We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has it all.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2011

What a pleasant collection of cottages. The landscaping is professionally done to display typical flora of the La Gortuna area. The overall facility has matured since it began in 2005 and now looks like a long established but well planned and maintained enclave.

Staff are all excellent and pleasant. The parrot there will talk to you and laugh with you too. The resturant is adequate but offerings for dinner are limited ( but there is an excellent resturant next door. Not in the giant hotel though.

Comments about the giant hotel were of concern to me but as it turns out it is no problem

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rippercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,334 - 1,340 of 1,919 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2011

El Silencio del Campo provides excellent facilities and a fantastic view of the Arenal volcano (see pictures). Our private bungalow was very spacious and immaculately clean. They have a regular pool, a hot spring pool and a spa.

They have an excellent full service restaurant. Breakfast is included in the room charge and their prices for lunches and dinners are very reasonable. The staff was very helpful in arranging our hike to La Fortuna waterfall and our Hanging Bridges Canopy tour, as well as our private transportation to the San Jose airport.

We highly recommend El Silencio for your stay in La Fortuna!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler4230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We visited the Arenal area March 18-21 and thoroughly enjoyed our visit at El Silencio del Campo. Our cabin had three beds - great for out family of five. It was quite spacious and clean. The service we received at this hotel was outstanding - probably better than any hotel we've stayed in before. When we locked ourselves out of our safe, Johnny (sp?) came immediately to help us out. He then gave us a tour of their orchard and showed us the crocodiles. His short, impromptu tour helped us to really appreciate the property and made us feel a special connection to it. He was also our server for breakfast in the morning and always made sure the kids got hot chocolate. I think he deserves a raise!! The food was great and I appreciate the fact that much of it is raised on their property. We especially enjoyed the hot springs. I wish I had one in my back yard! A great place to stay for anyone! Thanks, Silencio!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluegrass_Traveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

We are a family of five and fit comfortable in one of the cabins. They are clean and the views are amazing! Because there are only 21 cabins you feel like you are really getting away.

This hotel excels at customer service. Everyone is extremely friendly and helpful. As we were planning the trip Eliomar Marcia, from the reservations department, answered all my questions and helped me plan the excursions. I probably sent a dozen emails and he answered everyone one of them promptly. His help made the trip stress free. I cannot say enough about this hotel and if we ever return to La Fortuna again we would stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Great place. The food, rooms, hot springs, free facial, people, grounds, huge toads, location, all of it was wonderful. JUST WONDERFUL!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watfordSouthlake_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Loved, loved, loved this hotel and location. Superb service by all staff- from the maids, to the breakfast staff, to the front desk. Excellent location for all activities. Incredible views of the volcano. Birds and flowers everywhere. Hot springs were lovely. Many thanks to the staff for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
Thank ldschrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We stayed at the hotel on Feb. 24. Right away we were greeted with acool drink and a warm welcome. The view of the Volcano is outsanding and the design of the hotel was natural and very fitting with the surroundings. They have their own hot spring pool with a bar and small spa in the back of the hotel. We really enjoyed hanging out with fellow travelers while getting in and out of the water. The next day we spent several hours at the Baldi Hot Springs across the street. Since my father is 89 we had to pass on the more strenuous excursions in the area. Hats off to Umberto for putting up with my endless questions about what to do with our little amount of time. Last but not least Umberto insisted on watching our luggage and valuables after we checked out and spent 4 hours at Baldi! That is above and beyond expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RocNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,374 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,905 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,420 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,614 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £135 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing