We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All Good”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Our family of 4 (with 2 teens) stayed here for 5 nights in late February 2012. Firstly it's in a great location - close to nearly all of the local activities and attractions, and with fabulous views of the volcano. The hotel itself is beautifully designed and maintained, with low-rise boutique detached rooms in a lovely garden setting. The rooms are clean, well decorated and equipped, but are not huge. However they put in an extra bed for one of our teens and we all fitted in OK. The hot spring pool area is a calm oasis and great way to end the day, with a nice poolside bar serving local drinks and good food. The restaurant is fine, serving a hearty breakfast (included, fruit and menu choice) and reasonably-priced dinners. Service was generally good throughout our stay, and the folk at the desk are always helpful in helping set-up daily activities. They have Wi-Fi throughout and a computer for guest use in reception. My wife and daughter used the spa one time and thought it was OK. My only slight nits would be that I thought they ran the hot spring pool a little too hot and that there was some farm machine noise coming from behind the spa at times that affected some of the spa experiences. Overall though, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: We did hear 1 guest say they were affected by road noise (there's really only 1 room near the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ben_gale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,466
    298
    42
    5
    4
See reviews for
663
818
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This small resort, with its cabins, beautiful gardens and fantastic staff is one of the greatest travel experiences of my life. It is truly a boutique hotel where every detail is looked after. The staff were very helpful in navigating the hiring of transportation as well as where to go for entertainment and meals.
I would highly recommend this as a place to stay for families or couples.

Room Tip: they are all great as far as I know
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed at Hotel El Silencio del Campo for two days in February 2012. We loved it! The rooms were spacious and comfortable. You could get wifi in the room and all rooms had views of the volcano (but it was clouded out while we were there). My husband liked that there was a table and chairs outside that he could sit at and drink coffee while I slept in.

The (free) breakfasts were great and they were flexible with the menu. For example, one of the breakfast choices was pancakes, which I love, but I also wanted some protein, so I asked if I could have eggs as well, and they said it was no problem. For lunch and dinner they had a lot of offerings at reasonable prices. We only ate at the hotel one night for dinner, and it was very good. While they gave us the dinner menu, they said we could also order off the lunch menu if we preferred. They also put out fruit for the birds outside the restaurant, so there was a lot of bird watching during breakfast. The flowers and paths around the grounds were also beautiful.

The hot springs at the hotel were also very nice. Our first day there we went to the Tabacon hot springs and had a great time. One of the employees at Tabacon told us that if we kept our bracelet from Tabacon on without breaking it we could come back the next night at no charge. We debated doing that but decided to check out the one at the hotel since we were tired. While the hotel's hot springs was not as elaborate as Tabacon, it was just as relaxing and not crowded at all. We never tried out the pool because we just stayed at the hot spring.

We did not know anything about the hotel before we arrived, as our trip was put together by a travel company (CR Referrals, which we highly recommend) and we loved it on first sight. I can't speak about value as our vacation was not itemized so we don't know how much we paid for this hotel. But we looked up prices online and they seemed reasonable. Our only regret about this hotel is that we did not stay longer! If we are lucky enough to come back to Arenal, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank libby s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We had a perfect stay at El Silencio which is located right in a cloud forest. Our kids loved it (eight year old girl and 13 year old son) and there is an incredible amount of activities from horseback riding, waterfall hikes, spa, and zip lining/river rafting/rappelling (located nearby). The scenery is amazing. We also did a volcano hike and hot springs visit. The food was superb and this is a hotel that takes Eco tourism to heart - organic produce much of it grown/raised (trout on location - fresh eggs that the kids can gather inthe am - and they support the local town and school. Each of the private bungalows comes with it's own hot tub. The whole facility was well thought out and well maintained. We had massages in the spa as well and they were great.

Hate to sound too positive but it really could not have been better. Most of all, the staff from waiters to the office staff to our own personal ecoguide were all super friendly and professional. We loved our stay!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spikenealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed for two nights in February 2012 and had a wonderful time. The cabins are nice and clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice and waiter was so friendly. The hot spring is very welcome after a long day out walking and also lovely first thing in the morning! The grounds are very pretty and birds amazing. Wish we had booked an extra night but will know next time!!

Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in cabin #8 in January 2012. I usually choose the #1 hotel on tripadvisor in a given area, but we wanted to stretch our dollars this trip to rent a car and do more activities. I could not be happier with that decision because this hotel was great.

We got stuck in the states thanks to USAirways and "plane maintenance issues that couldn't be resolved." So we lost our first night at Hotel El Silencio and were incredibly bummed. I emailed the hotel to let them know we were arriving a day late. I asked them if we could have some kind of credit towards other things at the hotel since we paid ahead of time and they gladly obliged. So nice of them, they definitely didn't have to do that. We ended up getting massages and I also got a pedicure and facial (they were running a special for a free facial and another service at half price). Our massages were in a little tent down by the pool. I think my husband may have overheard they're building a new spa though? I can't remember. Regardless it didn't matter where it was because the massages were awesome.

Cabin was great... had a nice breeze with both windows open each night. Spacious and clean. Table on the front porch of the cabin was nice. Grounds were pristine and quiet. Lots of fun birds to see (wished I knew more about birds). Hot springs were neat, nice to have the bar back there too. Restaurant food was pretty good. We also went into town to eat a few times. Lots to do in the area and the people at the front desk were very helpful in arranging activities for us. If you want to stretch your dollar and still get great service, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tew21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Louis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Date of stay: Feb 9th – 11th
Weather: sunny and scattered clouds
Room 7
Pros: Breakfast, hot spring pool, grounds, front desk staff, great landscaping and volcano view, cleaning staff, and room(not the best, but very comfortable for the price)

Highly Recommended Activities in order of rating:

Munado Adventure Zip Lining (safe, fun guide, $62/person, great views)
Arenal Hanging Bridges (no guide needed, $25/person, great views (waterfall , volcano, and wildlife)
Free Hot Springs near Tabicon ( free!, heated river with wading pools- didn't want to leave)
Arenal 1968 ($10, okay enjoyment nothing spectacular) If I could redo it I would have hiked the LaFortuna falls and Cerro Chato

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilfletch11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing