We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun adventure!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the treehouses hotel. Marc and Lucy were very nice and helpful. The breakfasts were fantastic! We loved seeing the hummingbirds at breakfast. It was a little ways outside of LaFortuna, but fun for an adventure. We saw sloths and coud hear howlers a few times. Our friends saw toucans outside theri windows.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2010

Tree Houses was our first stop in Costa Rica on our honeymoon. My husband and I stayed in the house # 3 - the one with the tree growing through it. I agree with all the other positive reviews for this hotel. We loved the concept, loved the breakfast, loved waking up in the morning and feeling like all you have around you is the trees! The houses are very cute, but obviously not luxury. For honeymooners I think 3 nights is plenty to get a good experience of the place - I probably won't stay more than that because after a while you just want a little more amenities and bells and whistles. The only negative thing is that the air conditioner in our house wasn't de-humidifying the air enough, so we felt pretty sticky most of the time inside the house.
As you know the place is fairly isolated, but we loved the fact that it is and it worked out for us since we were out on tours most of the time which I would highly recommend doing. Marc and Lucy were on top of everything arranging the tours for us. We did the El Toro Rafting and All Day Arenal Volcano Adventure and loved both of them. The All Day Volcano Adventure is definitely tiring, but well worth it. We didn't have a car and didn't need it, but I can see how it would have been necessary if we were staying longer.
There is a restaurant within walking distance (0.5 mi at most) with great food and the view of volcano. Marvin - the owner - is has some good stories and was great to chat with. Another restaurant Bella Verona is definitely a must, but not walking distance.
Overall, I definitely will recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Just returned from my honeymoon in Costa Rica with my wife. Tree Houses was definitely a memorable place!

Pro's:
-Very friendly staff helps with booking tours and recommendations.
-Quiet hotel with spacious property to explore. The Waterfall/River hike on the property allows for plenty of wildlife viewing.
-Breakfast at 8am every morning is amazing.
-Nearby Restaurants Bella Verona and Happyland were probably a couple of the best meals during the entire trip to Costa Rica.

Cons:
-Treehouse #1 is a little cramped, any more than 2 people would make it uncomfortable.
-Located 25-30 minutes from La Fortuna. Taxi costs $35 each way. Definitely recommend renting a car. The road is 2 lanes and is paved the entire way. As with driving in any foreign country, use extra caution as the lane markers and signs are purely "advice" and usually aren't followed by the locals.

My wife and I loved taking day trips around La Fortuna and returning to the peace and quiet of the Tree Houses at night. Perfect place to stay for the more adventurous types.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMedina84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

The tree house hotel was unique and fun. We enjoyed sleeping in the treehouse and watching animals such as monkeys, bats and birds from our porch. Mark and Lucy booked all or our tours beforehand. All the tours were reasonably priced and perfect for children and adults. Mark and Lucy also provided wonderful breakfasts and recommended great restaurants. This was our favorite family vacation to date.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ethan3715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Can't say enough positive things about this experience. Seven family members ranging in age from 9 to 71. We rented all the treehouses and stayed a week. It exceeded all expectations - excellent hosts Mark and Lucy who provided outstanding advice and booked tours and more for us. Treehouses were immaculately clean, breakfasts excellent. We explored the treehouse grounds, swam in the waterfall pools, saw all kinds of wildlife right on the property and made friends with the resident dogs. Altogether a 100% outstanding trip and one we may well repeat.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We traveled with our daughter and her best friend celebrating their 16th birthdays. Mark and Lucy were great host. Breakfast was excellent. Something different every day. The grounds were beautiful. Trails to a small waterfall and river. Mark was very helpful with maping out our next destination. They let the teen that was with us use internet to contact her mom when her phone did not have service. And then let both of them use phone to call with their calling card. Our rental car had a bolt come off of the shock when we left. We had to turn around and come back. They had the maintenance man check it. He went to the hardware store and replaced the bolt for us. People like Mark and Lucy is why we love small bed and breakfast hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolomcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

The service that we received at Tree Houses was awesome. Mark and Lucy went all out in making sure that we appreciated all that the local area had to offer. They did it all from giving advice on what sites to see, where, when and how to get there to hgiving tips on how to drive in the local area.
The property has a lot to offer with enough land to get some exercise with a short walk as well as the occassional siting of a three toed sloth.
Breakfasts were great. On top of the food being awesome Mark and Lucy would give us the tips we needed to maximize our day in the area. Good food, good compnay and great information.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenm510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
13 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,945 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,406 reviews
14 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,452 reviews
13.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,947 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica

Address: 300 Meters Norte de Cementerio De La Florencia | Santa Clara, San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £68 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree Houses Hotel is a bed and breakfast hotel conveniently located off the main road that runs through La Fortuna and around the Arenal Volcano. We are a short 25 minute drive to the high tourist area. People seek us out with that in mind, to be away from it all but close enough to enjoy all the fun adventure the La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano area has to offer.We have just 5 tree houses (each very private) on 8 acres and we are surrounded by a 70 acre wildlife refuge with a waterfall, pools to swim and a beautiful river. Each tree house features A/C, warm water showers, refrigerators and safes.There are few hotels like this in the world and none other in Costa Rica. There is something so very exciting about spending the night high in the forest canopy, wildlife all around you, safe and cozy in a tree house hotel in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Hotel In Costa Rica
Tree Houses Hotel Costa Rica La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing