We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serendipity carries the day.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monte Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Monte Real
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Serendipity carries the day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

For much of our two week trip to Costa Rica, we made reservations in advance, but decided to leave about half of our time un-programmed. We found this hotel the old-fashioned way, by walking around. Its location is ideal; it's a garden spot by a river, yet only a very short walk from the center of town. The room was clean and comfortable, and the swimming pool has a couple of sculptures as well. The proprietor arranged rafting and zip line tours for us at prices slightly less than those offered by the various "information agencies" in town. But don't worry, the touts in La Fortuna and good-humored and informative. This was the most delightful tourist town we'd ever seen ( compare to Sorrento, Italy; Yangshuo China; Algeciras, Spain for similar small cities with a very large tourist presence),

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Uburoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcán, Gerente at Hotel Monte Real, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Uburoi,

You were not the only lucky person by finding our hotel, but us by having such a great guest!! We are so glad you enjoyed our peaceful property and its amazing views. And we are honored you compare us with those great towns. We will continue doing our best to always make our guests happy, so they can feel the serendipity carrying the day!

Truly yours,

Daniel Gamboa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    135
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
56
156
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great place to stay! It was super quiet with a river in the back, but still an easy walking distance away from the main road and downtown. Daniel was the best - he arranged a great tour for my mom and I. So very helpful and friendly. The rooms were very nice (our favorite of the whole trip!).

The AC didn't work super well, so I was a bit hot, but it was still bearable. Would definitely go back!

Breakfast was simple but super yummy at a Soda down the street. it also had great staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sayyadina10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcán, Gerente at Hotel Monte Real, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear sayyadina10,

It is our pleasure to be part of that magnificent vacations you are looking for when coming to Costa Rica, specially to La Fortuna. We are so glad you enjoyed this time here and that I was able to help arranging activities for you. We will continue to do our best to fix every detail so you can have a great time again. We hope you can come back someday in the near future...

Best regards,

Daniel Gamboa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have so only positive comments to say about this place. We had a room facing the volcano and it was a gorgeous view. The room and property are always clean and air conditioned and it was nice because it's located in a more quiet area from downtown; however, it is also a short walking distance to do any shopping or sightseeing. We truly enjoyed talking to Angel, the gardener, who also introduced us to "Sammy" the baby sloth in the property. Daniel provided us with superb service. He not only explained all the fun activities to do (we chose to do zip-line, a tour of the volcano and end the day at the "Paradise Hot Springs"), but he also secretly helped my now fiance to propose to me. Thank you Daniel!! La Fortuna is such a dear and special place to us that we have to be back and will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Opt for the view to the volcano. It's a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank figuers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcán, Gerente at Hotel Monte Real, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Figuers,

It was an absolute delight meeting you and helping you with everything we could. We are very glad you enjoyed the volcano view and our gardens with all the beautiful animals in it. I truly wish you the best in the future to come for the two of you that no longer will be two, but shall become one!

We hope we can have you back staying with us someday .

All the best,

Daniel Gamboa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Monte Real Hotel
This hotel was clean, air conditioned and central with great views of the Arenal volcano from all rooms on the 2nd floor. Despite this it did lack in atmosphere- it has a slightly sterile feel, and is very similar to a hotel anywhere in the world. It is perfect if you are looking to be left alone in peace + quiet with good amenities. If you are hoping to meet other travellers or get advice on what to do in the local area I wouldn't reccomend it. What made this place special to me was the abundance of local wildlife you can view in the garden: Rufous tailed hummingbirds - strawberry dart frogs- sloths and giant iguanas in the trees as well as kingfishers and herons fishing in the creek that flows at thebottom of the property. The gardener was extremely helpful in pointing out all the animals: a revelation as it had all been right below me-yet unseen.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the second floor for great views of the Arenal Volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcán, Gerente at Hotel Monte Real, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Sarah K,

Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate our guests's comments so we can keep improving. In fact, and as you mentioned, our hotel is very quite and peaceful, but located right in town which makes our location one of the best here in La Fortuna. We are very happy to provide a peaceful place to stay with beautiful surrondings. I am also glad you got to see a lot of animals while staying with us. Sarah K, I want to let you know that early 2014 we are making our pool area an even more pleasant place to relax,chill and socialize with other guests if you may, we are making a small ranch next to the swimmingpool where snacks and some coctails can be provided. Improving the pool's atmosphere! Nonetheless, keeping our peaceful and relaxing brand untouched...

I hope we can have you staying with us again so you can enjoy our improvements.

Best Regards,

Daniel Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Bc
Level Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was a good place to stay in La Fortuna. Daniel was very helpful and the hotel itself is well-located - on a main road but there is a river at the back of the property so it is very quiet at night. The gardener was very helpful in finding the sloth near the river, along with frogs and other wildlife. The soda where we went for breakfast was good too. I had read a comment about the bedding - and it is okay but the top sheets don't seem to be quite wide enough for the bed so we spent a night fighting over the bed covers. But a minor quibble compared to the magnificent view of Arenal that we enjoyed every morning of our stay. Thanks Daniel, you promised us sunshine and you delivered!

Room Tip: A room facing the volcano will give you an amazing morning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buttners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcán, Gerente at Hotel Monte Real, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Buttners,

We are very glad you enjoyed being with us here in the beautiful town of La Fortuna. I want to let you know that I talked with the maids about your issue with the bed sheets and they explained it was an isolated event due to a problem the day before with the washing machine, so they had to use a different sheet for your bed. I apologize for any unconfortable situation you may had suffered. It wont happen again. Furthermore, we are investing in our bedding lines to increase even more the sleep quality of our guests.

I am also very glad you got to see the sloths!! they are indeed beautiful animals!!

We hope we can have you back with us any time in the future!

Best wishes,

Daniel Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Great value for money. Very clean hotel with great comfortable, spacey rooms . The whole staff of the hotel was very helpful with the attractions and the must see places around La furtuna area. The breakfast was great and was served in near by restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Altshuler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcán, Gerente at Hotel Monte Real, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Altshuler,

So wonderful to hear you enjoyed the time with us, make us feel so proud of doing what we do. Just for you to know, we are working hard developing new projects to amaze our guests and to keep providing an outstanding service. Hopefully we can have back in the future to make you feel as good as you deserve.

Best regards,

Daniel Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at Monte Real in La Fortuna for 3 nights after arriving by local bus from San Jose. The hotel is located in a quieter part of La Fortuna, but given the town is small this is no problem for being accessible to restaurants, bars, supermarkets, bus station, etc.

The room we were initially given had a problem with the bathroom which could not be sorted out immediately, so we were moved without fuss into another room. The room was basic, but standard for Costa Rica based on our experience - bed/s, bathroom, tv (with cable), wifi & a fridge.

Daniel at reception and his brother (we didn't get his name) were helpful at talking us through various tour options available in La Fortuna & booking those we decided on. In hindsight we would have explored these options further with hostels in La Fortuna, as you are likely to get a cheaper price booking through a hostel. They also offer a laundry service for $4 per kilo and we made the most of this which had a quick turnaround.

Breakfast is included in the room price and is taken at a local cafe down the road with 3 options available from 6am each day. The early opening was good as we did have a couple of early morning starts.

There is a pool located in a garden area, with a view of Volcan Arenal (if it is clear). Chat to the gardener if he is around and he may be able to show you wildlife around the property (we met guests during our stay who had been shown a sloth & various iguanas).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcán, Gerente at Hotel Monte Real, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear FushNZ,

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we will continue doing our best so our guests have the best time here in La Fortuna. Just for you to know we are about to considerably improving our standard rooms to reach similar quality levels as our premium rooms. Our goal will always be the continuous improvement to make our guests as happy as possible.

In regards of the tours, we are proud to say that our rates are one of the best in the whole town when it comes to taking tours with CERTIFIED and the most professional companies (we sacrifice our earnings to provide great discounts). We will not put in danger the safety of any of our guests as it is our main concern. Second main concern will always be that you enjoy as much as possible the tours :)

Hopefully you were able to see the sloths and the iguanas as well! they are beautiful!

Have a nice day and we will look forward to having you staying with us again!

Best Regards,

Daniel Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Real

Property: Hotel Monte Real
Address: Este Del Parque Central La For, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Real 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Monte Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Real Hotel
Hotel Monte Real Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing