We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel with Good Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel with Good Views”
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Very nice hotel, lovely view with big windows facing the volcano.
Smallish pool for the size of the hotel
Decent resaturant.
Neg on the price if off peak.
Can get better locations for a closer view but a nice hotel for the price.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyMasca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,448
    725
    136
    24
    11
See reviews for
741
1,082
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We started our trip to Costa Rica at this resort and were very pleased. The view from our room was incredible and the service wonderful. We used it as base camp for our day adventures and liked being able to come back and relax around the pool (especially the swim-up bar!). The spa is under utilized, probably becasue the prices for that are way above average for the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnestCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We were truly impressed with the resort and hotel staff. We needed to alter our reservation and Miguel and his staff worked hard to meet our changes... After we departed and arrived in San Jose, we realized we'd left our cell phone in the room. We called the hotel and they arranged to have it delivered the next day....as they had scheduled a business trip to the Capital. Unbelievable! And, it saved us about a 9 hour round-trip drive.

The Arenal area is beautiful and we needed more time to sightsee than we'd planned. Next year! And winter is the best time to visit!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyroyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B'ville
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Hotel Arenal Springs was one of the highlights of our trip to Costa Rica. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the suites comfortable. I loved that after a long sweaty drive we arrived to friendly staff (the place is very secure though, the guard checked our names off on a list) who gave us these amazing fruit drinks even before we checked in. The staff was really great, from the guard, to the waiters to the maintenance guys. I would love to go back there sometime, and I've already recommended the place to friends. We loved the shower in the suite - live plants growing in the wall. Very back to nature but with air conditioning and comfortable beds. I've got more photos and description at www.thisnomad.wordpress.com

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklekimby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We stayed at the Arenal Springs Resort for two nights. We had side-by-side rooms for my wife and me and two daughters. The rooms were fantastic and the views of the Arenal Volcano were spectacular. We did not spend too much time at the resort since there was so much to do in the area - hiking at Arenal, Hanging Bridges, tipico lunch (Soda Tipico) in La Fortuna. Breakfast at Arenal Springs is buffet style and very good. The wait staff is very friendly and more than patient when helping you to dust off your high school Spanish (Gracias Rodrigo - Pura Vida). The grounds are beautiful, with colorful, lush plants and colorful birds all around.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geo-Paddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Arenal Springs for two days of our vacation. We wish we could have stayed longer. The grounds were gorgeous. Always clean and fresh. Our room was stunning, along with the views of the volcano. The food and service were great. Our spanish is minimal, but the staff was great at helping us learn their language! We did 2 tours while there and the hotel team was very helpful when we were waiting for our shuttle. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and can not wait to go back ourselves!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgaray14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anoka, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We travel a lot, but Costa Rica and Arenal Springs certainly top our list of vacation spots. As soon as we left, we were longing to be back. Travel in Costa Rica can be difficult, so we recommend utilizing the Interbus system, which is very timely. Once we reached Arenal Springs, we had nothing to worry about. We were greeted with a drink. The concierge took care of all our reservations (horseback riding, zip lining, whitewater rafting, massage, taxis, etc) and was very helpful with restaurant recommendations. Our room was beautiful and spacious with an amazing view of the volcano. We were fortunate to have blue skies for our entire stay which added to the serenity of Arenal Springs. The restaurant staff on site were very friendly and the food was delicious. A bit expensive, but, for us, worth it.
The only thing we would do differently next time is perhaps use a different zip line location. While the one we went to was very close by , had friendly staff and offered several lines, it did not have the 'wow' factor we were looking for. I'd say very safe for kids, but no flying over deep gorges or grasping the true depths from which you are zipping across. Still an enjoyable experience, though.
Thank you Arenal Springs!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadablastor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing