We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$368
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$529
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$636
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$525
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,022)
Filter reviews
2,022 results
Traveller rating
1,648
318
45
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,648
318
45
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree facialhot springsrecommend elsmall farmcosta ricamilk the cowscollect eggsindividual cabinsgrounds are beautifularenal areafresh fruithot poolsthe cottagesprivate hot springfront porchspring poolsevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
1,284 - 1,289 of 2,022 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The Hotel El Silencio Del Campo was reccommended to us for our visit to Arenal this past August 2011. The staff is friendly and helpful, the grounds are gorgeous and immaculate. You have hot springs on the premises, fabulous. The spa at the back of the property provided excellent services, drinks were great and not expensive. The room was spacious and clean. Loved the little patio with table and chairs outside each bungalow-we enjoyed morning coffee. taking in the perfect view of the volcano. The location is excellent, a quick taxi ride into town and not far from the popular attractions. HIghly reccommend this place for your stay in Arenal.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My boyfriend and I spent three nights here, and we had a lovely time. The cabins are charming, spacious and comfortable. The hotel is a little 'out of the mix' with it being a good 3-4 km outside the city centre but this wasn't a major issue, cab ride in costs only around $5.

A couple of points to bear in mind: The "hot springs" advertised here are just a small pool heated naturally and the "spa" is literally a tent with two beds in it, but as long as these aren't the main reasons for your stay you will love it!

Another tip - stay clear of the restaurant unless you are having a salad, cooking is not their forte!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

yes, there is a large hotel nextdoor, but it's very attractive and we enjoyed checking it out and even having dinner there one night, so i wouldn't say it was a problem. even with that structure next door, you feel like you're in a private oasis. it's beautiful, so quiet, there's a pet parrot, flowers everywhere. it's lush but not buggy, at least not in december. some of us enjoyed the hot pool (really tranquil setting), one had a nice massage, we ate often at the lovely outdoor restaurant, service was great, we got cabs easily to go places, they booked a zip for us that was just right. it was ideal for the arenal area.

Room Tip: all seem about equal, really.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank h22101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I had an absolutely wonderful stay while I was in La Fortuna. At check in we were given a fruit smoothie. It was so delicious and totally unexpected. The man at the front desk was extremely helpful and kind. This hotel offers .20 cent calls to the United States and has a computer with internet that you can use as well. The restaurant there is wonderful as well. The breakfast is really good and there a about 5 or 6 options to pick from. Fresh fruit was served every morning as well. Lunch and dinner were so yummy! We ate quite a few of our meals here and we were never disappointed.

The rooms here at great! They are very open and have a lot of room. You have your own cabin which is nice. There is also a table and chairs on the patio so it is nice to sit outside and relax. When we first got to our room it was really hot but after leaving the a/c unit on for a while it cooled off. The rooms have a tv and a wall safe. The bathroom is really big and the shower is very nice. We didn't have any hot water so you have to take a quick shower.

There is a hot springs pool on the property which is very nice and relaxing. There is a lot of lounge chairs to relax in. There is also a bar by the hot springs pool. The spa on the property is definitely worth checking out. Very peaceful and relaxing! I got a facial when I was there and it was definitely worth it. There is also a regualr swimming pool on the property as well.

The grounds at this hotel are so beautiful. There is an amazing view of Arenal Volcano. It was so nice to wake up each morning and see the volcano. I would definitely stay here again next time I am in La Fortuna.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tle05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

After a full day of traveling, we appreciated our warm welcome by Elio and a strawberry smoothie! Our family of four (with two older teenage boys) was starving and tired, so we enjoyed dinner at the hotel our first night (and one other night as well). The tilapia was amazing, but all of the food was good. Breakfasts were great and there was something for everyone's tastes from pancakes to omelettes to the "typical" Costa Rican eggs, rice, cheese and tortilla. The pineapple, banana, mango and watermelon were incredible. The staff puts fruit on the trees by where you eat, so we were able to see some amazing birds up close. The hot springs were a definite highlight of our trip! They are beautiful by day or night. We had an opportunity to relax there a few times during our four night stay. The flowers around the property offered some of the best floral photo opportunities we had in Costa Rica! When my son was sick our second night (we think he had some bad sea bass ... not at the hotel), we had an opportunity to learn a few things. There was no water available between 1:45 and 5 AM (pumps are turned off?), so there was no toilet or sink. The doors are pretty squeaky, so a small can of WD40 helped with some of the squeak the next day. There are some huge lizards that can be seen on the outside walls of the bungalows at 3:30 in the morning! The front desk staff couldn't be more helpful! Elio found us a thermometer to use the next morning when we couldn't locate ours. The hotel's chicken and vegetable soup is perfect for stomachs on the mend (we took a bowl to go). Long distance phone calls can be made from the front desk for a relatively good rate. The rooms were clean and OK sized for a family of 4. We enjoyed having a table and chairs outside the bungalow as well, perfect for reading or playing a game. With a sunny day, we were lucky enough to see an almost clear Arenal volcano! On a side note: we used DesAfio for two amazing adventures - canyoneering and white water rafting on the Sarapaqui. They picked us up right at the hotel lobby area where the computer/internet was located. We would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Bungalow 8 is handicapped accessible, has a nice view of the volcano and is close to the restaurant.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews