We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”
Review of Arenal Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenal Green Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great getaway”
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Blown away with the friendliness of this family run hotel. Monica, who ran the front-desk and daughter to the owners, was so sweet and patient. She booked Baldi Hot Springs, did our laundry for a nominal fee, called taxis and was beyond kind. The first night there we went to eat at the restaurant (fantastic food!) but they had already closed and Herman, the owner, offered to take us into town to a restaurant. He took us to this little restaurant that was not only super tasty, very pleasant but rather affordable for what we all ate! At every turn the family went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The last day there they booked a tour at Ecocentro Danaus and provided transportation (for a nominal fee) - loved the tour! We were able to transport some newly hatched butterflies into the garden! There are some really nice looking cabin across the street that we were tempted by due to the price difference but when the heat and humidity came up we were SO, SO glad for the air conditioning.

  • Liked — staff and hot water
  • Disliked — more storage needed
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tludare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    115
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
97
229
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakton< VA
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2009

These are clean, small cabins with everything you need. We had 2 adults and 2 children in the cabin. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location was very convenient for visiting La Fortuna, the waterfalls and Mundo Aventura. Considering how much less expensive this was than other similar hotels, it was definitely worth it.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, convenience, and good value.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smc2cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

This is a great place to stay. The cabins are cute, clean and comfy. The owner was super friendly. The front desk staff spoke English and helped us plan several excursions. The landscaping was very nice. The view of the volcano was not superb but it was there. The hotel is a little ways out of town so it is nice and quiet. Really good value for your money!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharCharBinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2009

We stayed our first 2 nights in Costa Rica at Arenal Green. At the end of our drive from San Jose, the short trip up the dirt road to the hotel was a bit of a surprise, but we were soon to learn that dirt road adventures are a big part of most trips to Costa Rica.

We were greeted by Monique when we arrived. She politely tolerated my attempt to do our business in Spanish, but thankfully jumped in with English when we reached the limit of my spanish vocabulary.

We were lucky to be the 2nd guests to use the newly-built cabin on the other side of the creek. What a treat! It's on the "farm" side of the property, so you'll get to know Bobby the dog and a horse whose name i can't remember. Rather than having a kichenette in the room like the other cabins, #7 has a large covered patio adjoining the cabin. The patio has a bathroom, regular-size kitchen, a large counter like a bar, a hammock, and several picnic tables. It would be perfect for a large group hangout or a community meal. For us (just our family), just a few comfortable chairs would have been perfect.

Be sure to stay for the breakfast. This was our first "tipico" breakfast, and it was the best of our trip. Beans, rice, queso blanco, scambled eggs, and fried plantains.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, large room, great breakfast, close to La Fortunal waterfal
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NoCalBrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2008

These cabinas were small, but quaint. When we vacation, we just need a quiet, comfortable place to sleep at night. This hotel provided just that. It is located ~5km outside of town, so it is very quiet at night and convenient for town. The rooms have A/C but you don't need them at night. The cabina had some wooden shutters that were open to the outside night that allowed the amazing night sounds to enter. These night sounds make for some excellent sleep!! It rained most nights we were there as well which was very relaxing!!

It is basically a one room cabin that has a double bed, microfridge, microwave, and sink. It has a full bathroom with hot water and a nice, spacious shower. There is a small front porch on the cabins that is great to sit and eat breakfast or read a book. There is a gravel parking lot and 20 meters to front desk where they can help you arrange tours or give advice. They also let you use their internet for free.

It costs us $65 per night in Dec. 2008. They serve breakfast for $7 per person. I would recommend going into town and eating as this was a little expensive for breakfast.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is family owned, so they live on the premise behind the property. Monica and Herman were very accomadating and cleaned our room each day.

  • Liked — The price, location, and quiet. Covenient 2 mile drive to town
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer :( Volcano was hidden behind clouds when we were there.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ASK_aTmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

Hotel Arenal Green is located on the road to La Fortuna waterfall. The rooms are cabins that are very clean and simple. Our room had a small kitchenette area with a refrigerator, sink and coffee pot. (Note to staff - a sample of coffee with the pot would have been nice.) Water was hot, bed was comfy. No TV or phone in our room. A nice little porch to sit and chill on.

You can see Arenal volcano from the road and entrance to the hotel, but we couldn't see it from our porch, just because of the location of the cabin. At the time we visited, there was some construction going on at the property, so I think they placed us in the cabin farthest away from the work. Those were the quietest construction workers, I barely heard a peep out of any of them. The best time to see the volcano was in the morning around sunrise, because clouds have not gathered around the top yet.

I made the reservations online thru the hotel's web site. Monica, the hotel owner's daughter, was working at the front desk. She was so cute and friendly and very helpful with booking excursions. She arranged a trip to Baldi Hot Springs the first evening we were there, and a volcano hike and dinner at EcoTermales the next night. On the third morning, I woke up ill. She allowed my husband to use the phone to re-arrange our zip line tour for the next day. When it was time to leave, her dad mapped out the way to Manuel Antonio for us. It is a family business, and her brother was working at the hotel as well, managing the construction. Everyone was so very kind and patient.

You are encouraged to recycle bottles, bags, etc. If you want a safe, you use the one at the front desk. Breakfast was not included in the price, but could be ordered.

From the hotel, you can walk to La Fortuna waterfall, it is about a 20 minute walk, and the path is used by farmers moving cows and by horse back riding tours, so watch your step. The waterfall park is open until 4pm, and there is a small admission fee. The road to the hotel is bumpy, but not too bad by Costa Rican standards. To drive to town center was about a 10-15 minute ride.

There are other cabin style accommodations on the road, but you can't beat the service and hospitality at Hotel Arenal Green.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pokergirlcayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, CA
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2008

This was by far the best place in La Fortuna to stay at. The cabins were very cute and clean. They had a little kitchenette which allowed for us to eat a little cheaper when we started running out of money. We went down to the supermarket and bought groceries and were able to refigerate and microwave our food and our leftovers! The cabins also featured a really big bathroom and I loved the shower. The views of the volcano were AMAZING! I couldn't have asked for better!! If you are looking for very friendly, helpful and professional hotel staff, Arenal Green is where you want to go. The family that runs this hotel is super nice and helped us with just about everything, from calling us taxis, to recommending restaurants, to helping us get our luggage, to setting up tours, to helping us rent a car. I was definetly happy with everything from this hotel and I was sad to leave!

  • Liked — Everything was amazing!!
  • Disliked — There was not one thing that we did not absolutely LOVE!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aashby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,487 reviews
3.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,851 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
564 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Green Hotel

Property: Arenal Green Hotel
Address: | 1 km west of the entrance to Rio Fortuna Waterfall, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Green Hotel offers a unique experience and a personal touch to your individual needs as our guest. There are six modern, air conditioned cabins and one villa which are constructed from native wood. Even with the individual cabins, there is a feeling of family and a bed and breakfast environment. We offer a peaceful, friendly and intimate atmosphere for our guests from afar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Arenal Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Green Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing