We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$664
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$368
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kokoro Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$529
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$636
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,017)
Filter reviews
2,017 results
Traveller rating
1,643
318
45
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,643
318
45
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree facialhot springsrecommend elsmall farmcosta ricamilk the cowscollect eggsindividual cabinsgrounds are beautifularenal areafresh fruithot poolsthe cottagesprivate hot springfront porchspring poolsevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
1,276 - 1,281 of 2,017 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed in the hotel few months ago and are ready to go back again. The place is beautiful, the staff is great. We didn't have a chance to eat in the restaurant - there so much to see around the volcano (we rented a car). The only food we had there was breakfast, which was included in the price. With four choices to pick, there was enough food for the whole family. Two adults plus two kids eating for "free" - that saved us a lot of money. We went to Manuel Antonio after and the breakfast was not included. Huge difference. The pool was nice, hot springs really hot - especially early afternoon. The view from the cabin is spectacular, at least from that side of the volcano. The only issue is the proximity of the next door hotel that is peeking into the pool.
But if you have fun or you are busy enjoying life, you'll forget about it easily. The whole place is peaceful and quiet. Sometimes we wondered if we were the only ones there.
Overall - great place and value for the price.

Room Tip: Lower cabin numbers are closer to the restaurant and service desk.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kubaczek09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

El Silencio del Campo is not as fancy as some of its high-end competitors, but has a wonderfully, laid-back atmosphere and small-hotel feel. The individual cottages are roomy and impeccably clean, staff are always good-humoured and helpful, and the straight-ahead view of the volcano is spectacular. The food is fine and represents good value for money. The hotel's own hot spring provides a great way to relax at the end of a day of zip-lining, canyoning or whatever other crazy activity one has been doing. The only significant drawback is not-at-all the fault of the hotel, but somehow a monstrosity was allowed to be built next door, but one trains oneself to avoid looking to the left. The internet access was spotty but this was likely due to the inclement weather. Overall, El Silencio provides a great choice if you are looking for a friendly, quieter hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peripatetic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My trip was in late April of 2010 and I have not posted a review here yet.
I quite enjoyed this spot. I stayed with a friend, based on positive reviews here and a good rate through Expedia. Check-in was quick and easy. Breakfast each day was included in the rate.
The room/bungalow was very nice, bathroom worked, beds were ok, some tv channels. There is a hot spings pool on-site, which was relaxing at the end of the day. On 2 days there was a great view of the volcano.
The hotel location is quite good for exploring the area: Arenal volcano visit, ziplining, and waterfall visit. I felt very safe at all times and the downtown area is a short drive (restaurants/bars).
If I were back in the area to explore, I would definitely consider another stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bk_t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at El Silencio del Campo for 5 nights 12/28/2011-1/2/2012. The hospitality of the staff (Umberto, Vanessa, Eliomar) was wonderful. This hotel completely respects the environment which surrounds it. The grounds are beautiful yet understated. Arenal volcano is literally right there! We loved the restaurant, we had the complimentary breakfast each morning, fresh mango, watermelon, pineapple and banana and your choice of omlette, pancakes, typico: rice/beans, eggs, tortillas or huevos rancheros. All were delicious! The restaurant was fantastic for dinner and lunch as well. The hot springs on sight is low-key and beautiful with a hot waterfall and bar. There is indeed the obnoxious Royal Corin hotel next door which rises 4 stories, yet it did not deter from the tranquility of El Silencio's individual bungalows and beauty. Great bird watching every morning at breakfast. The rooms were clean and comfortable, somewhat basic but just perfect! I hope to come back to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The Hotel El Silencio Del Campo was reccommended to us for our visit to Arenal this past August 2011. The staff is friendly and helpful, the grounds are gorgeous and immaculate. You have hot springs on the premises, fabulous. The spa at the back of the property provided excellent services, drinks were great and not expensive. The room was spacious and clean. Loved the little patio with table and chairs outside each bungalow-we enjoyed morning coffee. taking in the perfect view of the volcano. The location is excellent, a quick taxi ride into town and not far from the popular attractions. HIghly reccommend this place for your stay in Arenal.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews