We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis within walking distance to town”
Review of Hotel Monte Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monte Real
Certificate of Excellence
Peru, Maine, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An oasis within walking distance to town”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in this lovely hotel for 4 nights in March. It was perfect. Very clean, and spacious rooms with refrigerator, a/c and 2 private balconies. Beautiful gardens, perfectly landscaped with iguanas, birds, a brook, and pool. Good breakfast just 1 minute from hotel. Everything we needed was a very short walk. Even though you were close to town the hotel was very quiet and private. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    142
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
62
163
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here as part of G Adventures "Costa Rica Quest" tour. Hotel is right in the town, very clean, and nicely-decorated. Beautiful grounds, and there was a sloth living in one of the trees! No complaints, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Monte Real Hotel is absolutely ideal. It's within perfect walking distance to the small town with various restaurants, shops, chemists and bars. The rooms are mega basic having stayed in room number 3, ground floor. However the hotel is clean, has lovely gardens, helpful staff, tours on offer, wifi and hot showers!!! I would recommend this hotel / B&B as well as advise you to visit the nearby Don Rufinos restaurant! Yum

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beckyneilson09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Enjoyed spending 3 nights here. The staff was very helpful, giving us excellent advice. The gardens are lovely and we enjoyed the pool after a day of being on a tour. Only weakness was the breakfast which was offsite and quite ordinary. We had a view of the volcano which although inactive was very visible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtmh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were lucky enough to be transferred to this hotel because the original one we were booked into was full. We stayed here I think four or five nights and it was wonderful. The breakfast is at a very tastey offsite restaurant that gives you plenty of food. Location is close to everything you'd want to walk to for souvenirs, supermarket, and food. We had a lovely view of the volcanoe from our room balcony which was fun to see in the mornings. There was no street noise at all, just forest sounds. It was fun the because the property backed onto a river and forest, lots of animals liked to hang around. Sevearl birds nested in the trees, an iguana liked to hang out outside our door, and I've heard even a sloth likes to hang around the property. Super friendly staff, clean rooms, nice pool. We will recommend this place to all of our friends.

Room Tip: We had a floor on the second level right near the back of the property which was super nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I was impressed by this hotel from A to Z !!
First, it's downtown La Fortuna which is great because you're near of everything !!
Very clean rooms/pool/garden and such an amazing view on the Volcano Arenal.
Staff is more than helpful and they're all really nice people!
The gardener shows where the animals are and it is super nice !!
I stayed at this hotel only 2 days and I saw two sloths, a toucan, lot of iguanas and a blue jean frog and that is only on the hotel site!

I was really impressed by the roomy bathrooms and the suite in general.
Personal balcony. A/C works A1 !!

I definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who plan to go in La Fortuna!

Room Tip: I had a junior suite with a king size bed, room 15 in fact, and it's the farthest so probably th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

With our 3 kids (12, 11 and 10 years old) we spent 10 nights in La Fortuna, primarily to do volunteering at the La Fortuna Orphanage. We were recommended to stay at the Monte Real Hotel, and everything was great. Good breakfast and clean rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff too. The gardener (Angel?) was very nice, and showed us many sloths during our stay, and even the famous Blue Jeans Frog, close to the river.

A great place to stay in La Fortuna.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie_de_Ste-Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,510 reviews
3.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
8.6 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,323 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
571 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Real

Property: Hotel Monte Real
Address: Este Del Parque Central La For, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Real 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Monte Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Real Hotel
Hotel Monte Real Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing