We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Forest Sights and Sounds”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
Fountain Valley, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Forest Sights and Sounds”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

3 great nights! We thoroughly enjoyed seeing and hearing the wildlife on the property (amazing birds and howler monkeys). The accommodations were simple, but clean and a perfect fit for the setting. Each morning hot coffee and tea was delivered to our porch table - great to sit listening to the way the forest sounds change as the sun rises. Breakfast each day was served in the Rancho (covered patio) and ranged from good to great - the banana bread / chocolate muffins, french toast and daily fresh fruit were big hits. The staff was attentive and super accommodating helping us make reservations for 2 tours and a car from San Jose airport for my sons girlfriend who was traveling alone - ensured a safe trip. We plan on returning!

Room Tip: The Yigiuro house has 2 double beds and the shower is screened / not walled in. You shower inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    140
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
357
396
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Levin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our arrival here exceeded our expectations. Mark and Lucy (managers) are so nice, informative, and helpful. The treehouse is amazing, clean, lovely bed, and even air conditioning. The steps leading up to the treehouse are steep, however not impossible. For our first night here, with Mark's help, we ordered pizza which was delivered to our treehouse in the pouring rain. The surroundings are beautiful, we walked through the orchard - to the waterfall. We had a trip into Fortuna with help from Mark re:getting the bus. And on our last night we had a lovely meal at the restaurant up the road, between 5 - 10 minutes walk. From the restaurant we had the most lovely views of the area. I can't believe the previous comments about nothing to do here! There was heaps, particularly if you are a nature lover. The hummingbirds are glorious, we saw frogs, tucans, many other birds, & insects of many shapes and sizes. Our only regret was we spent only 2 nights here as we could have spent more. Finally, I would like to add that I made all arrangements for our stay from NZ. Mark gave me lots of information about the area as well as transportation prior to our visit, he was so helpful, the assistance certainly exceeded what I would have expected. Therefore, we were so pleased we chose Treehouses as part of our stay in CR, and we would certainly recommend it. Right down the delivery of beverages at 5:30 in the morning: YES!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lonon, United kingdod
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time. We arrived at night and found the directions really easy to follow which was great after a very long drive from Guanacaste. Only note is that it says in the website that it is near a cemetery - it's the wrong one! It's actually near Santa Clara cemetery. We were greeted very warmly and considering the late hour were shown the basics and then taken to our tree house.
We were staying in the Frog, which was perfect for 2, but I'd consider one of the bigger ones for more than that. It was beautifully done and felt like just the right balance between comfort and nature. Being right in the forest was truly magical.
The only down side to the Frog was that it is quite close to the road, and on our first morning we were awoken pretty early by the trucks. Not a problem at night as the road is so rarely travelled, but once the sun rises, traffic flows. I would think about asking for a treehouse a little further in to the property.
Breakfast was amazing each day, and they bring coffee to your balcony at about 6 am so you can have it in your own time before breakfast - excellent idea!!
All the staff were really helpful (even helping us to change a flat tyre!) and very friendly.
If you want to go and explore during the day and then retreat to your own little bit of forest and be content listening to the sounds of the night, then this is perfect. If you need to be entertained 24/7 and don't like wildlife, then maybe a big resort hotel in La Fortuna is more for you.
I know we're I'd rather be, and I would definitely return to our Tree House in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Please note, that this property is much more akin to camping than a hotel. There are no amenities, our room was dirty (including blood on the floor and sheets, and hair all over the bathroom floor), and anything you'd like to do is at least a cab ride away, not just walking distance "down the street" as they advertise. (There is NO food here... if you don't bring something, there isn't even a vending machine).

If you are looking to have a camping trip, go for it, but if you are looking for a hotel PLEASE GO SOMEWHERE ELSE. This place literally brought me to tears.

In addition, there are no where near as many animals as they advertise (we only found maggots and ants on our "fruit left for the animals"), no one helps you with the basics as you would expect at a hotel (like moving your luggage up the steep stairs), and everything felt filthy.

The one- and only- good thing was the breakfast made by the very kind kitchen staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treehouseshotel, Owner at Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
The experience this reviewer wrote about is a surprise to us. They arrived at the hotel via interbus. At check in Kelly (who is one of the owners of Tree Houses), offered to help with their luggage, as we always do, and they declined the help. Kelly also went over the options for food, taxi service and directions to the restaurant just a short walk away. We do have a cooler on the office patio full of drinks for our guest.

At no time during their stay did they mention that their room was less than clean. We have so much pride in our staff and one of the things we get so many complements about is the cleanliness of our tree houses and the comfort of our beds. If there was a problem all they would have had to do is come to the office and it would have been addressed right then.

The following morning Kelly was informed they needed to check out a day early because they one of them had to get back to work. Kelly did everything she could to help them with changing flights and arranged transport for them back to the airport.

We do get a ton of wildlife here at Tree Houses as you can see by reading many of our other reviews. We have no control when and where the many species show up but when we do spot something we make sure the guest on site see them.

We want everyone to have a great time at Tree Houses and customer service is our top priority.
Our staff is nothing less than wonderful. The majority of our reviews on Trip Advisor rave about what a great experience it is to stay at our hotel.

Pura Vida
Raeann and Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed four nights, two nights in the Frog tree house and two nights in the Hummingbird tree house. The tree houses are extremely clean, beautifully constructed, and completely secluded. Couldn't have wished for more. We had a great experience here, Mark and Lucy were extremely helpful with advice on tours and travelling to our next destination in Costa Rica. They even ordered a pizza to be delivered to our tree house on a day where we had been very busy to save us going out to buy food! The breakfasts were plentiful and different each day, very tasty. There were cold bottled drinks available in a fridge by the main house which you paid for on departure which was really helpful if you didn't want to drive/walk to a local shop. The grounds had a couple of trails you could walk, one of which went to a small waterfall which you could swim in and a river. We did a night walk with Rolando which was brilliant. He knew a lot about the wildlife and knew exactly where to find them. We saw sloths, a porcupine, frogs, birds, alligators, insects, and more. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights and made so many great memories. The hosts are great and they provided any travel advice we needed. The breakfasts were homemade every day by three very sweet ladies. They were probably three of the greatest breakfasts I have ever eaten. We saw a family of monkeys at our porch and countless birds. Keep an open mind though as they are tree houses so you may see bugs closer than you like.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here for one night on our honeymoon in route to Arenal volcano(wish we had stayed longer...) We got there at night after a long trek from Quepos and unfortunately missed the night tour that we really were looking forward to. However, once we checked in and got to our tree house, Rolando asked if we'd like to take a walk around so we could see some animals. He showed us a sloth, tree frogs and tropical birds! It was perfect, and you could tell he really loves what he does. Sleeping in the tree house felt like we were in the middle of the forest! I woke up to the sounds of howling monkeys right outside our house! The breakfast in the morning was phenomenal and I could honestly say it was some of the best food I had in costa rica. We met Lucy and Mark in the morning who were extremely friendly and accommodating. They recommended we take a hike to the waterfall in the morning prior to heading out which we decided to do and were very happy we did! Overall, great experience and we will be back here(for longer) the next time were in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
14.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,274 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,884 reviews
13.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
14.0 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio De La Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing