We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed two nights. Our family included a little 3-year old boy. Our room was cute - it was essentially a hotel room with a cabin-like structure built around it. Our room had two double beds, one small desk, a bathroom (no tub, just shower but with hot water!) and sink. There was also a small closet, refrigerator and coffeemaker. All items worked properly, were in good condition and clean. The power went out once while we were there. It came back on within two hours of reporting it. The front door only locks with the key whether your inside or out. The door has a habit of opening if it isn't locked (it doesn't stay closed very well.) It wasn't a big deal to us but I thought I should note this for others. The room itself was clean - not luxury but highly adequate - comparable to perhaps a Marriott Fairfield Inn room. both in quality and price. We thought the price was very reasonable.

The one restaurant was very reasonably priced and good quality - some dishes were GREAT.

The swimming pool is very small compared to average resort standards but adequate for a small child. We avoided the one hot spring b/c a) it wasn't that hot, b) the ducks were swimming in it (duck waste = no thanks) and c) it was also fairly small. We instead spent time at the Tabacon Hot Springs which, while spendy, was a fantastic time. The grounds of the hotel are very pretty and very well-kempt. Our little boy loved running around, looking at the fish in the pond and played on their little playground. Playground was a bonus that included three types of swings, a seesaw and slide.

The desk is not made for working if you need to work (I did.) There are four chairs and a small table on the little patio/deck next to your front door that served adequately when I needed to work. Wireless Internet was no problem and a decent speed (I was able to use Internet phone.) The phone only works to call the front desk. It does NOT call outside of the hotel so I bought calling cards that I couldn't use. There is a phone at the front desk for outside calls. FYI

The employees were very helpful, kind and always smiling. The front desk folks were especially accommodating. We used the spa - prices were reasonable, esp with the special sale they were having at the time. However, while the massages were good, unless something has changed, we would not recommend the man/pedi. For the mani/pedi, they shorted us time, were not thorough with the cleaning or exfoliation and the color was unevenly applied. Plus, you had to lie down for the entire service which is uncomfortable when doing the pedi. Not a good experience. Hot stone massages were very relaxing, comfortable and a great pressure.

The surrounding area felt safe. It was a less than ten-minute drive into the main Fortuna area (cab = approx $15 one way) and about 15 minutes to the Arenal park entrance (cab = approx $20-25 one way.) Cab can be expensive, if you find a good rate on a rental car, we highly recommend renting. The area is easy to drive in. You'll want a 4x4 if you think you'll spend a lot of time in the volcano park areas as the dirt roads are long and bumpy. We didn't have problems getting child seats.

We would recommend this hotel to friends and family. If you're looking for something more luxurious the Tabacon was a definitely a comfy, luxury stay for us. Alternately, if you are looking for something much more "bare bones" in amenities and service, Arenal Observatory Lodge is a decent choice. El Silencio was a very delightful mid-range stay.

Room Tip: Higher numbered rooms are closer to the restaurant, spa, hot spring, pool, etc....and farther away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlackyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,173 - 1,179 of 1,922 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed at El Silencio del Campo in December and enjoyed our stay. Every morning at breakfast you can watch an amazing variety of birds attack the banana chunks that are skewered on the tree next to the eating area. There is also a cute parrot that the staff feed that gets all excited when the food arrives. Great view of the volcano, but it was always shrouded in mist near the top. The volcano has been dormant for about seven months I guess. The staff were great, and booked us trips to take the Cano Negro tour up near the Nico border (bring your passport), rappelling and white water rafting. We had fun at all three places. The other favorite thing at El Silencio was sitting in the hot pool that had plants all around the outside every afternoon before heading off for supper (try the steakhouse next door for some amazing food -- the chef greeted us at the door and was a lot of fun). Rain or shine, we enjoyed the lovely HOT water (if the waterfall isn't on ask them to turn it on -- it will heat up the pool as well). There is a big fancy hotel next door, but I liked strolling around our grounds and the privacy of having a very nice cabin all to ourselves. TONS of room inside, a walk-in shower, large countertop, nice tv and comfortable bed. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: We stayed near the back of the property away from the road and super close to the hot pool. Yes, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G0OilersG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Our family of four (myself, husband, and two daughters aged 7 and 11) stayed at Silencio del Campo in June 2011. We rented a car and drove from the airport in San Jose. (As a side note, if you do rent a car, get a GPS! You will need it to navigate everywhere you go in Costa Rica!) Even though we were a little early for check in, we were greeted with fresh fruit smoothies and our cabin was made available quickly. The cabin was spacious, clean, and the beds were comfortable. The grounds are absolutely meticulously and immaculately maintained. Our cabin was located towards the front of the property (can't remember the exact number offhand), and we had unbelievable views of Arenal! The volcano literally looms over the property, and most of the cabins are situated such that I would guess that all of them have awesome views. We were very lucky during our stay to get to see the top of the volcano on several occasions...right down to the smoke & steam spewing out. Fantastic!

The included breakfast is good. It is not buffet style, but rather sit down service, which is a nice touch. There are 4 or 5 standard options from which to choose. The dinners offered are basic fare, but tasty, convenient, and a good value for the money. The steakhouse next door was decent, as well, although a little on the pricey side.

The hot spring pool is wonderful. It was great to relax in after a long day of exploring. We did not visit any of the other hot springs in the area, so I cannot make a valid comparison. However, for the price (free!), the hot spring pool on the hotel's property was perfect! The complimentary facial is something not to be missed. The spa is located adjacent to a small waterfall - the overall effect is wonderfully calm and soothing.

The hotel was in the perfect location for us - close to all the things we wanted to do and see in the Arenal area, including the Hanging Bridges, La Fortuna Waterfall and Sky Trek ziplining, all of which we highly recommend!

In sum, the hotel location, staff and accommodations are hard to beat. I would highly recommend Hotel El Silencio del Campo to anyone visiting the Arenal area.

Room Tip: If you want to be sure to hear no road noise, choose a room towards the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TucsonNative69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our two children. Our girls loved it, the staff was really friendly and the view of the volcano was amazing. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yesenia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel. Fantastic value as well. The staff was extremely accommodating, and made it seem like they'd do anything for you if you just asked. Heck, they even tried to anticipate your needs. Like booking transportation for the next hotel for you when you check in.
The hotel grounds are really attractive and has a fantastic view of the volcano. It's also fairly close to town. A cab ride averaged about $6.5. The breakfast was really good. The rooms are very large and very clean. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Van J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The hot spring pool was the best part! It is very romantic and the bar service is excellent

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the first three days of our Honeymoon before heading out to the Pacific Coast. We wanted somewhere laid back to stay that was close to all of the "adventure expeditions" we wanted to have in the Arenal area. We booked this place based on Trip Advisor reviews, and were not disappointed.

The staff is fantastic, helpful, and accomodating. We booked late, so we had to change rooms after the first day and ended up with a hot tub in our room. The "cabins" are roomy, comfortable, and clean with good air conditioning and comfortable beds. We spent a lot of time soaking in the hot spring and sipping drinks after ziplining or hiking. The breakfast in the morning is simple and filling, and its included with the rate. We felt very safe on the grounds and the landscaping is absolutely breathtaking. We got spa treatments that were buy one get one half off as we were guests there, and the couples massage was great.

We don't have any real complaints... just know that you are staying in a pretty rural community, and set your expectations properly for the price you are paying. If you are looking for marble, butlers, and five pools., there is a four seasons a few hours away that will accomodate you.

Also one note to all travelers to Costa Rica. If you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs. No matter where you stay, the birds, wildlife, etc. can get very active at night and you will hear them!

Thanks for a great trip.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the higher numbered rooms - they are a bit of a walk from the main desk, but there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummerTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,377 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,906 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,422 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,617 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £136 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing