We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice welcoming place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice welcoming place”
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We stayed at Erupciones Inn for 2 nights at the end of Dec 2010. It is a working farm and the owners work very hard to keep it nice, Jesse runs the accommodation side of the business and her husband runs the farm where they have also horses. They are a very charming family, Jesse is so helpful, caring, and gives you a lot of information and tries to help in any way she can. The room we stayed in was large and comfortable, although like previous reviewers have said, some bedside lamps and bathroom hooks would help improve it. There are a couple of restaurants nearby, but apart from that if you don't have a car (which we did not) it is long way from the town and we found taxis in the area to be quite expensive, because they charge the full rate for coming out from the town, so probably we would recommend to have a car to stay here. Unfortunately we could not see the vulcano as it was clouded for the whole time we were in Arenal, but I am sure if the sky is clear you would get an amazing view. We would recommend this place especially for families with children as they would love to run around the farm, and anybody who has own car.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pizza&salsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    50
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
32
66
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

When my husband and I arrived at this B&B, we had just heard about a tragedy that struck close to our family. The owner, Jesse, couldn't have been more caring and generous. The quiet rural nature and incredible natural beauty right outside the door were also comforting. Jesse was also helpful about things to do, places to go, how to get around etc. She speaks excellent English.
Good things:
Great view of the volcano.
Breakfast includes fresh eggs gathered from their free-ranging chickens, and cream from their dairy cows. Also fruit. Couldn't be fresher.
Clean, comfortable room with private outside sitting area with the volcano practically in the back yard.
If you like working farms, this is a great place. The husband raises and trains Arabian horses, which he pastures in the field between the guest accommodations and the volcano boundary area. It's a refreshing slice of life in rural Costa Rica.
It's about 9 kilometers to busy La Fortuna, an easy drive.
The most incredible hot springs (actually a hot RIVER) is just down the road at the Tabican Resort. Using the hot springs at Tabican costs as much (or more) than a night at Erupciones, but is well worth it.
A terrific open air Tiko-run restaurant is close by: El Noville Del Arenal Steak House. Better-than-average food, great service, reasonable prices.

Down side
As with several places we stayed in Costa Rica, this one lacks hooks or towel racks in the bathroom and poor bedside lighting for those of us who like to read in bed.
Also, despite all the locally grown coffee, it's hard to get a good strong rich brew almost anywhere in Costa Rica. I'm sure that a good cup of strong coffee can be had, but we didn't find it.
WiFi was available at the owner's place (where breakfast is served) but not in the guest rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwonderoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

I stayed here with my 3 friends for two nights in November on our first trip in La Fortuna. One of us lost her luggage when we arrived in Costa Rica (the luggage was still in Toronto...the reason of dropping the luggage is the airplane need balance......), Jesse helped us to call the airport 3 times everyday to push them sending luggage on time since our next stop is one day each in Quepos/Dominical/Sierpe. At the end, they delivered the luggage 3 hours before we leaving La Fortuna. We can't image when we will get it without Jesse's Spanish calls, Thanks so much. Jesse and her husband has a pretty big farm, at least we could see whitehorse every morning (without prince). The bedroom is very clean as well. Good stay and highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uuuyouyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Me and my girlfriend loved our stay at this hotel. It had the perfect view of the volcano and it was the highlight of our entire trip! Jesse was so nice and helpful and she set up all our activities for us and even gave us a ride around town so that we wouldn't have to take a taxi. Her farm is beautiful and her family was so sweet and welcoming. We had a farm fresh breakfast every morning and loved being able to walk around and see all the animals on her farm. This is the best value and hotel in La Fortuna!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnpriscilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights and Las Erupciones and we were very happy with our stay. Jesse is so nice and welcoming. She couldn't have been any nicer. It's on a farm and we got to see the new baby horse. Our room looked right out to Volcan Arenal and you can hear it rumble at night. On our last morning we had ash on our car. I thought the rooms were clean and nice. Jesse set us up with a discount to Baldi Hot Springs. Most importantly, Jesse would sit down and talk to us and that meant a lot to me. Also, the price is right. Our first two nights were regular price and the third night was 1/2 off. It was a great deal. It is super close to the Hanging Bridges and the National Park.
At night we drove out to the bridge to try to see some lava (which we saw a little!)

Breakfast is gallo pinto, scrambled eggs, toast, fruit and coffee. Nothing fancy but who cares??? It was yummy and it's not touristy. I would definitely go back!!!

Gracias por todo Jesse!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasJavaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We stayed at Erupciones Inn for three nights with our two children. I have mixed feeling about this B&B. The owner, Yessenia, was so helpful and charming that we would probably return just for that reason. She was full of information and helped us get discounted entry to local attractions. The room was large and had a big picture window that would have offered us an awesome view of the volacano if the clouds had ever lifted. The somewhat rural location that was still just a 10 drive from La Fortuna was perfect for us. (We had a car.) Our kids liked the horses in the field next to the cabins. However, the room could have been more welcoming, and the breakfast was disappointing. Just a few changes could make a big difference:
1. Add hooks or a towel rack in the bathroom. There is no where to hang anything in the bathroom.
2. Add lighting. The room is very dark, with just two small wall sconces that shed little light.
3. Freshen up the bedding. The coverlets, while they looked new enough, were polyester yellow/blue plaid, and the sheets were worn.
4. Better breakfast. Stronger coffee and hot chocolate would be appreciated. Both were watery. The scrambled eggs were also watery and very salty. Include fresh fruit. We had no fruit the first morning. However, the second day we were served banana and papaya.
5. Train staff to be as helpful as the owner. At the time of our reseravation, we had requested an extra mattress for a child. It was not in the room when we arrived, and one of the staff (not owner) said, "Well, the room has two beds. " I stressed that we wanted a mattress, so she brought it with sheets but not a blanket. She put just one of the sheets on the mattress, and only brought a blanket when I insisted. (It was rainy and cool the whole time we were there.) She then just put the blanket and other sheet on the mattress, rather than making it up. There were not a lot of guests, so I don't think this was due to time constraints.

So, I would rate Erupciones only "average." However, the owner was truly sweet and wonderful, and some small improvements could make this place a wonderful B& B. La Fortuna/Lake Arenal has loads of great outdoor activities, so we will probably be back. I might return to Erupciones if it were improved a little.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EEDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We were disappointed in the meager breakfasts and the lack of cleanliness in our room. The owners were friendly and helpful. The owner's brother owns a restaurant about 300 meters from the B&B, and it was excellent. We stayed 3 nights, and we only saw the volcano in the morning of the day we left. We did enjoy sitting on our pation watching the parrots and toucans.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeekerofSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,507 reviews
2.6 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
818 reviews
3.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
#14 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,231 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast

Property: Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast
Address: 10 kilometers west from La Fortuna on the way to the Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Erupciones Inn invites you to be our guest and discover bed and breakfast comfort and hospitality with warmth that is distinctly Costa Rican with most spectacular view of the majestic Arenal Volcano. Erupciones Inn Bed and Breakfast is located on the west side of La Fortuna, in front of the majestic Arenal Volcano, just 10 Kilometers from La Fortuna town, 1 km from Tabacon Hot Springs, 4 km from Baldi Hot Springs and 10 minutes from the Arenal Volcano National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erupciones Inn Bed And Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Erupciones Inn b&b
Erupciones Inn Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing