We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelievable room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“unbelievable room with a view”
Reviewed 18 June 2009

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. The grounds are beautiful and the view of the volcano is AWESOME. The room was perfect for a romantic get away. The spa in the room was perfect. So quiet, you could hear a pin drop. I would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digitalrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    289
    87
    27
    8
See reviews for
376
558
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Stayed 2 nights while visiting the Arenal area. The hotel has beautiful grounds with lovely plants and flowers. It is definitely more suited for adults, honeymooners or those with kids under 3 years old (baby pool available). We went with our 2 teenage sons and they were fine since we spent the 2 days white water rafting and rapelling. The hot springs on the premises were lovely and much more quiet than Tabacon. Our room also had a jacuzzi in it and the views of the volcano were amazing. The staff was friendly. The restaurant overpriced and the food was nothing special. The spa was relaxing and they did offer many services.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelboundsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Spent 3 nights of my honeymoon here and loved this hotel.
The room is faultless, with large bed facing big windows with excellent view of the Arenal volcano. The room was spacious with a private hot tub.
The gardens of the hotel are lovely and have their own hot springs. I believe that there are other hot springs with bigger and more pools but ours were not busy and we didn't feel the need to go elsewhere.
Had a complementary facial at their spa which was very nice, but I wouldn't have paid the prices they charge for it.
Big disappointment was the evening restaurant, which is in a large high ceiling room with huge windows to see the volcano. Lovely idea but with no mosquito nets on the windows we were swamped with bugs. Also they constantly forgot to play music in the background and with the high ceilings you were greeted into a room which sounded more like a canteen than the restaurant of a 5*, £300 a night hotel! Homely touches were missing too I felt, with no tablecloths or placemats on the table, nor candles to make the very large impersonal room feel more intimate.
I would stay there again, but hope that the second restaurant that is due to open soon will be better.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireNewcastle_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

After leaving the Springs Spa resort and arriving here, we were a bit dissapointed. This is a tired hotel that has fantastic service. It is very tired and dated. The food was fantastic though!!!!! If you are a couple looking for romance, then this is the spot for you. We happen to be very outgoing, and love people. They have 6 chairs that are shaded from the sun on their entire property. If you have small children that want to use the pool, and you yourself, want shade.......well your out of luck. The service was great. Whatever we requested they provided immediately. Our view was great. We were very close to the volcano, and the cows come right up to your bedroom window. Over all this hotel had great service, food and views. The accommodations need a face lift. Very easy to get around the property. This is a perfect place for a romantic couple.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckydogNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
639 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2009

This hotel is absolutely fabulous! The view from the full wall of windows of the volcano is really incredible. The sun shone in as we woke up to the site of the erupting volcano. The rooms are lovely - every one has the same view and amenities including a hot tub in the room which we never used because of the seven descending heated pools. The kids loved all the water activities as well as other kid-centered activities like ping pong. The internet in the lobby was free but slow running - still, good enough for checking email. The food was expensive and not great except for the good breakfasts that offered many choices.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teachers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2009

This hotel is absolutely awesome. When you arrive you feel like their special guests with the welcome drinks and greetings. It is like they had been waiting for you all day! The staff was very helpful and accomodating, answering all questions that we had.

The hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful and well kept. I can't imagine a more beautiful hotel. I can't even describe all the plants and flowers that were on the pathways between the buildings. The hot springs on grounds were nice and secluded, perfect for romance.

The room was beautiful and spacious, with awesome volcano views. The weather cleared up one day we were there and we were able to see the top of the volcano smoking. All the rooms have jacuzzi's in the room that also have great volcano views.

There was a game room with two pool tables (could be updated) and two ping pong tables and that was fun. There was a gym but the equipment wasn't very good.

The only con could be a plus, depending on how you look at it. The hotel is far from town and a taxi in is expensive (10 dollars one way). This does limit your dining options but your location is more private and secluded. We found that the restaurant was good but expensive. We found that room service was actually a better deal with more dining options.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turkeytag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2009

As you drive up to the hotel you are first greeted by the sign...don't be put off...the hotel is more modern and much nicer than a 1960's motel that the sign portrays!

We had a wonderful warm welcome at the hotel with check in happening on a nice comfy sofa with a complimentary glass of wine. We were then taken up to our room and shown round. The rooms are great and we had a fab view...

Rooms
Are very large and contain a full size hot tub, shower, and seperate toilet and sink area. The bed was positioned to give the best view of the volcano..this hotel has one of the best views of this. The rooms have front and back balconies.
Pools
The hotel had two pools, one family and one larger. Both were kept maybe a little too warm, but we were using them on an unusually hot day, on a normal day i suspect they would be perfect. The hot springs were also lovely, with a range of pools to chose from so you don't feel like you are interupting someone elses relaxation...
Resturants
The breakfast buffet was nice and had a great range, including lots of fresh fruit. We didn't eat at lunch or dinner as the hotel was very dear compared to the resturants down in Fortuna (10-15mins cab away). La Fortuna offered a good range of resturants and a supermarket (behind the main street) for snacks and a bottle of wine to drink in the hot tub!
Activities
The hotel offer a range of activities. We had already booked most of ours through our agent (costa rican vacations), but topped up with the hotels selection. We tried White Water rafting, zip lining and went on a nature boat trip.
Area
The hotel faces the volcano, but isn't on the side where you can see lava...although apparently only 8% of tourists actually get to see this as normally cloud coverage prevents this. We were lucky enough to have 2 clear days and see smoke and steam billowing (and all from the comfort of the hot tub).
Its a good base for other activities, but be prepared to be up early and travel to some of these.
3 (ish) hours drive from San Jose to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D&D_Holiday_feedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,239 reviews
1.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,825 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa

Property: Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Kioro)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer's delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing