 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer's delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing