We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible View of Arenal Volcano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were told that we would have a 30% chance of seeing Arenal volcano, due to cloud cover- we were so pleasantly surprised to be able to enjoy the view both days we stayed here. The individual cabins all face the volcano- great design, made even better by rocking chairs on the verandas to enjoy the view. The cabin we were in was bright, very clean, and the air conditioning was an added bonus( our previous two accommodations in CR were cooled by fans and open windows!) I really liked the shower turned into a grotto with rock walls and living plants- how tropical!

The grounds were amazing- extremely well kept, tons of flowering trees and bushes and many kinds of exotic fruits growing everywhere. We spotted dozens of bird species, basilisks and even a raccoon while there. The pools were awesome- it was a great experience to sit under the hot waterfall while sipping on cocktails! We also took advantage of a very reasonably priced couple's massage- the ladies were professional and very thorough.
The staff were very helpful( always offering a lift on the motorized golf carts that they use to traverse the property) and we received added touches like a warm washcloth upon arrival to wipe our faces with and a beautiful fruit tray in our room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leachelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Hello Leachelle W, thanks for the nice comments you wrote and it is good to see that you had a nice experience here with us, just so you know here in our hotel we have cataloged 470 species of plants, and as we have also 142 species of birds, of part of all employees of the Hotel Arenal Springs want to thank you for choosing us as the place of your stay, we also hope to see you back here soon.
Many blessings to your family and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,159 - 1,165 of 2,486 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

we checked in to the room and it smelled like an outhouse. It was pouring rain and the tiles were so slippery 3 of the 4 of us fell and hit our heads in the front. After a few hours we couldn't take it, so they moved us to another room. The bathroom had so much mold on the ceiling we couldn't breath. The room was also filled with ants. Room #3 was great. It was the same layout, but no smell or mold.

The management was very nice and gave us a bottle of wine and fruit plate to apologize for the rooms. The food at the restaurant was also very good. The pools were nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

This comment is totally suspect and wrong, I personally am the person in charge and when some guest have any accident on site inform me immediately and I have not any report in the last 22 days that someone has had a fall and much less three I have not any report of having given a bottle of wine and fruits for some incidents, if this person exists is provably stay at any other hotel and wrote this comment by mistake on our bill, I hope that management advisor can help with this thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent place, to relax and great view from the rooms, we took room 902 and we can see the volcano from every spot, the service was awesome, and the people very friendly, 3 pools one very hot one medium and the main one with the bar, pura vida!!!!!!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Javier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hi Javier D, thanks for the nice comments and it's nice to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us, thank you also for choosing us and hope to see you back soon, we hope also that all your family are well at home, we are on facebook where you can contact for any questions, thank you very much friend and may God bless you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Arenal Springs is a great choice when visiting the area. We stayed in the green season and got a great price. The hot springs are a great addition to the resort, they're not as big as the pool complexes but still very nice. The swim up bar and sushi bar is awesome, and the breakfast included each morning is great. Rooms are good, ask for one closer to the pools/restaurant otherwise it's quite a walk. Only downfall is the food is crazy expensive - over $30 for chicken teriyaki or about $16 per roll of sushi.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwigemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Hello Kiwigemmuy very nice comments, thank you very much for them and about the price issue we want to tell you that management is working on it, and hope the next time you're here with us you can see the difference, it's always good to know in which areas we need to improve and thanks to comments like yours is that we can see those areas, thank you very much and blessings and remember PURA VIDA friend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

What a beautiful property !! Service was great and the Spa was excellent at a reasonable price. The Spa reception offered us the best packages to get value for money. The restaurant had a nice view of the volcano, of course when it is not cloudy :-)), and the hot springs within the domain are so relaxing that we did not want to go for hikes. The entire settings with the suites are very nice.
Hint : try to get a bungalow at the first row so you can go straight from the room to the swimming pool.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Hi dear friend Donald D, nice to see you enjoyed the hot springs and spa and you had a nice time here with us, thank you very much for the nice comments and for choosing us as the Hotel of your stay here in La Fortuna, hope all in your home this very well and give greetings to your family from us, it would be nice to see you back soon and if you need anything just visit us on Facebook, thanks and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night as we were moving around Costa Rica. Arenal is my favorite area so far. The hotel is very nice, the gardens well maintained and very inviting. The different hot springs are glorious, as is the Jacuzzi! It has a swim up bar, which is nice, the only negative I have was the dreadful burger and chips I ordered, it was old and not freshly cooked, dried out, the chips old and reheated, the meat tasted a bit odd, it really was not good nor made fresh, I felt they should have paid me 12 dollars to eat it not the other way round. That aside a beautiful hotel with great views of the volcano and I would have liked to have stayed a few more nights.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChilliLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Hi Chillilondon, is nice to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us and thank you very much for choosing us as your hotel, thanks also for the nice comments you wrote about us and for your valuable time, we hope to see you back soon, about the detail of the burger and we met to discuss this issue and not happen again, next time you will have a delicious burger for free, thanks and PURA VIDA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Beautiful grounds and helpful staff. View from room was awesome. Room was a bit small, but the custom shower with skylight and plants was fantastic. Free items in mini-bar was a welcome change from the usual high price tab most hotels have for that convenience. Great breakfast buffet. Best of all, even though we checked out in the morning, we were allowed to return in the afternoon and use the thermal hot spring pool. Convenient changing room with showers next to the pool. Really welcome after a hot, sticky horseback ride up the mountain. Got a great price combining travel bonus points and a promo discount. Even at full cost, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Hi Susan A great news to hear that you really liked your stay with us, thank you very much for being hosted here and thanks for choosing us, hope all your family are well and you can share your memories with them, all employees of the Hotel Arenal Springs we send greetings and blessings, and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,322 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,336 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £97 - £571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing