We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing lodging and Wonderful Staff”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing lodging and Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed in the Hummingbird (Go Team Hummingbird!) tree house for two nights in late February before we headed down to the beach for a week. The late night walking tour was amazing, we saw so many different animals! The actual tree house couldn't have been more fun. We had two adult couples staying in the room and it was plenty of space for us. Mark and Lucy - can't say enough good things! They made our time at the hotel wonderful and they helped set us up with both great tours but also a car rental. They were 100% invested in our entire stay in Costa Rica even the time that wasn't spent at their hotel. Oh and the breakfasts were to die for! Definitely not your run of the mill hotel breakfasts!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    139
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
350
396
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in the FROG treehouse (which is the closest to the road), it has a double bed plus 2 twin beds up a ladder in the loft. Our boys age 9 and 7 loved being up there even though i was nervous at first with them going up and down the ladder! It is vertical, and I would say age 7 is the youngest you would want kids to be climbing up there to be honest. Yes there is some road noise being the closest property to the street, but it did not negatively impact our stay - once the AC or fan is running you can't hear the traffic at night, and we were out all day doing excursions or hiking so weren't affected by it. The room is small - there wasn't a closet to unpack our clothes - but the beds were all comfortable, the fridge was very useful to have, the bathroom had a good shower and everything was clean.
The breakfasts up at the Ranchero were excellent - so fresh and delicious and unusual too - i had never had mango stuffed french toast, or typical costa rican rice and beans for breakfast before! The hummingbird feeders around the Ranchero were always busy, as were the bird tables. And the thermos of coffee at 6am on our treehouse deck was a wonderful touch - we loved watching the birds coming to our feeder every morning.
We were lucky seeing wildlife whilst here - we walked down to the river to swim and saw howler monkeys, a sloth with her baby and leaf cutter ants on the trail. We also did the evening nature walk around the property with Rolando (do not miss!) and saw roosting birds, a tarantula in its burrow, many different frogs, an armadillo, another sloth, lizards, beetles…..he is so good at finding the critters!
We also did a trip with Juan Carlos to the Volcano and Hot Springs, definitely worth it as he is very knowledgable about botany and gives lots of information that you would miss if you did these things independently.
One negative is that the Treehouse Hotel is a good 30min drive into La Fortuna where the Arenal Volcano is, and there are better restaurants in town than near the treehouse. We had a rental car and so it was fine for us to get around, but i can imagine you may feel a little isolated if not. We had one meal at the place next door and the food was good but the service was terrible.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here during our 5 day trip to Costa Rica and I have a hard time imagining that staying anywhere else would have made the trip more memorable. This hotel was amazing in every way. Mark and Lucy were wonderful hosts and made sure we got everything we needed. We stayed in the Yiguirro house, which is far away from the road and has a secluded driveway. The tree-house was amazing! We had a beautiful porch where we could listen to the jungle and watch birds while drinking coffee that was delivered to our door each morning. Our house also had an amazing "open air" shower. It's a shower with two walls that are fine mesh and open to the jungle around the house. It's so cool to feel like you're out in the jungle while taking a shower. Every morning we came down to the guest area to eat a wonderful unique breakfast and talk with Mark and Lucy. Lucy also managed to track down a sloth that was making its way through the property. We appreciated this since we were kind of keeping and eye out and only saw one from far away earlier in the trip. There is also a nice little path around the property that makes for a nice walk.

Room Tip: Yiguirro is furthest away from the road and has the best open air shower. The road outside the prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grayson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerport, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This place was awesome! The treehouse itself was really neat but it was all the little touches that made this place truly special. Sipping coffee (delivered right to my treehouse deck) early in the morning and watching the birds on our bird feeder, the delicious home cooked breakfast (which they even prepared early for us on the morning we had an excursion planned), and the night hike right on the property all made our visit truly enjoyable. The couple that manage the property, Mark and Lucy, could not be any more friendly and helpful. They helped us organize all our excursions and transportation while we were in the Arenal area and we could not have been more pleased.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Yiguirri Treehouse which is toward the back of the property. Some guests in tree h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This stay was the end of a wonderful Tauck tour thru Panama & Costa Rica. Mark arranged our day tours ahead of time as well as our transportation from San Jose which by the way, was excellent to and fro. It is about 2-2 1/2 hours drive one way.
The first night we attended the night tour with Ronaldo. super, fun and exciting! Saw a sloth albeit very high, a gaudy frog, several frogs that were only an inch, a carnivores frog, armadillo, and probably other animals I don't recall. The howler monkeys camped outside our tree house the first night so they greeted us the first evening and were our alarm at 5:40 AM.
We had a great, exhilarating combination hiking tour with Juan Carlos which ended with a much needed hot springs soak before returning to the hotel. Juan Carlos is informative and endearing, very kind man. We did the Safari Float the next day with fun and informative guides.
Morning coffee delivered to our deck was so nice, even though one morning by error we got a thermos of hot water. My husband went down to exchange it & he and the ladies got hysterical over it. We were still laughing when we went to breakfast which every morning was delicious.
We both had massages before we left, ahhhh!
Initially I was a bit disappointed that Mark & Lucy were not there since they left on vacation but now thrilled since we have a new friend in Raeann! We left feeling that we shall return. This part of Costa Rica has too much to see in 3 days and there is a want to just hang out at the tree house to relax.

Room Tip: These are tree houses so expect stairs. The houses provide a good balance between being wonderfully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SylsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was fantastic. We stayed 3 nights just before Christmas. It was 'all the little things' that made this stay so unique -- waking up to fresh coffee on our own treehouse deck, where the staff had left plantains for the birds to feed while we sipped; a driver on their team who brought us anywhere we needed to go with a smile; honor system for cerveza; hummingbird feeders galore to entertain during breakfast (with a shout-out to the kitchen for delicious Belgian waffles); and a lovely walk through a farm into the jungle behind their property. Staying here was a magical experience. Will definitely return and recommend to all our friends!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoChicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I have just come back from a trip of a lifetime to Costa Rica with my husband and sons, ages 7 and 4. We fell in love with the Tree Houses when we saw it on trip advisor and booked it before we booked our flights. Having been so excited about the place there was a danger we could be disappointed, but thankfully our stay was perfect.
Not wishing to brave the roads ourselves we hired a private driver to take us from San Jose (which was reasonable for 4 of us). As soon as we arrived we were awestruck by the beauty of the property. It was impossible not to feel happy staying in the Sloth House, the sounds of animals are birds are always around, there is a family of 14 bats living in the porch roof and waking up and seeing a tree in the room is hard to beat.
We did the night tour with Rolando twice, and having subsequently done similar tours in other areas of Costa Rica we now realise how privileged we were to have this tour and get to hold frogs and iguanas and see so many other things including sloths. My son has since named a toy monkey after Rolando.
I had the mud massage spa treatment, and I think it is hard to beat receiving a treatment with the sites and sounds of the jungle around you.
We also had a wonderful time following the trail on the property to the waterfall where we spent a great few hours paddling and showering underneath it. This was perfect for the ages of my children as it was not to rough and as this can only be accessed by those staying at the Tree Houses is completely secluded and private.
We were fortunate to see a low hanging sloth while we were there and also various howler monkeys including one in the tree right out side our house.
I also need to mention how amazing Lucy and Mark the Managers are. They simply love the place and do everything to ensure you have a great time. They were so enthusiastic when showing us various birds and animal and there are so many little touches here which make a difference: the fresh breakfasts, the honesty bowls for paying for drinks, the easy recycling area, telling you about places to visit, and my personal favourite waking up to fresh coffee on the porch sitting drinking this on the porch looking out at the forest, watching birds is a pretty perfect start to the morning.

The only problem I have is finding anywhere else in the world I love as much as the Tree Houses.

Room Tip: We picked Sloth because we liked the idea of having a tree in the room, and loved it. The children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keg1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
14.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,249 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,846 reviews
13.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,268 reviews
13.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,822 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio De La Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing