We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed at Arenal Springs Resort in April of 2010. When we arrived, we were greeted with a tropical drink and the check in process was fast and friendly. We reserved two rooms, for 4 friends, and they were happy to give us 2 adjoining rooms. This was great - it allowed us to hang out all together on the porch, and open the door that adjoins our room. The view of the volcano is amazing at nearly every location on the property. We loved this hotel - the location is great, the staff is wonderful, and the price was just right. Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaTheBrute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hello VictoriaTheBrute, thank you very much for reminding us have passed nearly four years, thank you for your beautiful comments and it's nice to see that you had a beautiful experience with us, always will be waiting for your return to serve you as you deserve it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,448
    725
    136
    24
    11
See reviews for
741
1,082
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Words cannot express how wonderful our experience here was. We had forty guests in attendance of our wedding and Miguel, the hotel's events planner, took care of all of us. The grounds and hotel itself were gorgeous and the hot springs were incredible. We spent almost two full days and two nights there and the staff were responsive to our needs the entire time. The wedding setting itself was set up with details beyond our expectations. Miguel thought of everything in advance, was incredibly professional, and was prepared to offer suggestions to help make our wedding day perfect. The hotel rooms were clean, had great views, the food was delicious - I would give this hotel more stars if I could.

Room Tip: Didn't use the fitness or spa. Ask for room with best views of the volcano - views do vary by ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erp1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello dear friend, thank you very much for choosing us for an occasion so special in your life, for us was a real pleasure and honor to have been able to help you.
We are sending you many blessings in your marriage and that God always take care of you.
also we hope to see you soon here and be able to serve you with great fondness.
Thank you and happy marriage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We arrived at 9:30pm after a very long drive from San Jose (and a very long day of travel from Chicago). Eddie helped us check in and showed us to our room - a "cabinita" that we shared with one other room. Our in-room air conditioning wasn't working, so Eddie immediately sent for a repair man to fix it on the spot. Even though the kitchen was closed for the night, Eddie arranged a dinner for us while the repair man worked in our room. They couldn't fix it that night, so they made sure we had a portable A/C while we slept. It was repaired the next day while we were out on an excursion, and a bottle of wine was waiting for us in the room for the inconvenience.

We were in a standard (deluxe) room. Every room has a parking spot for a car. The bathrooms are gorgeous with lots of natural light. We had a private porch with rocking chairs and a breathtaking view of the volcano (so does everyone else - it doesn't matter what room you stay in!). The pools are beautiful, the front desk gladly helped us book activities with ease.

La Fortuna is about a 15min drive. Breakfast is a huge buffett. We loved this place and if you're willing to spend the money, it's worth it.

The reason for 4/5: the portable A/C created a river in our room and got my suitcase wet while we were sleeping. And the mattresses are kinda hard. But that's it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello Katie D, thank you very much for your comments and thanks for choosing us as your hotel, we hope that everything in your home is well.
on behalf of all the employees of the Hotel Arenal Springs thank you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We landed in Liberia airport and drove 3.5 hours to get to the hotel. The path was sometimes rocky and painful but worth it. The staff were professional and gracious, especially in the restaurants. The concierge, Jocelyn, was very helpful. Our room had a lovely view of the Arenal volcano. The room itself was showing small signs of wear. There was free WiFi in the hotel, which was nice.

All tours were within 30 minutes of the hotel. Overall a lovely stay. If I could improve anything, it would be to have an all-inclusive meal package.

Some tips:
1. Check out what tours the hotel has before booking your own tours. We booked the Venado Caves tour but ended up canceling it in favor of horseback riding at Club Rio. So call the concierge first and see what they have before you book with an agency.
2. Make a spa appointment early. We never could make it to the spa because we had conflicting activities. So plan ahead if you want to visit the spa...ideally, book before you arrive at the hotel.
3. Be careful about the ATV tour. I was assured that this was perfectly safe, but I did have an accident and ended up with several scrapes and stretched muscles on the ATV tour. I was lucky.
4. From a tours perspective, pace yourself. We didn't realize we had such a hectic first day. We did the hanging bridges tour, visited the waterfall, took a hike to learn more about the volcano and ended up at Tobacon hot springs. The waterfall is what nearly did me in. There are a lot of stairs. Climbing up those stairs was exhausting and it made the volcano hike later challenging.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you friend, but by your comments, I see that you were at another hotel that has a name very similar to ours, we are the Hotel Arenal Springs Resort and the place which has the place called CLUB RIO is called The Springs Resort Hotel.
Thank you and good luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Just come back from the Arenal Springs Hotel. We had a junior suite but all accomodation perfectly placed. All rooms look at the volcano and what a fabulous picture it makes. We were lucky to have clear days when we were there. The staff here are very friendly, food good especially the new Italian. The hot springs and pool are lovely. What else can I say.

Room Tip: If want to splash out have a junior suite. But all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neighboursKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello neighbourskent, thank you for your nice comments and hope to see you soon back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We stood at hotel royal corin for 2 nights which was wonderful than came here for 2 nights and boy did I wish we had stood at royal corin.. ok first they call there little bungalows suites and they are clearly not, you'll see that when you get there. It was definitely a down grade, but the pool wasn't too bad. I did not like that you had to walk far from the pool and entrance to your room (bungalow) they give u a ride on a golf cart when you get there and say they will pick you up but they never came when we called. They do have a nice breakfast buffet but all in all I would never stay here again nor would I recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalpistal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello cristalpistal, well looks like that you like enormous buildings because our hotel is very true is a large green area full of gardens more than 450 species of plants and more than 140 species of birds in our gardens to walk and enjoy nature and our hot springs, our rooms we have in list like you say they are bungalows and many happy people have shared their photos here so all they can really see how they look our rooms.
the good thing is that nowadays people see much real information from our hotel at facebook and tripadvisor.
We have always known that to some people it is very difficult to keep them well at all so we hope that you have better luck next time.
PURA VIDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We also spent two nights here as part of a tour group and we really did not want to leave! Our unit was clean & spacious enough. It had a TV ,a small refrigerator, a/c as well as a ceiling fan. The grounds were well landscaped & immaculately clean. The flowers & birds & fruit trees all around were so nice to see after all the snow we had just left behind! Sitting on our patio looking at Arenal Volcano was very relaxing. The pools & hot springs were lovely! Gift shop & Internet lounge were very popular.The town of Fortuna is close-by & readily accessible by taxi. I would certainly not hesitate to go back there!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello Evo047, thank you very much for reminding us so fondly and for your beautiful comments, was a pleasure for us to have you here and we hope to see you very soon.
Thank you for choosing us and always remember that this is your home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing