We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our group: 2 females (age: 25) & 2 parents (age: ~60)

Location: Great views of the Arenal Volcano (when not cloudy)

Food: Breakfast buffet and the Italian Restaurant for dinner both had very tasty food.

Rooms: A/C worked, clean, comfortable beds, nice design, some drinks included with your stay (in the mini fridge)

Pools: I've never been to a resort with such an assortment! There was a main cold pool, natural hot springs, a fresh water pool, and a jacuzzi - all with waterfall features, and all built with a nature design - rocks and plants all around (beautiful!). There were plenty of chairs and gazebos around the pools. The resort also had a towel/shower area by the pool, which was convenient.

Service: Staff (breakfast, Italian restaurant, front desk, shuttle/cart drivers, pool bar) were all great, except Ruth at the front desk (which is why this resort only gets a 4/5). Ruth was rude on several occasions and 2 of us had to ask multiple times for the same things (extra towel, a second room key, etc.) for her to actually help us - it was very disappointing to encounter an employee with such a disregard for the guests, who are paying good money, and such poor customer service.

Overall: Great resort (avoid Ruth), and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the Arenal Volcano area at a hotel with natural hot springs.

Recommendations: Think about adding a fitness center to your already stellar resort.

Room Tip: Room numbers in the 100's and 200's are closest to the pools and restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2015

Hi dear guest.
glad to see you had a nice holiday and that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, thank you very much for making us part of your experience in Costa Rica and thank you for choosing us, all comments from our guests are very important, because they help us grow and be better every day, so thank you very much for your comments, hope to see you back soon.
thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,101 - 1,107 of 2,618 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We booked this place on our second night in La Fortuna. The first night we stayed at a neighboring property that was really lackluster and had lied on its description in hotels.com. When we booked Arenal Springs Resort we called the property and asked if they had a free shuttle to pick us up from the other hotel. They said yes, within 15 minutes the hotel manager arrived and gave us a ride to the hotel...already they have gone above and beyond. We explained to the manager that we had heard good reviews about his hotel and we were excited to stay there especially after our bad experience. We arrived in the lobby and were welcomed with refreshing juice drinks. Already things were picking up.

We were taken to our hotel room 901 with a golf cart. The place is designed with multiple villa style hotel rooms. Our room was one of the few units on a second floor and afforded amazing unobstructed views of Arenal. It was gorgeous.

The rooms have functioning wifi. The hotel has a natural hot springs, so you don't need to pay an admission fee to a separate property. Better yet the hot springs has a swim up bar where you can order drinks and food from either the Sushi restaurant, Italian or Costa Rican restaurant. Brilliant! They also have free breakfast with an omelette station.

We were able to book a car through the concierge from Alamo and they delivered the car right to the front desk. We drove to Jaco beach (3.5 hours, but don't recommend going there unless you are a surfer). I wish we stayed another night at this hotel instead!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2015

Hi dear guest.
glad to see you had a nice holiday and that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, thank you very much for making us part of your experience in Costa Rica and thank you for choosing us, all comments from our guests are very important, because they help us grow and be better every day, so thank you very much for your comments, hope to see you back soon.
thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this resort again. We were greeted with a refreshing drink at check in and was taken by golf cart to our room with our luggage. That was a very nice touch considering we had just spend three hours on a bus traveling from the airport. My family enjoyed the breakfast buffet each day we were there. The fresh fruit tasted amazing and my husband really enjoyed the fresh omelettes. One of my favorite things was beautiful grounds filled with birds and lizards. Our room had a great view of the volcano. The beds were not very comfortable but we were so tired each night from our excursions that we slept great anyway. The pool with its swim up bar provided a nice opportunity to have some sushi and a drink while enjoying the hot spring pools. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great experience!!

Room Tip: Great view of the volcano from every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCB0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2015

Hi dear guest.
glad to see you had a nice holiday and that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, thank you very much for making us part of your experience in Costa Rica and thank you for choosing us, all comments from our guests are very important, because they help us grow and be better every day, so thank you very much for your comments, hope to see you back soon.
thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Every room has volcano view. The rooms are spacious, but not detached. The breakfast is really excellent, diner also, but expensive. If you are a birder: leave. A lot of swimming pools. Some are heated with water coming from the Arenal volcano.

Room Tip: the first row of rooms has the best view on the volcano. And the shortest walking distance to the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2015

Hi dear guest.
glad to see you had a nice holiday and that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, thank you very much for making us part of your experience in Costa Rica and thank you for choosing us, all comments from our guests are very important, because they help us grow and be better every day, so thank you very much for your comments, hope to see you back soon.
thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Arenal was a wonderful experience. Firstly the view of the volcano is absolutely spectacular! On most mornings we were able to sit outside and admire the wonderful view!
Food and service was great and the golf cars are very useful!
Overall were were very happy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2015

Hi dear guest.
glad to see you had a nice holiday and that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, thank you very much for making us part of your experience in Costa Rica and thank you for choosing us, all comments from our guests are very important, because they help us grow and be better every day, so thank you very much for your comments, hope to see you back soon.
thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed in on our honeymoon tour.
Arrived and easy check-in. Taken to our room via golf buggy and helped with our bags. Friendly staff and receptionists.
Our room/cabin was a short walk from the main hotel. A nice, clean, tidy room with two double beds, a TV, fridge and AC. The room looked out with a view of the Arenal Volcano, which was great. Free mini bar with soft drinks, water and beer (doesn't get refilled but good). Shower room with toiletries.
The rooms have key activated electrics so unless the room key is in the slot the AC is not on. But when you do turn it on the room cools quickly. This also means that the alarm clock in the room doesn't stay on and will switch itself off, so remember to set it again when you get back to your room at night if you need to be somewhere the next day!
Amazing pools at this hotel. There is one cold water, swimming pool but all the other pools/Jacuzzis are plumbed in to the volcanic hot springs that are indigenous to the area. It was fantastic to sit at the swim up bar in lovely warm water. Beautiful rockery and waterfalls. Nice plants and trees around the pools. There are 2 hot water pools (up to 40C) and one small children's pool. Then there is a cold water plunge pool (we never went in!) and a hot water Jacuzzi.
The hotel has a lot of plants around and there is a lot of wildlife. There are Koi carp in the ponds and tortoises. We saw lizards and we saw about 30 different types of birds flying around! It was really nice to wake up to birdsong in the mornings.
Bar staff were great. They made us an array of cocktails. We also had sushi at the pool bar one evening (good selection, tasted good) and bar snacks.
We ate in the hotel's main restaurant one evening. Not a very varied menu, so choice was a bit limited, but the food we had was nice enough. Nothing too memorable though. We ate in the Italian restaurant another night and that was really good. A great pizza and my new husband had a nice pasta dish.
Breakfast is buffet style with a good selection. Hot and cold choices, and you can have an omelette made according to your liking.
We had a couple's massage in the hotel spa. It was quite pricey but the spa was a lovely building in a zen garden style. Very relaxing. We had our massage in a nice cabin and it was a good massage.
We were here during the quiet season and it was great! Not too many people in the hotel. Not too long a wait for a table at dinner or cocktails at the pool bar. Really relaxing and enjoyable.
All the staff were lovely and very helpful.
The only problem we had was that while checking out the hotel receptionist said that my card had not gone through and asked me to do it again. Again the receptionist said it hadn't gone through. I had to call my bank and my bank told me I had been charged twice. So instead of just cancelling one of the transactions, the hotel cancelled them both and charged me again! Not sure why they did this. But it took a very long time and the driver of our connecting bus was getting quite annoyed with the delay.
Otherwise, a lovely place to start our honeymoon. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KT3821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2015

Hello Dear guest.
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to spend your vacation in Costa Rica, we hope that all your experiences was magnificent and satisfying.
All the staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs we hope see you back very soon and we will have a chance to serve you again, we love to read your comments which are very important and helps us improve each day to provide a better service.
Dear guest and friend we hope that you have a safe journey back to your home and remember this, now you have many friends in Costa Rica.
Thank you very much and God bless you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel was really beautiful...the grounds and the vegetation were so pretty. Every room has a view of the volcano which is awesome and the pool bar/sushi bar were great, although over priced. We found the staff to be very nice and the location was great as it was only a 10 min drive or so to the center of town.

The only downside was that the restaurants were way over priced. Also, all the restaurants and bars close at 10pm. Other than that, we had a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azadeh r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2015

Hello Dear guest.
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to spend your vacation in Costa Rica, we hope that all your experiences was magnificent and satisfying.
All the staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs we hope see you back very soon and we will have a chance to serve you again, we love to read your comments which are very important and helps us improve each day to provide a better service.
Dear guest and friend we hope that you have a safe journey back to your home and remember this, now you have many friends in Costa Rica.
Thank you very much and God bless you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,407 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#25 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
909 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £108 - £599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing