We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$368
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$529
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$636
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$593
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,833)
Filter reviews
2,833 results
Traveller rating
1,789
844
158
29
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,789
844
158
29
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barsushi barhot springscosta ricawet bargolf carttour deskthermal poolsmain restaurantcaravan tourroom keygreat view of the volcanobreakfast buffetbeautiful groundsrocking chairszip liningwelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
1,309 - 1,314 of 2,833 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Hotel:
We chose this hotel because of the reviews. It was everything that we expected it to be: great views, great pools, fantastic breakfast, and close to many attractions. The individual casitas were nice. It spaced out the guests well so we weren't on top of each other. The rooms were cozy and the air conditioning worked great.

Food:
The breakfast buffet was fantastic. They offered local tico dishes as well as American options. We were a little disappointed with the prices at the hotel bar/restaurants so we ate in La Fortuna most of the time for lunch/dinner. I definitely recommend eating at La Choza, El Tobogan, and Lava Rocks if you're looking for a good food in town.

Attractions:
Our favorite activities were visiting La Fortuna waterfall (wear a swimsuit because you can get in the water-- the trail is steep but accessible by flip flops), canopy zip tour with Mundo Adventura, and the Arenal Hanging Bridges. If you get a chance, drive around Lake Arenal to Nuevo Arenal. It isn't far but there are great views and cute shops/bakeries/restaurants over there. Toad Hall was a great place to hangout for lunch (you can't miss the signs!).

Room Tip: The higher the room number, the farther you are from the pool area. We were in the 600s, which was near the back of the property. It was nice because we were away from everyone but meant that we had to walk farther to get to the pool.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2015

Hello Dear guest.
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to spend your vacation in Costa Rica, we hope that all your experiences was magnificent and satisfying.
All the staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs we hope see you back very soon and we will have a chance to serve you again, we love to read your comments which are very important and helps us improve each day to provide a better service.
Dear guest and friend we hope that you have a safe journey back to your home and remember this, now you have many friends in Costa Rica.
Thank you very much and God bless you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Beautifully laid out in extensive and well groomed gardens with views of the volcano make this a great place to stay. Then you have super spacious rooms which are well appointed and have a great bathroom to relax in. The check in is a bit chaotic but the public areas including the restaurants are very good. Didn't get to use the pools but would return here to relax.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraemeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Hello Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing our hotel to spend your vacation in Costa Rica, we hope that all your experiences are been magnificent and satisfying.
All the staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs hope that your back very soon and so we have a chance to serve you again, we love to read your comments which are very important and helps us improve each day to provide a better service.
Dear guest and friend we hope you have a safe journey back to your home and remember this, now you have many friends in Costa Rica.
Thank you very much and God bless you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Cannot say enough good things about this resort!! Absolutely loved the atmosphere and the location. The rooms were very comfortable with great views of the rain forest. Best part of the resort however is the friendly front desk staff. My wife and I were in there bugging Alberto, daniela, flor and itzel everyday and they helped us have an amazing trip! Alberto helped us book our next hotel in Manuel Antonio which was above and beyond my expectations. Daniela, flor and itzel were extremely helpful helping us go to outstanding restaurants, find awesome tours and whatever else we had questions about. All four of them spoke outstanding english as well which certainly helped due to my wife and I not knowing any spanish. Thank you so much alberto, Daniela, flor, and itzel!! If your next stop is the arenal area, this is the resort to stay at!! Almost forgot, the daily room service was outstanding as well. Always a new design with towels on the freshly made bed. A large shaped heart, an elephant, butterfly and others. Very well done, thank you!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank srogers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Hello Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing our hotel to spend your vacation in Costa Rica, we hope that all your experiences are been magnificent and satisfying.
All the staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs hope that your back very soon and so we have a chance to serve you again, we love to read your comments which are very important and helps us improve each day to provide a better service.
Dear guest and friend we hope you have a safe journey back to your home and remember this, now you have many friends in Costa Rica.
Thank you very much and God bless you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Gorgeous setting, friendly staff, very nice rooms. The restaurants were a little pricey (only reason I gave it 4 stars) but the food was great. The choice of pools or hot springs, both with sim up bars, was terrific. Everything was very clean, the beds were a little hard as noted elsewhere but still comfortable. The staff was amazing, and the in-town restaurant they recommended (Benidictus Steakhouse, a tiny, out of the way and very authentic little converted farmhouse) was so, so good. Thank you!

Room Tip: The first row of rooms (the 100's) is definitely closest to everything. The highest (900's) require a golf cart.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Hello Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing our hotel to spend your vacation in Costa Rica, we hope that all your experiences are been magnificent and satisfying.
All the staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs hope that your back very soon and so we have a chance to serve you again, we love to read your comments which are very important and helps us improve each day to provide a better service.
Dear guest and friend we hope you have a safe journey back to your home and remember this, now you have many friends in Costa Rica.
Thank you very much and God bless you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We loved this resort. The rooms are amazing even with real rain fall into the shower's flora. Howler monkeys were near by in the morning. The hot springs were really refreshing. Close by to all the hiking and lake. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TroyQuimby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Hello Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing our hotel to spend your vacation in Costa Rica, we hope that all your experiences are been magnificent and satisfying.
All the staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs hope that your back very soon and so we have a chance to serve you again, we love to read your comments which are very important and helps us improve each day to provide a better service.
Dear guest and friend we hope you have a safe journey back to your home and remember this, now you have many friends in Costa Rica.
Thank you very much and God bless you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews