We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cabins, not a hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arenal Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arenal Green Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Cabins, not a hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

Don't let the name fool you - these are around half a dozen individual cabins. They are a short, bumpy 1km outside of Fortuna. They appear recently built are fairly clean and are a decent size with hot showers. They are nice cabins and we would have probably had a better experience there had the weather been nicer. It was cold and rainy and the four windows we had did not close - they were open air with screens and thin curtains. We asked for extra blankets, but I am cold blooded and both nights we stayed there were not comfortable - the beds are hard and the two blankets just weren't enough. I'm giving it a 4 because for $50 a night I think it is a good value and if the weather was better it would have been fine. Most hotels, cabins, etc. in Costa Rica prefer cash and give you a discount for paying cash as the credit card fees for them are high. They requested cash here.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    114
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
95
223
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

Quiet location a couple of miles from the center of town. Having a car helpful.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgtravles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque, nm
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2009

If you're visiting Arenal volcano, you must stay at Arenal Green! The prices are great compared to many other hotels in the area and the location and staff is amazing. We had originally planned to stay at Arenal Green for 3 nights and at another hotel for 2 days. After our time here at Arenal Green, we actually decided to cancel our other hotel reservations and stay here instead. The grounds and cabins are incredibly clean and beautiful, very simple and everything you need. The location is nice because it is out of La Fortuna, but only a short walk (20-25min) to town and the La Fortuna waterfall. There are also many great hikes nearby. If you book tours and other activities through the Arenal Green, you can save quite a bit of money as well, even compared to other hotels in the area (white water rafting was amazing). The hotel has a nice restaurant with fresh, delicious food and great prices. We cannot say enough about the family that owns and runs this hotel... they are very gracious, hospitable, and generous people and will do anything you need to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable (they speak great English too!). When we come back to Arenal, we are definitely staying here again!

Thank you, German and family, we had a wonderful experience here:)

Pura Vida,
B & J
February 15, 2009

  • Liked — Great family run, small, clean cabinas.
  • Disliked — Everything was great. There was nothing we did not like.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gregoire6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2009

Blown away with the friendliness of this family run hotel. Monica, who ran the front-desk and daughter to the owners, was so sweet and patient. She booked Baldi Hot Springs, did our laundry for a nominal fee, called taxis and was beyond kind. The first night there we went to eat at the restaurant (fantastic food!) but they had already closed and Herman, the owner, offered to take us into town to a restaurant. He took us to this little restaurant that was not only super tasty, very pleasant but rather affordable for what we all ate! At every turn the family went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The last day there they booked a tour at Ecocentro Danaus and provided transportation (for a nominal fee) - loved the tour! We were able to transport some newly hatched butterflies into the garden! There are some really nice looking cabin across the street that we were tempted by due to the price difference but when the heat and humidity came up we were SO, SO glad for the air conditioning.

  • Liked — staff and hot water
  • Disliked — more storage needed
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tludare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakton< VA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

These are clean, small cabins with everything you need. We had 2 adults and 2 children in the cabin. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location was very convenient for visiting La Fortuna, the waterfalls and Mundo Aventura. Considering how much less expensive this was than other similar hotels, it was definitely worth it.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, convenience, and good value.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smc2cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

This is a great place to stay. The cabins are cute, clean and comfy. The owner was super friendly. The front desk staff spoke English and helped us plan several excursions. The landscaping was very nice. The view of the volcano was not superb but it was there. The hotel is a little ways out of town so it is nice and quiet. Really good value for your money!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharCharBinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2009

We stayed our first 2 nights in Costa Rica at Arenal Green. At the end of our drive from San Jose, the short trip up the dirt road to the hotel was a bit of a surprise, but we were soon to learn that dirt road adventures are a big part of most trips to Costa Rica.

We were greeted by Monique when we arrived. She politely tolerated my attempt to do our business in Spanish, but thankfully jumped in with English when we reached the limit of my spanish vocabulary.

We were lucky to be the 2nd guests to use the newly-built cabin on the other side of the creek. What a treat! It's on the "farm" side of the property, so you'll get to know Bobby the dog and a horse whose name i can't remember. Rather than having a kichenette in the room like the other cabins, #7 has a large covered patio adjoining the cabin. The patio has a bathroom, regular-size kitchen, a large counter like a bar, a hammock, and several picnic tables. It would be perfect for a large group hangout or a community meal. For us (just our family), just a few comfortable chairs would have been perfect.

Be sure to stay for the breakfast. This was our first "tipico" breakfast, and it was the best of our trip. Beans, rice, queso blanco, scambled eggs, and fried plantains.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, large room, great breakfast, close to La Fortunal waterfal
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NoCalBrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
3.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bijagua
Hotel Bijagua
#1 of 42 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Green Hotel

Property: Arenal Green Hotel
Address: | 1 km west of the entrance to Rio Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Green Hotel offers a unique experience and a personal touch to your individual needs as our guest. There are six modern, air conditioned cabins and one villa which are constructed from native wood. Even with the individual cabins, there is a feeling of family and a bed and breakfast environment. We offer a peaceful, friendly and intimate atmosphere for our guests from afar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Green Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing