We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the splurge for the views”
Review of Hotel Monte Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Monte Real
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the splurge for the views”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

My husband and I checked in here without reservations, and were told there were only premium rooms left (I doubt this, as the hotel seemed quite empty). After seeing the room, we decided it was worth the splurge for the amazing views the room offered. We could sit on the balcony with a direct view to the volcano, and also watch many beautiful birds. We were also lucky to see a sloth close up, right on the property.

The pool looked nice and clean, but we didn't get a chance to use it during our stay. The rooms were clean, though there was some noise that came from trucks that liked to use their engine retarder brakes right outside the hotel.

The breakfast was delicious, and very substantial, though you do have to walk a block or 2 to get it. The front desk staff was always helpful, and booked some tours and transport for us. We would definately stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarissaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    141
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
59
162
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Been here with family for three nights. nice rooms with good view on olano, if not clouded. Very clean and beautiful folded towels on the bed (elephant, swans), which the children liked.

Broadcast is fine, but you have to walk down the street, which is not a problem recept when training.

very nice people at the reception as well. Will defenitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maro67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed there with our son, 3 1/2. The place was super clean, and very well maintained. It is a simple place, not a 5 star resort. The pool was great for my son, it had a little shallow area perfect for him. The rooms were spotless and well kept. The beds were soft and worn, but OK. We got what we expected.

The staff (looks like family owned and run) were great, very helpful. Fortuna is a wonderful place, and the hotel was great; allowing us to get out and see the sites and cool off in the pool after. Cheers!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianFamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Rooms and showers were spacious and spotless. Balconies overlook peaceful gardens and river. Quiet and safe location within 2 minute walking distance from restaurants and downtown La Fortuna. We would love to stay here again when we make it back to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaweymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights from 11th September and we were gutted to have to leave.
We turned up without reservation and had a look at both rooms on offer- the cheaper ones with a fan and the ones with a/c and patio doors with a view of the volcano. The more expensive ones were so much nicer (although the cheaper ones were still great) and it was the fantastic balcony with a view of the volcano that did it for us.

I had been advised by a friend that in the rainy season with it being quieter, you can negotiate the price; so we offered cash and with some polite haggling managed to get the price of the expensive room down to 84,500 colones (£108) for the 3 nights which was around the price that we had been offered for the cheaper fan room.

One thing I would say is that for us, 3 nights was really the minimun you should stay here- and although we're sporty, we're not huge hiking fans, so if you are then you could easily spend a week here.

We walked to the waterfall (La Catarata de la Fortuna) and swam in it- an amazing experience. Another day we went to the Baldi hot springs (we got tickets including dinner for US $22 each from an agents on the main strip) which was fantastic. We also walked to the Ecocentro Danaus which is a tiny little reserve (about US $8 each) that has sloth, coati, crocs and poison frogs.
One tip I would give is that if you're visiting in the rainy season and you want to do one of the organised hikes at Arenal- dont book your trip until that day as the weather is unpredictable.

We LOVED our stay at this hotel. Everything about it: the staff, the room, the breakfast, the great location (3 min walk to lovely restaurants and the main street) all made our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doublechoc-chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We stayed at Hotel Monte Real for one night and were really pleased with our choice!
The hotel in set in really pretty grounds, with a nice pool and small nature walk to explore. The owner told us you can sometimes see sloths by the stream at the back of the grounds, but unfortunately we did not see any that morning.
Our room was excellent value! It was very spacious and very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was nice and clean with cool running water for our shower which was fine as it was so hot! We opted for a fan instead of AC to keep the costs down and whilst it was very hot the fan was fine.
The hotel has free WIFI in the rooms which was nice to help us plan our trip.
The hotel has excellent views of the volcano which is what we went to Arenal to see.
There is not a restaurant in the hotel, however they give you a ticket for breakfast at the local soda del rio 2 minutes up the road. We went there and had a choice of typical breakfast or toast with lots of fruit and the most delicious fresh juices!
Service is excellent at this family run hotel and the owner was really friendly and helpful. We had a really enjoyable nights stay here!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kit-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Convenient to everything and yet very quiet. The grounds and pool area of this hotel were much more extensive and beautiful than we had expected. The river was also fun to explore and, yes, we did see the sloth that lives there. Several family members work at the front desk and they are all very friendly and helpful. Our premium room was excellent with an amazing view of the volcano. If it erupts while you are there try to avoid running into the spotlessly clean glass patio doors. :)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,494 reviews
3.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,857 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,822 reviews
8.6 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
809 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Real

Property: Hotel Monte Real
Address: Este Del Parque Central La For, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Real 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Monte Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Real Hotel
Hotel Monte Real Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing