We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds and the perfect location”
Review of Hotel Monte Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monte Real
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds and the perfect location”
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Convenient to everything and yet very quiet. The grounds and pool area of this hotel were much more extensive and beautiful than we had expected. The river was also fun to explore and, yes, we did see the sloth that lives there. Several family members work at the front desk and they are all very friendly and helpful. Our premium room was excellent with an amazing view of the volcano. If it erupts while you are there try to avoid running into the spotlessly clean glass patio doors. :)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    142
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
60
163
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

The service at this hotel is unbeatable! The owner, his wife and sons were on call at all hours to answer our questions, book activities i.e. whitewater rafting/canopy tours and recommend places to eat. The owner also has various friends who can organise tours i.e. of the Arenal volcano - as the majority of tours are at set times (one in the morning, one in the evening) and are not very flexible if you are trying to cram lots in. We took a late night tour of the volcano.
There are computers in the lobby which are great for emailing/planning the next stage of your trip. The room was spotlessly clean, with free coffee, a safe deposit and a balcony overlooking the Arenal volcano. There is also a lovely pool with loungers, set in pretty gardens.
We viewed a few hotels in La Fortuna, and chose Monte Real because of its welcoming atmosphere and ideal location - a few steps away from the centre of town, and various tour offices where you can book activities (if you haven't already done so at the hotel!)
There is no restaurant at the hotel, but they give you breakfast vouchers for a cafe a few doors away. You can choose fruit & toast, or a typical Costa Rican breakfast - both options were plentiful!
The hotel also offers a laundry service ($3/kg) which we tried out, and our clothes came back clean and nicely folded.
We were extremely sad to move on from Hotel Monte Real, and will definately go back there if we return to La Fortuna.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tezzthemezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

A clean room with two double beds, AC, TV, view of Arenal on the edge of the City Center district, Monte Real offered a great value. The family-run hotel provided lots of assistance with transportation and even had two computers available free of charge. The included breakfast at a near-by soda made it a particularly good value for my family.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikeItLocalStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Please don't let the lack of curb appeal deter you - we loved absolutely everything about our stay at the Hotel Monte Real!
We paid US $69 per night which included breakfast for our room which was an absolute bargain considering we paid the same amount to stay at some truly abysmal hotels in San Jose.
The room itself was absolutely stunning and immaculate. Large, airy and open with sliding glass door that lead to a charming balcony with views of the river and trees where several iguanas and birds could be seen. The comfortable, inviting bed and large, modern TV with several English channels were greatly appreciated. The shower was huge and the water got absolutely steaming hot - the best shower you'll take in Costa Rica by far!
Mario, the father of the sons often referred to by other reviewers and- I'm assuming- the owner of the hotel, was incredibly nice and helped to book our horseback tour of Arenal (he called several outfitters to make sure they fit our requirements and even got us a discounted price). He will bend over backwards to try and help you to enjoy your stay and is very knowledgeable of the area and tour operators. There are 2 computers in the lobby and you have unlimited free internet access.
Breakfast is not at the hotel but a short walk to a little Soda down the street. The breakfast was delicious and huge! They offer the American style or Tropical - my husband and I ordered one of each; two eggs cooked to order, gallo pinto, fried bananas, two pieces of toast, orange juice plus a huge plate of mouth-watering pineapple, papaya, banana, and watermelon. You will not be disappointed!
I would not hesitate to heartily recommend this hotel to even the most difficult to please travelers - stay here, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

I stayed two nights at Hotel Monte Real in April 2010. My stay was wonderful. The owners are extremely nice and helpful and even let me store my luggage after I had checked out the day before. The internet is free and they give a voucher for free breakfast at Soda de Rio just up the street. I highly recommend this hotel and would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank producerkoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Quiet location on the edge of town. Got a superior room that was very nice and clean. Shower drained slowly, but that was the only issue. Free internet in the lobby. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Great restaurants are just a block or two away (recommend Don Rufino). Includes breakfast at the Soda a couple doors down. It was overcast when we were there, but on a clear day I’m sure there is a great view of the volcano. Glad we stayed in La Fortuna, waterfall nearby is great (hotel staff gave us excellent directions for getting there), easy to book a tour to hot springs or volcano (the staff will do this for you)!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

What a great hotel. The room was beautiful and very clean. Our room overlooked the river, and we loved having coffee on the veranda and watching the birds every morning!

The staff was friendly and helped us arrange day trips. It's a quick walk to all the great restaurants, bars and shops.

While there is no restaurant, the staff gives vouchers for the restaurant around the corner for a free breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKD_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,507 reviews
3.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,884 reviews
8.6 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,321 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
570 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Real

Property: Hotel Monte Real
Address: Este Del Parque Central La For, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Real 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Monte Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Real Hotel
Hotel Monte Real Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing