We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and super helpful family owns this hotel.”
Review of Hotel Monte Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Monte Real
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, IN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly and super helpful family owns this hotel.”
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Perfect location just two blocks from downtown. Very safe, clean and pretty location along a creek where we saw a sloth with baby, tucans en two large iguanas in the trees by the pool.
Owners were super friendly: spent at least 40 minutes explaining different options for excursions and did our laundry for minimal fee when we came back soaked from an excursion.
The grounds and rooms are very clean and well kept and we enjoyed meeting another family and exchanging stories by the clean pool.
Just perfect! :-)

  • Liked — Friendlyness, location and cleanlyness
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ErnaIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    141
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
59
162
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2008

loved it - spent four days peering through the rain trying to se the lesser-spotted volcano, but the accomodation was great. the owner went out of his way to look after us and the location is great for a (very short) stroll into town! rooms comfortable and very clean. recommended.

  • Liked — the owners attention to service
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank londonmammal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

Very nice cozy hotel, clean spacious rooms, friendly owners/ staff, excellent location. It looks like this hotel is owned by the family so they go out of the way to accommodate your needs. The only negative comment I have is that they gave us only 2 towels but I’m pretty sure that if we asked for more we would get them. The year before I stayed at Arenal Paraiso which was horrible (see my review of this hotel). I thought that proximity to the volcano was a good thing but we had to take a taxi to go everywhere- restaurants, shops, tour companies. That’s why this year we decided to stay in Arenal and take all tours from there and Monte Real was a perfect choice of the hotel. Another bonus- you can use internet for free.

  • Liked — location, value, attitude
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dinamka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

We booked a room here last minute for one night and opted for the "Standard" Room, which is not shown in any of the pictures (they are of the Premium Rooms). I'm sure the Premium Rooms are nice, but the "Sub-Standard" better describes the Standard Rooms we paid for. We paid about US $55, but I would felt better about the whole thing if I had paid about $35-$40.

First and foremost, there were two holes in our room. And when its raining, which it did very heavily, the place leaks. Second, the room itself was kinda depressing because of the old decor, creaky fan, and of course the leaks. Third, sitting on the porch was unspectacular. Finally, the bathroom was a little grimy, the towels were very stiff and old from overuse, and the shower was lukewarm.

The only redeeming quality was the helpful staff who provided tour guidance and transportation advice for our next destination. But that wasn't what we were paying for.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank urbanwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2008

The hotel was very clean and the rooms were nicely remodeled. The staff was young, kind, and spoke very good English. Upon entering the rooms (3 total), the sliding glass door in room 1 was cracked, the air conditioner in room 2 was leaking everywhere, and room 3 had no TV or AirCon remotes. We reported these problems and the gentleman at the desk assured me the door had been cracked for a while and was awaiting repairs. Neither of the other two problems were fixed.

Flash forward - 3 weeks after leaving Costa Rica, my credit card is charged a random $56. I inquire and am told that my party broke the glass door and that we were responsible to pay. Not only that, but they charged the credit card used to reserve the rooms, not the one used to pay for the rooms, which is unlawful. They were unwilling to resolve the issue, and said that the gentleman at the desk was never told about any of the three issues with the rooms. My credit card company is currently looking into the charge to try and resolve it.

Nice hotel to stay in, just make sure you check your entire room and I would recommend demanding a walk-through at check-out.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bennybmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

We were amazed at the value; A Family of 4 for $53/night. The kids called it their favorite hotel of the entire vacation.

The back of the hotel is on a small river; saw Iguanas and Toucans. Our balcony had a view of the volano, but not the side with the Lava. The pool was small but the kids loved it. (Pools here are unheated, even at my brother's more upscale hotel) The hotel is well maintained.

If you decide to stay in town, which gives you more dining options, it's a great choice. My brother stayed on the other side of the mountain, but had to drive to see lava anyways.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Mark_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2008

I was initially a bit put off by our superior room because the lights were flourescent and very dim, and made me feel a bit as if I was in an insane asylum. After my eyes adjusted to the dimness, however, I was pleasantly surprised to see a large, clean room, with a nice large bathroom. The bed felt a bit hard when I sat on it, but was not at all uncomfortable to sleep on, and the linens appeared to be fresh and clean. We started with a room on the bottom floor. But the second day we moved to the other building to an upstairs room, and had a spectacular view of the volcano. By far the most enjoyable part of the hotel was the pool! In between activities we were able to throw on our bathing suits, grab our towels, and go lie out in the gorgeous sun. The grounds are very nicely manicured, with lush vegetation and a little path leading down to a creek in the back. The owners and their children were all extremely pleasant and accommodating. They set up a canopy tour for us, and called Tabacon and set up an appointment at the Spa for us.

Overall, a very pleasant stay. If and when I return to La Fortuna, if I stay in town, I'll definitely go back to the Monte Real.

  • Liked — The pool!
  • Disliked — The weird lights
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mtvernonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,491 reviews
3.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,854 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,822 reviews
8.6 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
808 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Real

Property: Hotel Monte Real
Address: Este Del Parque Central La For, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Real 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Monte Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Real Hotel
Hotel Monte Real Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing