We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Review (Good - Not Great)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mixed Review (Good - Not Great)”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel is in an A+ location, right at the base of the Arenal volcano. The views are spectacular from the rooms (most of which it seems) face the volcano. The second story rooms afford the best views. But read on...

I wrestled with giving this place an average review vs. very-good. Too many factors come in to play. Here is a quick summary with letter grades...

Properly Maintenance (C-): I am hitting this one first. The place is very new (built in 2005). At that time it was probably amazing. As of July 2013, the property seems not well maintained. Walkway / path lighting is hanging by wires or broken off entirely, green mold on sides of buildings, external A/C and H/W heaters on sides of buildings with panels lying on the floors, pool furniture in need of update / repair. We kidded with other guests - wondering if they owned a power washer. The place just seems worn around the edges and in need of a sprucing up.

Rooms (A-): very big and impressive (upstairs rooms have very tall ceilings). Beds face the sliding doors and the volcano. Shower is a beautifully tiled and quite big. There was a day-bed in our room on one side of a partition. There were two benches in the room that looked like outdoor furniture without a cushion - one outside the shower and the other in the main part of the bedroom. With no cushion you could not use them to sit on so we were unsure what the purpose was.

Hot Tub (B): each room has one. It is a nice touch but we had so much trouble with ours not working properly it took two days to iron that out before we could use it. It rained so much of the time during our stay we did get good use from it. Some reviewers complained it was close to the bed. Well - sure - if you normally live in a mansion - but considering it was a large hotel room, the tub was off near the shower area (which was tiled with wood planks (like a sauna). It was very nice and very appropriate.

The Spa (B): meh. worn around the edges.

The pool / hot springs (A): very scenic, pretty, good location and fun. Bar staff is right there and friendly to assist. Poolside furniture was in need of repair and cleaning.

Restaurant:
Dinner (B) food is OK, not great. Service is good, not great. No A/C and open air in design. Good views of volcano. Potential is there to be better - alas.
Breakfast: (A) Cook to order. Good coffee (always important to us Americans). They get you in/out quickly.

Pool Bar Restaurant (A) food was very good. Interesting mix of American and local fare.

Service / Staff: (A) you always felt well looked after. English was not a problem.

Overall, you have to consider what is important to you. If you rely more on local hotel restaurant and meals, this is just not going to be the place for you. If you enjoy the grand nature of the rooms and views then the Arenal Kioro will not disappoint.

Enjoy...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gmistery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    287
    87
    27
    8
See reviews for
370
556
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights starting July 19, 2013. It was surreal, beautiful, and staff was great! You're greeted by someone at the front desk with a refreshment as soon as you get there. Staff was attentive and very, very polite. Service is fantastic, views are amazing and the gardens and hot springs had you smiling at all times. Saw toucans, lots of butterflies, fireflies and moths! The volcano was an amazing view!

You won't be disappointed if you stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJSmith111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hotel is beatifull, excellent service and food. I would definitely recommend staying here. The experience in Titoku was terrible, nobody take care of us, the restaurant was closed and we stayed there in a sunday!

Room Tip: Stay at the hotel, dont go to Titoku!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriela Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel/resort is located at the base of the Arenal volcano, Costa Rica's highest. The volcano began erupting in the 1960's and stopped a few years ago. It's top is usually in the clouds, and it is surrounded by thick forest. The hotel consists of several buildings built into a hill facing the volcano with every room providing perfect views. Walking from room to dining room, pool, spa, etc. takes one along beautifully landscaped paths, all facing the volcano.

Our suite was huge with sitting area, balcony, and a large well-appointed bathroom (no tub). A hot tub is located in the room as in all rooms. The pool area is very nice with a bar and restaurant poolside. There is a cascading series of heated pools that allow individual and small group soaking.

The dining room is large and barn-like with food that is good but a bit over-priced for what you get. We would have liked more typical Costa Rican food. The included breakfast buffet was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. The rooms were large and spacious with floor to ceiling windows with amazing views of the volcano. The grounds are beautiful with tons of tropical trees and plants. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tr8cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This hotel is gorgeous and we had a perfectly direct view of the volcano. The staff was very polite, pleasant and helpful. We just got back from 6 nights (July 5 - July 11) and it was extremely comfortable for my, my husband and 2 sons (14&16). The daybed side served as private section for my oldest son, he loved it. My only criticism is that there wasn't enough space for all of our clothes in the small armoire. We packed clothes, bathing suits, shoes for 4 people - 7 days. We ended up laying our clothes out on the Jacuzzi cover. Also, the hot springs are "fake" so make sure you visit the real natural hot springs. We had something planned everyday so we never used the pool or the hot springs. We did eat the breakfast every morning, which was great with plenty of variety and fruit. Had dinner there at the restaurant one night which wasn't anything fantastic, but very expensive and the kids had lunch by the pool 2 days which was okay. I didn't even use my free mud facial. In conclusion, this hotel is beautiful and a great comfortable place to come back to after your adventures in La Fortuna. BTW .. the internet is great, high speed just like in the U.S.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmwebb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We spent the first four nights of our Costa Rica vacation at Arenal Kiora from June 23rd to June 27, 2013.
Pros:
- Very large rooms. We had two adjoining rooms, one for my wife and I and one for our two teenage kids. We could have easily gotten by with one room from a sleeping perspective as there were two queen beds and a sort of day bed.
- Staff was very friendly and helpful
- Beautiful location and grounds

Cons:
- The "hot" springs were barely warm, let alone hot.
- The shower area did not have a real door...only a frosted glass shower door. My daughter especially did not like this.
- The travel books, including Fodor's 2013 talk about the great views of the active volcano and the lava flows....the volcano has not been active for 2 or 3 years.

Overall, very satisfied with the hotel and the staff.

Room Tip: Chose one of the buildings closest to the main lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
1.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,205 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa

Property: Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Kioro)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer's delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing