We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lions and Tigers and Bears.......”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lions and Tigers and Bears.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Not here, but they do have sloths, toucans and hummingbirds. We had a short visit in the hummingbird (colibri) tree house because we booked about a month ago and we're sandwiched in for one night. There is a two night minimum except when only one night is available.

This was certainly a memorable stay, not only because of the superb, unique tree houses and property, but also because of the wonderful people we encountered. While we were looking forward to meeting Mark, who we had corresponded with, he had just left on vacation. But Raeanne the owner had flown in, and she was great and made our stay absolutely terrific!

We did take the night tour with Rolando, but still on Eastern Standard time, we needed to leave the group early, preparing for an early morning tour.

When we returned to the Tree Houses after our tour the next day, Rolando was there. He was sad that we missed seeing the sloth that the group encountered a little after we retired for the night. Rolando took us up to the area where the sloth had been spotted. His persistence led to his finding a hidden sleepy sloth. He tapped on the tree and sure enough, the sleepy fellow appeared!

If they had a contest for happiest person in the world, Rolando just might win.

Now, to tell you about what will likely be the highlight of our trip......we had what turned out to be a private tour to Rio Celestica with Juan Carlos. Even though we had a car we are so happy that we took the tour. His insight was amazing during the entire tour, which included a three hour hike, including the closest stop, the most amazing waterfall imaginable because of its magnificent blue color. They almost had to pry me away it was so breathtaking.
I can't remember seeing any better waterfall in Hawaii, again because of the color.

The road to Rio Celeste is bumpy (an understatement) and it was nice not to have to drive). If you get the chance, take a tour with Juan Carlos. You will not be disappointed! And don't miss the whole Tree houses experience!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jbreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    137
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
343
384
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This place is awesome and very unique. We were greeted upon arrival by a sloth and her baby and some monkeys on the path from the gate entrance. And then we saw some frogs and an armadillo on the night tour. We had a great stay and would love to come back! I recommend that you book your tours and activities through Mark. We stayed three nights and had lunch at the local restaurant and did the night tour on our first night, did the all day adventure tour of Arenal with hotsprings on the next day, went rafting the following day, and ziplining on our last day before heading out to Manual Antonio. Everything was perfect, well planned out, and very convenient. We just had to show up when told and everything was handled for us, including early breakfast when we needed it. The tea and hot chocolate brought to our porch in the morning was a nice touch! Our daughter is still talking about sleeping in a tree house and ziplining in the jungle! Thanks Mark and Lucy for a wonderful time.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Listen...I liked Arenal, but the staff at The Tree Houses Hotel made this portion of our honeymoon oue #1 destination. Do NOT miss that evening hikes with Renaldo. We loved him. Honestly. In fact, we have exchanged emails and keep forgeting to send him a care package. His hikes were EPIC. In fact, we enjoyed his hike every night we were there. After the rest of the group went to bed, he took us to see an egret nesting site. I run in a world with many birders in the Northeast of the US, and even the most enthusiastic birders are jealous of the experience Renaldo gave us. That being said, sometimes you are not able to see as much as other nights, that is nature. Even then, we were simply happy to be hanging out with Renaldo.

Although I forget their names, the couple that manage the hotel are spectacular. They were more than willing, in fact they seemed to enjoy, to give us advice on where to go and what to see. Mark (I think that is his name) spent every morning chatting with us about what to see and helping us to identify the plethora of birds that visited us at breakfast. Breakfast...everyday was something freshly cooked and delicious. Some of our favorite meals during our honeymoon in Costa Rica. I wish I remembered the names of all of the staff. They were all lovely.

Listen...on my honeymoon, my new husband and I woke up to fresh coffee, saw AMAZINGLY STUNNING birds on our porch, got to shower while continuing to watch the birds (and other amazing wildlife) then went to have a breakfast on-site while having great conversation, eating a great meal and continued to see more amazing birds, then ended the night with an instant BFF that taught us more than a library of books could teach us....my question folks is: why go anywhere else. If it were not for Proyecto Asis, I would argue that we could have spent our entire honeymoon at the Treehouse and would have been thrilled.

My only regret was that we did not spend more day at the Tree Houses Hotel. We will be going back!!!

PS. Renaldo, if you ever come to the states, you have a friend in Pennsylvania!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhamblin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marietta GA
Level Contributor
633 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

treehouses were modern - no problems with plumbing, electricity, etc...
This is one of the most unique lodging experiences you can have - and check my profile, I have lots of reviews here, so this is not a rookie opinion.

the pros:
Mark and Lucy (American Managers) - friendly and a great source of information.
fresh coffee outside your door at 6 am
wonderfully unique breakfast cooked to order
lush, private setting in the rainforest.
felt very secure - locked gate, nighttime security
peaceful, lush grounds with lots of flora and fauna.

I cant think of a single point against this property - so unless you want city amenities close by, or big tv and internet access, you will not be disappointed with this property. It might be a bit more than local properties in town, but it is so worth it.

questions - contact me

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marieatta_pman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and three kids spent two nights in one of the tree houses. Managers and breakfast staff were great, always here to help, provide tips. The tree house was amazingly comfortable with aircon, electrical sockets, good beds .... I particularly liked the coffee brought at our door at 6am, hot shower with a great view on the surrounding trees. Nice walk in the property. Go for the night walk organized by the gardener, at 8pm (twice a week i think) were we saw many animals. Unfortunately no wifi in this property (no big deal as restaurant nearby has it).

I would stay away from the volcano trek, organized through them, priced at USD 385 for half a day - we found much much cheaper and equivalent at La Fortuna for USD 230 (and staying at the hotel straight at the volcano is even a better idea, for USD 165 inc breakfast and a free one hour tour with a guide in the morning, then good walkers can extend the park visit on their own).

Overall great experience, fantastic for romance or for families, kids will love it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank afderoide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Tisbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Not to be missed…we loved everything about this place, from the fantastical tree house to the breakfasts to the hikes. Within the first 20 minutes there, we saw monkeys, sloths, too many birds to name. Mark and Lucy are as wonderful as the reviews describe. Would return in a heartbeat- perfect for our family of 4 with 2 boys ages 10 and 13.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beth2boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Few things in life exceed expectations, but this place did. I booked this nearly a year in advance for the 1st 2 nights of our Easter Week trip to Costa Rica. I didn't tell my husband or 3 boys (ages 14, 11, 9) ahead of time that we were staying in a treehouse. We stayed in Sloth, directly across from the office. It is one of the closest to the road, and yes, we did hear road noise in the morning, but honestly it wasn't that big of a deal. Mostly we heard monkeys, birds, and other wildlife. Mark and Lucy are lovely people, and very helpful. The breakfasts (different every day) were really great, eaten outside at the "Rancho" surrounded by hummingbirds, aguiti, and other wildlife. The two trails are fun to walk and we saw a sloth, lots of frogs, an armadillo, birds, and our biggest surprise - a lost cow wandering through the property! We saw monkeys only high in the trees, but we heard them each morning. The treehouses are not large, but the 3 boys fit in the loft just fine, and our bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning worked great. My biggest surprise was how clean and bug free the treehouse was. As for location, it is quite a bit of a drive from LaFortuna, but I simply planned our activities around that. Proyecto Asis is less than a 5 minute drive away, and we did a raft trip on nearby Balsa River. The rafting people picked us up, and you get out of the river at the end just steps from the Treehouses, so that was very convenient. We saved our activities in LaFortuna for later in the week when we stayed at Los Lagos. I felt like combining Treehouses and Los Lagos was a good mix for us. The night hike was great, too, I just wish it started earlier. We werre so tired each day we had a hard time staying awake until its 8:00 pm start! If you are looking for a plush hotel, keep looking. But if you want a clean, fun, unique experience, stay in a Treehouse!

Room Tip: Sloth treehouses have upstairs loft for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PointsWellTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
14.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
13.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#7 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
14.0 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio | Santa Clara, San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing