We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Family, Adults or Anyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Family, Adults or Anyone”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

My wife and i, two teenage sons and father-in-law stayed for 5 nights the last week of June. All accomodations are attached villas that face the volcano, which is an incredible sight to wake up to. Rooms are clean and beds are great. Incredible breakfast..and its free! We ate dinner in the hotel 2 nights and the food was good (great values for mid $ teens, though they have more expensive items in the $20's). Swim up bar is good and they dont gouge you on prices. Staff is very friendly and concierges were great in making reservations and giving directions. You could pay more elsewhere, but dont...go here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spinalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,462
    731
    137
    24
    11
See reviews for
751
1,087
39
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Managua
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The hotel is located in a good area, close to everything, the town, tourist attractions, etc the grounds are very nice and the view to Arenal Volcano just amazing, but employees still need to better the level of service..I feel the rooms needs upgrading and rooms are way too small for a family of 5.. one single bathroom and little walking space in the room are a big no no for my next stay in town..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeroManagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Our stay at Arenal Springs was booked for us by a tour company, and we were pleasantly surprised by how lovely it was. Upon arrival we were greated by a friendly receptionist who informed us that they made the best Pina Coladas known to man... while waiting for a taxi we found out this was true.

Our room was a very private half cabin with a great view of the grounds and volcano (every room is set up to have a great volcano view). The landscaping was well kept and apparently approved of by the hummingbirds that frequented the flora, zipping from one area to the next.

Don't expect to see lava flowing down the volcano, however, as this hotel (and all others in the area) is located on the non-flowing side. Even when the volcano erupts there is no grand lava flow as may be seen in pictures, instead cloud like fumeroles can be seen as well as the infrequent boulder spills. Eruptions at night look more like one would expect from a volcano but still don't expect liquid lava... just the occasional glowing red rock. Also, though we had good volcano views during our stay, we were informed that cloud covers most of it but for 75 days a year.

The hotels restaurant was well adorned and well staffed, however we much prefered the food in the town of La Fortuna. Do yourself a favor, and go into town for dinner but get a drink at the bar... they reall make the best tropical drinks I've ever had.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRanBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamitos
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Of the three areas we stayed in Costa Rica (the other two being Monteverde and Guanacaste), we enjoyed Arenal the best. We loved the impressive view of the volcano, the open-air restaurant, the beautiful grounds (including the butterfly farm), and the politeness and helpfulness of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victorLosAlamitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly. Our room was great. They could probably update the bedspread as they seemed a little old and worn but they were clean. Bed was okay but hated the pillows. Just my preference, as husband thought they were okay. The shower is really amazing. The view out the front window is fantastic. You could hear the volcano rumble every 30-60 minutes, followed by a plume of smoke coming out the top. I was lying awake in bed one of the nights and heard a fairly long rumble so I jumped out of bed and actually saw the reddish-orange glow of lava for a minute or so at the top. I wish I had had my camera ready. My daughter and I enjoyed a mud massage/facial rejuv at the spa. During our spa treatment, we had a huge thunder storm roll through except for a few really close lightening strikes, we had the perfect natural rainforest/ rainfall nature sounds available. The grounds of the resort are amazing. I took pictures of at least 25-30 different flowers just walking from our room to the restaurant/pool area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_A_R021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

The rooms are more like cottages with big picture window views of the volcano and rocking chairs on the front patio also facing the volcano. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and well-kept. Great breakfast with custom made omelets. Most impressive was the friendly and helpful staff. They found a credit card in the room and contacted me before I realized I lost it there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We recently had our wedding reception hosted at the Hotel Arenal Springs and the staff were nothing short of fantastic. At 100+ guests (we live in CR), this was quite a bit larger than the typical "destination wedding", and everyone came through and made it an amazing experience (Miguel was a tremendous help every step of the way). A number of the guests told me the food was the best they have had at any catered event.

Additionally, the hotel has a great view of the volcano (half lava-side, half green-side), and the hotel property is beautiful. There is a lot of open, green space, and the plant arrangements outside each room create a feeling of immersion in La Fortuna's natural beauty. Our guests who spent a night or two at the hotel were very happy with the accommodations. The occasional booms from the top of Arenal spiced up the experience even more.

Let me add this: the towering, concrete, over-priced resorts cannot begin to compete with the genuine quality of the Arenal Springs.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdetrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,822 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,236 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing