We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb facilities, staff, and amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
“Superb facilities, staff, and amenities”
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Fabulous rooms, great service, and incredible location.
We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slitoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    294
    89
    27
    8
See reviews for
390
562
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We absolutely LOVED this hotel and location.

To start, the staff is incredibly friendly, helpful and accommodating, which goes hand in hand with the service we experienced.

The food was delicious--exactly what we were looking for. Authentic cusine and event US favoirites with a Costa Rican twist.

The view from the room is like no other I have ever seen. The photos on the website, do not do this place justice. It is beyond-words beautiful. Very clean and kept.

We booked many tours from the hotel including ziplining, canyoning, hanging bridges, white water rafting, etc. All the tours were fantastic. I would definitely recommend using the hotel preferred vendors for your tours.

You will not be disappointed! I have already told all my friends and family about this amazing resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. There are views of the volcano from every inch of the hotel: rooms, restaurant, pool, grounds, gym, game room & spa. The rooms are spacious and well set up for a family staying together to get a little privacy. We loved the hot spring pools. The staff was welcoming and helpful -- you are greeted in the lobby with a cocktail. Breakfast was great and we enjoyed the dinner here as well -- their mahi mahi was wonderful. We didn't rent a car, but had the tours pick us up in the lobby. Wish we had taken a cab into La Fortuna for dinner/shopping one afternoon. The pathways around the property are beautifully landscaped.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amschway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

A beautiful hotel with wonderful gardens, hot springs and service. It's a 5 star place, but the food is average. I'd recommend staying there, but eat elsewhere. For the price of the food it's just not that good. DO NOT get a hamburger...tastes like a soy burger. But the service is wonderful, rooms beautiful and grounds outstanding. Even with 2 days of rain we had a wonderful time!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juno123Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New jersey
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Hotel was beautiful and staff was great. We had a nice room and spent quite a few nights enjoying the hot springs - alone! What a luxury! The only drawback for many of the hotels around the volcano is that to get into La Fortuna you really need to rent a car or take taxis. At $15 a trip, it can get pricey. We managed to just rent a car on one full day to experience a few places like Hanging Bridges and La Fortuna Waterfall on our own. Otherwise, the tours pick up/drop off. At times we had them drop us off in the town so we could grab dinner and save one end of a cab ride. Seemed to work just fine. The staff was wonderful - we just wish the restaurant was a little better. Breakfast was good but dinner left a lot to be desired. As for the rooms, we had klomping upstairs neighbors so maybe it's better to ask for a room on second floor. We slept with windows open every night and barely turned on AC. Word of warning - don't expect to see volcano erupt. Been quiet for four months now. :(

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aa442u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2011

All I got to say is that, the hotels grounds are very well organize, all the staff is excellent. the personal in the pool area a little slow to help us out with drinks, always and I said always, I had to got out of the pool to order a Drink nobody can at me, not even once. The other staff at the restaurant excellent, the front desk staff, now those were great, nano...... roberto.... hoovert.... man excellent, the staff at the spa, were very helpful but they need a little more English to communicate. Ok but my real critic its about the internet how those a hotel with a “5 Stars” have non-internet in the rooms… and when I came to the lobby its soooooooo sloooooowww And they offer me a Ethernet cable… please I have a ipad …. Ethernet cable is out of the picture. I suppose that this hotel have a lot of people doing work on their vacation… please have internet at least high speed…..
Thank you….

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walz099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Arenal Kioro is an absolutely beautiful hotel with a breathtaking view. I thought their pictures might be exxagerating, but the view from the rooms is simply amazing. My wife and I enjoyed sitting on our private patio or our in-room hottub admiring the view. The rooms are huge and have all the amenities that you would expect of a 5 star hotel. We also found the service to be outstanding and the grounds impeccable.

I only have two minor complaints about the hotel: 1) most of the exercise equipment in the gym was broken or rusted and 2) the food at the restaurant was OK, but not great and certainly not worth what they charged. Also, watch out for the "house special" $120 bottle of wine that they pitch you; everything else on the menu is ~$35 / bottle, so this came as a surprise on the bill. My mistake for not asking.

These two items aside, this is a tremendous hotel with a world class view. The price is a bit steep but worth every penny. I hope to be back someday!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA_longhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,269 reviews
1.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,858 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,403 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,849 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa

Property: Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Address: San Carlos, 10 km NE of La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Kioro)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Kioro offers a fabulous place with a natural viewpoint to the Arenal Volcano. The hotel has 27 acres of undulating land, surrounded by two streams (La Palma and Kioro) with crystalline waters that begin to flow in the Arenal Volcano National Park. It has two paths where plant species are identified. Besides, private thermal springs for our customer's delight. All our suites have:Two terraces with the best panoramic volcano and mountain view, hydro-massage, air conditioning, safe deposit box, minibar, coffee maker, hot water, direct dialing telephone, satellite television, hair dryer, key card, safety locks, internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Kioro Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing