We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating and friendly”
Review of Hotel Monte Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Monte Real
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2011

This was a last minute option since AOL didn't honor the reservations I had made. It ended up being a blessing that this place was able to accommodate us and we ended up staying three nights. The owner along with his wife and sons were very friendly and helpful, advising us on the various tours and even random things like figuring out how my mom's camera worked. The rooms were a nice size, cable TV and towel animals. The location was great, nearby to the town square and the local "sodas" to eat. Even so, their backyard had was next to the river so got to see birds in the trees. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmusgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2011

All I can say is this place is wonderful. The hotel is family run, with the owner and his sons always being behind the front desk to ensure your stay is just right. The hotel is located near town, but far enough away to be quiet to ensure a great nights sleep. It is located on a large grounds that is well kept with a wonder garden and pool area. The owner is more than helpful with helping to arrange travel, taxis, and tours. The stay comes with breakfast that is served a block away at a little costa rican Soda. You just can't beat the price, quality, and authentic costa rican experience. Will stay there again the next time I am in arenal.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sprChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

My husband and I checked in here without reservations, and were told there were only premium rooms left (I doubt this, as the hotel seemed quite empty). After seeing the room, we decided it was worth the splurge for the amazing views the room offered. We could sit on the balcony with a direct view to the volcano, and also watch many beautiful birds. We were also lucky to see a sloth close up, right on the property.

The pool looked nice and clean, but we didn't get a chance to use it during our stay. The rooms were clean, though there was some noise that came from trucks that liked to use their engine retarder brakes right outside the hotel.

The breakfast was delicious, and very substantial, though you do have to walk a block or 2 to get it. The front desk staff was always helpful, and booked some tours and transport for us. We would definately stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarissaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Been here with family for three nights. nice rooms with good view on olano, if not clouded. Very clean and beautiful folded towels on the bed (elephant, swans), which the children liked.

Broadcast is fine, but you have to walk down the street, which is not a problem recept when training.

very nice people at the reception as well. Will defenitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maro67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed there with our son, 3 1/2. The place was super clean, and very well maintained. It is a simple place, not a 5 star resort. The pool was great for my son, it had a little shallow area perfect for him. The rooms were spotless and well kept. The beds were soft and worn, but OK. We got what we expected.

The staff (looks like family owned and run) were great, very helpful. Fortuna is a wonderful place, and the hotel was great; allowing us to get out and see the sites and cool off in the pool after. Cheers!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianFamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Rooms and showers were spacious and spotless. Balconies overlook peaceful gardens and river. Quiet and safe location within 2 minute walking distance from restaurants and downtown La Fortuna. We would love to stay here again when we make it back to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaweymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights from 11th September and we were gutted to have to leave.
We turned up without reservation and had a look at both rooms on offer- the cheaper ones with a fan and the ones with a/c and patio doors with a view of the volcano. The more expensive ones were so much nicer (although the cheaper ones were still great) and it was the fantastic balcony with a view of the volcano that did it for us.

I had been advised by a friend that in the rainy season with it being quieter, you can negotiate the price; so we offered cash and with some polite haggling managed to get the price of the expensive room down to 84,500 colones (£108) for the 3 nights which was around the price that we had been offered for the cheaper fan room.

One thing I would say is that for us, 3 nights was really the minimun you should stay here- and although we're sporty, we're not huge hiking fans, so if you are then you could easily spend a week here.

We walked to the waterfall (La Catarata de la Fortuna) and swam in it- an amazing experience. Another day we went to the Baldi hot springs (we got tickets including dinner for US $22 each from an agents on the main strip) which was fantastic. We also walked to the Ecocentro Danaus which is a tiny little reserve (about US $8 each) that has sloth, coati, crocs and poison frogs.
One tip I would give is that if you're visiting in the rainy season and you want to do one of the organised hikes at Arenal- dont book your trip until that day as the weather is unpredictable.

We LOVED our stay at this hotel. Everything about it: the staff, the room, the breakfast, the great location (3 min walk to lovely restaurants and the main street) all made our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doublechoc-chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#30 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#32 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#28 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
291 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Magic Mountain
Hotel Magic Mountain
#20 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Real

Address: Este Del Parque Central La For, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £48 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Real 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Monte Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Real Hotel
Hotel Monte Real Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing