We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Excellent Views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 February 2009

My husband and I lucked out on this place. Without any knowledge at all, we booked here on a last minute change of plans, and couldn't have been happier. Each room has an excellent view of the volcano, is eco-friendly, comfortable, beautiful and all at a great rate! It reminded me of a place in Florida where my granparents spent summers golfing, so it seemed more family/retirement-like to me.

The breakfast was complimentary, and was a buffet. Very delicious! But talk about a cattle call...it seemed like everyone was there at 7am to eat and then run to catch their tour bus for the day. We took our time, and by the time we left, the place was empty. It was great. There was a swimming pool, but it was without water which seemed odd to us.

Very worth the value too. Very clean, comfortable and well worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cricket0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,901 - 1,907 of 2,486 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2009

This was the first stop for our honeymoon in CR this past week. We had booked a larger room with a single Queen size bed but when we arrived, they brought us to a smaller room with two full size beds. Not a big deal, but they could have told us beforehand. After we asked about it, they told us they didn't have any more rooms, would look into it and apologized but we never heard from them again for the remainder of our 3 night stay. The views are very nice - but it rained, err..POURED 2 of the 3 days there - which ruined one day where we went horseback riding through pools of muddy rainforest water. The breakfast buffet was surprisingly good and the La Fortuna town was a bit dirty and grimy but had great food, friendly locals, and tons of souvenir shops if you're patient enough to search for deals.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveFromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Arenal Springs has impressive grounds and the rooms we had was incredibly big for $125 (including tax & free breakfast). However, try to get your meals and have your own snacks otherwise you will get gouged for all you are worth. The beds were nice and comfortable but the walls are thin. I could here the people on the other side of our suite watching TV and talking.

As late and heavy sleepers we didn't have any problem. I was surprised that they wanted the little key card wallet but Yes, they do expect to collect it back. The shower was interesting because it has a plant wall that gets watered by an intentionally drippy roof section in the bathroom. That was an interesting room feature.

We only stayed in La Fortuna 1 night. The room would have had excellent views of the Arenal Volcano but when we stayed there the volcano was shrouded in clouds (common) and then the following day it was raining heavily.

The resort is a 15 minute cab ride to the waterfalls ($10, a worthwhile excursion) and the central town of La Fortuna. La Fortuna itself is also more expensive for meals and cabs than Jaco or Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank happyboredom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your comments and thank you for staying at our hotel, we were glad to read that you held a wonderful vacation and enjoyed everything here in Costa Rica, we hope to see you back soon to serve you in the best way possible.
On behalf of all staff working at Hotel Arenal Springs thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

The title says it all: this place stank. In our room in was like a wet towel was left under the bed for a week. We complained as soon as the door was opened and the guy who showed us our room said it would clear up once the air was turned on. It didn't. Every time we opened the door to our room we were struck with the mildew/stale smell. Gross.

It rained during one of the days that we were there and since the bathroom has a crack in it to let in the water for the plants we also had tons of very tiny ants all over our bathroom floor. I really did not get a clean feeling from the place, even the sheets felt off. It makes me wonder how the word resort can be used in the title of the hotel ... I suppose it gives them a good reason to stick a plastic bracelet on you for the entire time you are there ...

We sat down for lunch, took a look at the menu and immediately got back up. All of the food is extremely Americanized and overpriced ... I did not come to Costa Rica for fettichini alfredo!

The view of the volcano is really nice and so is the included breakfast buffet. I wish I had better things to say about the experience. We will not be back.

*Side note, check out the waterfall in La Fortuna - it is beautiful! Also Sky Trek was an amazing zip line experience!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fab_Ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

hi dear guest Fab_Ham.
We are very sorry you had a bad experience in our hotel, but now after so long we would love to see you again and so you can see all differences and improvements we have built, thanks to your comments and recommendations.
thanks and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

We called the springs hotel and wanted to book our stay for the next day. even though this was last minute, we were told we must book through their website. We thought this was very odd and expressed our conserned to no avail. We MUST make the reservation through the website they insisted. So we did. Upon arrival, they did not have our reservation... but luckily they had a room for us. The staff was friendly, helpful, the rooms were great, clean, everything worked. Great view of the volcano. Great value.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank potion18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

Hi potion 18
thank you very much for sharing your comments and for staying at our hotel, we are glad to read you had a nice holiday and that you enjoyed your stay here at our hotel, we hope to see you back and serve you in the best way.
On behalf of all staff working Arenal Springs Hotel, thank you very much and blessings.
PURA VIDA.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

This was my second stay at this resort. I was here Nov. 2006 with a tour group for 2 nights and loved it so much, I returned for 8 nights with 2 friends. I found out it rains year round near the volcano, so 4 nights would have been fine and then 4 more nights on the Pacific Coast. The breakfast buffet is good, but lunch & dinner are very expensive (chicken & rice for $15 was the cheapest item). It's a $8 one way taxi ride into town, so you're kind of trapped at the resort. There are many hot springs nearby, Sky Trek (the best zip line!), Hanging Bridges, Rapelling, and Cano Negro River trip are all worth the money. I enjoyed the volcano mud massage. The bird watching and tropical landscaping on the grounds are great! They were paving the road right outside our room the last 4 days which was very noisy so that I had to leave the room. I'm not sure why they gave us that room knowing we were there 8 days. The staff was very friendly, especially Selim and Edward who book your tours. The volcano is much less active than in 2006 so you can no longer see the lava flow at night. You have to take a $10 taxi around to the other side to see a tiny glow. Overall, the hotel is really geared to the large tour groups that roll in nightly.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank blueskylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2016

Dear guest thank you very much for choosing us for your holiday and thank you for taking your important time to write your valuable comments.
hope to see you back soon.
thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2008

This was our least favorite hotel of the 6 we stayed in during our 2-week CR trip. The hotel was OK, and some aspects were quite good, but somehow things just didn't seem to be put together as well as they could have been.

The view of Arenal was exceptional, the room was comfortable, landscaping was attractive, and the breakfast selection was good. There is no road noise, since Arenal Springs is located 1/2 mile from the main highway.

Some of the negatives may have to do with what appears to be a fairly recent expansion, which may have been done so the property can accommodate large tour bus groups. Things that were sub-par included poorly constructed paving and curbs (there was rusted re-bar sticking out of the concrete!), a pool that was much too small for the number of rooms, staff that seemed to be looking for tips (such as the waiter we overheard who told a guest that tips were not added to the bill -- there's a 10% service charge added), lack of a lunch menu at the restaurant with lighter items, and unhelpful front desk staff.

The most irritating thing we encountered was -- THE ATTACK OF THE WEEDWHACKERS! Our first morning there we decided to just sit outside our room, relax, and take in the magnificent view of Arenal. After 5 minutes, a team of men with gas-powered weedwhackers appeared. We figured that they would trim the edges of the lawn, and then move on -- no problem, a short inconvenience. Wrong. They fired up the weedwhackers, and proceeded to mow the grass with them! Slowly, loudly, fumes filling the air -- for the entire morning. No help from the front desk staff.

Arenal Springs Resort is adequate for a brief stay. With better management and attention to detail, it could be very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JJ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2016

Dear guest thank you very much for choosing us for your holiday and thank you for taking your important time to write your valuable comments.
hope to see you back soon.
thank you very much and blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,323 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,337 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £97 - £571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing