We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, hot springs, but terrible pizza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, hot springs, but terrible pizza”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This resort reminded me of a small village the way the rooms (two with a shared wall) were set up on North/South and East/West streets within the resort. Beautiful hot springs area and nice setting; was able to see Arenal Volcano from my room. Like the rocking chairs outside the room. Was not happy with the "casual" Italian restaurant. Had the worst pizza of my life there (Ok, I'm originally from Chicago, but believe me it was bad). The entire pizza was covered in oil which made this think crust saggy and soaked. When I took half in a box for lunch the next day, the bottom layer quickly absorbed the oil from the top layer. Know that this resort (and others up the hill) are isolated from the town so you either need to bring your own food (good that there's a mini fridge in the room) or eat at one of their two pricey restaurants. The breakfast was fantastic. Allow enough time and don't rush through this; also beautiful views.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk a long way to breakfast or the spa, choose a room that is in the 400s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveToTravel155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Love To travel155 hello, thank you very much for visiting us and thanks for hecernos know about your problem in the area of our Italian restaurant, thanks to your comments we see in which areas we need to improve and always attentive to every detail, we hope to see you soon and back to surprise you with the best pizza in the world.
graces and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,464
    731
    137
    24
    11
See reviews for
751
1,089
39
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

What a stunning location. Again as a solo traveller you expect the dingy room in the back. What an exception to the rule.
My room was stunning- a suite. The bathroom was amazing with a small garden overhanging the shower area that could fit four in easily. Beautifully tiled and lit magnificently. I could have spent my whole vacation at this hotel. I had a lovely seated area outside as well.
My room was 700 and something and was some ways from reception. I did not mind the walk as it was a pleasure to stretch my legs.
The restaurant at night was pricey but breakfast which was included in my package was fabulous. Great facilities with quirky signs all over. Good little shop in reception as well that sold everything from nail varnish remover to sweets, local souvenirs, canned drinks, swimwear etc.
The view of the Arenal mountain was out of this world and The Tabacon Hot Springs is a must. It is a man made facility with various sizes of waterfalls that you can bathe in. Dinner which is included in the trip is a must and offers fabulous value for your money. Again buffet style with tons and tons of choice. Those with a hearty appetite will love the fact that you can eat as much as you can.
Stunning hotel, fabulous pool and swim up bar. Great restaurant even though its very expensive.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 888Joanne888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
888Joanne888 hello, thank you very much for choosing us and for your lovely comments, we are pleased to see that you had a nice experiance and stayed satisfied, hope to see you back soon and be able to assist you as you deserve, thank you very much and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here for our first 3 days in Costa Rica and wow what a great place. the rooms feel like villas with high ceilings, wood beams etc.... we were in room 109 and it was great. we walked right out our door and was close to everything.

this side of the country definitely practices going Green. They are truly into "PURA VIDA" which means Pure Life. everyone recycles, they conserve and are very much into the environment here. they give you 1 room key which you have to place into a slot once you open your door. this will activate the power in your room. How many people in the world go into hotel rooms, leave the room and leave the lights on and waste electricity??? when you leave you have to take your key out and it shuts off the power like within 2 minutes. Great Idea.

Very rainy on this side of the country. We never got to see the volcano as it was always cloudy and the ceiling was low but this didn't affect us too much.

ALL the staff here are so friendly. They go out of their way for you to enjoy yourself and help you. They really appreciate Tourism and they want to make more Americans aware of their country so they really go all out.

Pool is so nice as it is warmed by actual hot springs from the volcano, and has a bar in it that you swim up to.

This place is very Theraputic. Lots of adventures you can do and coordinate from here. You need to keep busy every day with a tour or something as there is no night life here. It gets Dark around 6:30 and we were in bed by 8:00. So you are not just going to hang out at the resort here as there is really nothing to do and there was no sun due to cloudy and rainy, but do your tours and then this is a great place to come back to. Food is ok. Nothing outstanding but not bad.

This side of Costa Rica is more for adventures and enjoying nature and if you want to hang out in the sun then you need to go to other side. Our travel agency Pacific Trade Winds did a great job with having us here 3 days then 5 days on West side where it is dry and hot.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great. I liked ours facing the pool. others face the volcano but since i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
brian s hello, thank you very much for your nice comments and thanks also to see our efforts to make this eco-friendly hotel, we have many projects as a bio digester where we clean all waste water, also we have a hydroponic farm where we collect all vegetables and spices we use in our restaurants, we have an area where recliclaje recover about 95% of everything we collect.
thank you very much for choosing us and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The place is beautiful. The rooms are clean and nice. The staff are friendly most of the time but can be a bit indifferent sometimes. The beds are hard as rock! Ouch....ran into the manager by chance half way through the visit. Talked about the hotel and mentioned the beds. He said they were upgrading the beds. Said he would take care of it. I thought this was BS. Next day I had a nice, soft, memory foam top on my mattress. Kudo's to management. If don't like hard mattresses then ask for it at the beginning of your stay.

Room Tip: If you like soft beds then make sure you ask for one that has the converted beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank analyze_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
hello analyze_SA, thank you very much for your comments and thanks for helping us to improve every day more and more, we want you to know that the mission of this hotel is to provide not only a room, is to feel our guests really are in a home, so we are always willing to listen to our guests and meet their needs.
thank you very much for choosing us and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was part of our Costa Rican tour and this hotel stop was really nice.
After a long day of tours and bus ride, we arrived to one person handing warm towels to refresh and another with a cold drink-- all on the way to check in.
Our 'room' was a villa with a porch and rockers overlooking the volcano.
The pools were great as they were tiered with hot springs and the top, warm in the mid pool and cool, regular pool with a swim up tiki bar. (and a big tv).
Being very eco the shower actually had the real wall that had plants on a shelf but the wall was not connected to the roof. Instead the rain water ran down to water the plants.

Overall, very cool.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Mike R hello, thank you very much for giving us your comments and we are pleased to see that you all had a wonderful experience here at our hotel.
hope to see you back soon and give greetings to your family from us, thank you very much and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLEARWATER
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were visiting Arenal volcano and stayed here just one night, but what a beautiful night and experience it was! The pool area is amazing, with a swim up bar in the middle and friendly and attentive barstaff. The hot springs area makes for a very relaxing swim or soak. The rooms are spacious and high-ceilinged, creating a feeling of openness. The bath area is really neat, elevated three steps above the bathroom - modern and efficient. We loved the free breakfast as well, and would definitely come back again! PS - we even had a slow leak in our rental car tire, and the staff showed up with a generator to take care of it!

Room Tip: We were in 901 and 902, all the way in the back, and were able to be far enough back that we saw lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Mary M hello, thank you very much for your comments and we are pleased to see that you all had a wonderful experience here at our hotel.
expect on your next visit you can stay longer here with us and hope to see you back soon and please give them greetings to your family from us, thank you very much and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

overall the place was nice, especially after a few days in a very basic vacation rental. The breakfast was good, and the best part was the egg/omelet station and never ending coffee.

Our only issue with the place was the king size bed was very hard...my wife slept great but i did not...personal preference for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pweddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for visiting us and thank you for sharing your comments, blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,825 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing