We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

Arenal Kioro is an absolutely beautiful hotel with a breathtaking view. I thought their pictures might be exxagerating, but the view from the rooms is simply amazing. My wife and I enjoyed sitting on our private patio or our in-room hottub admiring the view. The rooms are huge and have all the amenities that you would expect of a 5 star hotel. We also found the service to be outstanding and the grounds impeccable.

I only have two minor complaints about the hotel: 1) most of the exercise equipment in the gym was broken or rusted and 2) the food at the restaurant was OK, but not great and certainly not worth what they charged. Also, watch out for the "house special" $120 bottle of wine that they pitch you; everything else on the menu is ~$35 / bottle, so this came as a surprise on the bill. My mistake for not asking.

These two items aside, this is a tremendous hotel with a world class view. The price is a bit steep but worth every penny. I hope to be back someday!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA_longhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    285
    86
    27
    8
See reviews for
366
544
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colares, Portugal
Level Contributor
267 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed two nights at Arenal Kioro but we were with a big cold, was raining and with fog so I cannot say this is the Hotel with best location and view to the Arenal vulcano as in fact we didn´t see any volcano. About the hotel itself we had a big suite with jakuzi in the room two big beds more one at the entraince, but the internet sgnal was very weak and we had to go outside or to the lobby to have the connection. The restaurants were not anything in special the food not bad but unfortunately not good.
The Hotel is open this means includ the lobby or the restaurant at the swiming pool were windy and at the restaurant the rain was comming in.
I think this hotel has conditions to be much better.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

This is a great hotel with beautiful rooms, grounds. The service is very friendly. My only complaint was with the food. The hotel really tried but it was of poor quality, odd and rather expensive. The wine were also very pricey. We found much better food in town, so worth the cabfare.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djinnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altdorf, Germany
Level Contributor
144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

We came to this Hotel to have breakfast only. Certainly one of the most beautiful Hotels in this area. The Buffet was great but the best was the view out of the huge windows on the vulcanoe and the greens. We also went for a stroll in the tropical garden which is truly beautiful. The prices seem to be justified, if we ever come we would love to stay there. The whole place was very peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colocha70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

(We actually went in September or 2009 but I could not chose that as a date.) We spent three amazing nights here to kick off our honeymoon. We were greeted with frozen drinks in the amazing open-air lobby. Then we were showed to our fantastic room, equipped with plush bath robes, our very own hot tub and a private balcony with an unobstructed view of the Arenal Volcano. I'm not joking, we could see the top of the smoking volcano all the way to the base. You could even see lava spit out once in a while.

The resort restaurant was also very good but a little pricey (which was fine for us but it can add up after a while). The pools were just ok. They were small but the hot spring pools more than made up for them (really those are the reasons you'd go there anyway). That's right, you can sit in the many natural hot spring pools right on site. It was very quiet and very romantic. We spent some time just strolling around the vast flower gardens on the grounds.

If you have time take a guided tour of the volcano. The tour takes you hiking and then to other hot springs. It was worth every penny. On the hike we saw a snake eat a toad. It was actually kind of cool. Costa Rica really has tourism down. The tour guides are nice, well trained and very knowledgeable. They really strive for you to enjoy your tour, unlike what you get at so many other tropical locations.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingNomad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

The staff couldn't have been nicer. Food was ok nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richb28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by the lovely room, gorgeous flowers and fabulous view of the volcano. The room was clean, spacious and quiet. We even hod our own hot tub in the room. The restaurant was good and the service was excellent. We did not use the pool or exercise room, but the outdoor hot tubs were a great place to relax. Free internet on hotel computers was an added bonus. This hotel is conveniently located and worth the drive from San Jose.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowabunga8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
1.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,177 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa

Property: Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Kioro)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer's delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing