We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family vacation experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
West Tisbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful family vacation experience”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Not to be missed…we loved everything about this place, from the fantastical tree house to the breakfasts to the hikes. Within the first 20 minutes there, we saw monkeys, sloths, too many birds to name. Mark and Lucy are as wonderful as the reviews describe. Would return in a heartbeat- perfect for our family of 4 with 2 boys ages 10 and 13.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beth2boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    139
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
350
396
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Few things in life exceed expectations, but this place did. I booked this nearly a year in advance for the 1st 2 nights of our Easter Week trip to Costa Rica. I didn't tell my husband or 3 boys (ages 14, 11, 9) ahead of time that we were staying in a treehouse. We stayed in Sloth, directly across from the office. It is one of the closest to the road, and yes, we did hear road noise in the morning, but honestly it wasn't that big of a deal. Mostly we heard monkeys, birds, and other wildlife. Mark and Lucy are lovely people, and very helpful. The breakfasts (different every day) were really great, eaten outside at the "Rancho" surrounded by hummingbirds, aguiti, and other wildlife. The two trails are fun to walk and we saw a sloth, lots of frogs, an armadillo, birds, and our biggest surprise - a lost cow wandering through the property! We saw monkeys only high in the trees, but we heard them each morning. The treehouses are not large, but the 3 boys fit in the loft just fine, and our bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning worked great. My biggest surprise was how clean and bug free the treehouse was. As for location, it is quite a bit of a drive from LaFortuna, but I simply planned our activities around that. Proyecto Asis is less than a 5 minute drive away, and we did a raft trip on nearby Balsa River. The rafting people picked us up, and you get out of the river at the end just steps from the Treehouses, so that was very convenient. We saved our activities in LaFortuna for later in the week when we stayed at Los Lagos. I felt like combining Treehouses and Los Lagos was a good mix for us. The night hike was great, too, I just wish it started earlier. We werre so tired each day we had a hard time staying awake until its 8:00 pm start! If you are looking for a plush hotel, keep looking. But if you want a clean, fun, unique experience, stay in a Treehouse!

Room Tip: Sloth treehouses have upstairs loft for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PointsWellTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I reserved this hotel several months before our vacation because the photos looked great and I knew my kids (and me) would love the idea of staying in a tree house in the jungle. It was everything we hoped for; we saw lots of wildlife (a flock of parrots flew by one day; some unusual possum-like animals were exploring the woods below one morning, sloths, lots of birds, howler monkeys) and just loved being up in our own tree house. Mark had great advice and gives great directions for anywhere you're going. The morning breakfast was fantastic, and we loved the night-time tour with Rolando!

I think our room had AC, but we didn't need it at all. We had our door open most of the time we were at the house and had no problem with heat or bugs. We were in the Monkey house which had beds to sleep 5 people and plenty of walking around room. Sleep quality isn't all that just because we liked keeping the windows open and hearing the sounds of nature.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saratogario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Our family had an amazing time in the Hummingbird treehouse. This is our 8 yr olds favorite hotel of all time! This place will get you out of your regular routine. We woke up early every morning. Day 1:: Mark arranged our activities for the following day. Night tour with Rolando is a MUST. Day 2: special early breakfast to send off my husband with Juan Carlos to Rio Celeste. I went to Protectco Asis with the kids. Day 3: Coffee is delivered to your porch by 6 am. We bird watched and sat on the rocking chair for a couple hours. We spotted a couple of sloths that were chilling in the tree about 20 ft from the porch.
Tip: Bring enough cash. The ATMs and banks sometimes run out of cash. We were broke by day 3 and had to use our kid's money! Have your camera and binoculars at all times. Bring ear plugs if you are noise sensitive (trucks, insects or birds). It did not bother any of us.
Highlights: NO TV!! 2 trails (short and long), night tour with Rolando, Rio Celeste guide with Juan Carlos, saw many wildlife (monkeys, toucans, frogs, spiders, many species of birds, armadillo, porcupine, sloths), yummy breakfast and Protector Asis is very close by.
Lowlights: no restaurant on site for lunch or dinner. No big deal, we ate 3 delicious meals at Mapache that had the view of Arenal. Everything is fresh and the garlic tilapia was great! Make sure you let Mark know that you are heading there, so the restaurant will call the cook in : )
We will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bacong F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanside, ca
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Having travelled to Costa Rica three times previously, we seek out new unique ways to enjoy some of our favorite areas. This is something you should not miss! Super clean, well contained (no critters inside, sealed so even a/c works effectively) and soundly built. Showers had great pressure and open air surround) all other things all others mentioned including easy access to great sodas nearby and Activities in arenal/la fortuna area. We had a car and this was the last stop before flying out. Great way to end our trip!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank swprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Words cannot express how happy I was to find out about this hotel on Trip Advisor. If you want a memory you will never forget, stay here, even if for just a few nights.

Mark and Lucy are incredible, and are great hosts. They will help you with whatever you need, including day trips, and shuttle services. My husband and I stayed in the Toucan in March for a "honeymoon" before traveling to Manuel Antonio for our wedding later in the week.

Food was excellent, and if you want to get to La Fortuna, you can either take a taxi for $35 or the public bus for $2. The bus didn't take long and was very clean, so do not be discouraged from taking it!

The only downside to the tree house was that there wasn't any place to unpack, so we had to put our clothes on the floor. But seriously, who cares?!?

Another thing is that I get motion sick, and Toucan is the house that rocks the most with the wind. However, I barely even felt it, so do not let that discourage you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Toucan, and honestly I don't know why people make such a big deal about the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMarshall7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We (family of 4, kids 6 and 8 years old) stayed in the Sloth treehouse for two nights in March and loved our experience. This was the first stop on our trip and a wonderful welcome to the country. The Sloth treehouse is close to the road, and you do hear some traffic noise, but I honestly don't think it would be that much different in most of the other treehouses - and the traffic noise was not sufficient to keep us awake or spoil our stay. The kids loved having their own loft area and had no trouble with the ladder. We did not have a car and did not miss it - we walked to the restaurant next door once, which has a spectacular view of Arenal, and we also had pizza delivered to us, which we ate in the Rancho while playing some of the on site board games. The fridge in the room allowed us to keep our leftovers. The on site drink fridge was convenient. On our first day here we had planned to hike to the waterfall/swimming hole, but were told the waterfall was dry and the swimming hole was under construction. Instead we were directed a few km away, down the hill to a river on the property that was great for wading/swimming in. It was a lovely way to spend a hot afternoon and we heard howler monkeys in the trees along the way. My husband and son went on the night hike with Rolando, which they very much enjoyed. On our checkout day, we did a river safari float trip that Mark arranged for us. The tour company picked us up at Treehouses and dropped us off at our next hotel (Los Lagos) which saved us the cost of a transfer. My only complaint about Treehouses, and it's minor!, is that we are not coffee drinkers and because the staff didn't bring a thermos up to our tree house each morning - we also did not have the fruit set out to attract birds to our porch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 15Carrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
14.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,254 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,849 reviews
13.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,269 reviews
13.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,823 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio De La Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing