We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Honeymooners' Dream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymooners' Dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon in Costa Rica. I was a bit nervous arriving after 10:30pm, not knowing who would be around to check us in, but low and behold Julio was there to greet us. He came to our shuttle with large umbrellas as it was raining and escorted us to our room. The villa itself was gorgeous. Each stands alone, perfectly facing the volcano. I enjoyed coffee each morning on our private porch. Each of the staff members, from the receptionists, waiters (Larsen!! our favorite), bartenders (Shirle and Albert) and spa masseuses, were extremely cordial, helpful and genuinely kind. Where else do you hug your waiter and bartender at the end of your stay??? The food was great, rooms and grounds were well kept, and the quiet peacefulness felt like we had the place to ourselves. Perfect for relaxing and spending quality time together. Would HIGHLY recommend staying here - I hope to come back sometime!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 2shea04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,417
    290
    40
    5
    4
See reviews for
635
791
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

This was my favorite hotel in Costa Rica (room #20). Each room is clean, well-decorated, modern, and secluded for privacy but still connected. I had never seen a layout like it, and it was awesome.

The hot springs were great (not crowded), the pool was nice, and the staff was super friendly! The food in the restaurant was great, reasonably priced -- would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is an ideal place for those that enjoy nature and relaxing. Not your average Hyatt or Hilton :)
The hotel is located in the foot of the Volcano Arenal. It has its own hot springs. The water is heated from the lavas of the Volcano. The bedrooms are individual cabins. Ours had 2 queen bed. Everybody is extremely cordial. Loved the place
thanks!

Room Tip: I booked at expedia. I am sharing some pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betinalew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed in room #15 around the end of May. Eliomar was very helpful with checking us in and booking tours. We both booked massages from their new spa and it was very relaxing. We also really enjoyed their natural hot springs and it was never crowded. Beds were comfortable and our room was quiet. If you are a light sleeper bring earplugs because the birds might wake you up in the morning. We saw plenty of birds around the ground including flycatchers and hummingbirds. Internet in rooms can be spotty just like other posters have said, but works better the closer you are to the lobby. I recommend bringing your own computer because their lobby computer disappeared after the first day (not sure where it went). Be advised that the in room safe is not big enough for most laptops, but you can leave it at the front desk. The grocery (Super Christian #4) was conveniently located down the road to pick up drinks and snacks. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher number rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hulamaiden01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

This is a beautiful place to stay. When I planned our trip to CR, I couldn't decide where to stay when we visited the volcano because the descriptions of the different places were so conflicting. With our college age daughters, they are picky and want privacy and a nice place. This is the nicest, most beautiful place I have been outside of the United States. And, it was very reasonably priced. It is big, comfortable cabins set in a glorious, private garden with amazing colorful birds, a hot springs and wonderful food. If we had gone nowhere but here in CR I would have been happy. The owners are very helpful and kind. The breakfast is delicious and filling. It is just a wonderful place to stay. I want to go back.

Room Tip: All of the cabins are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaraBethP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

My wife and two daughters stayed in a very nice unit last month (April 2012) and the entire experience was wonderful. All of the units appear very nice - they are like little villas with a patio. The entire hotel staff was friendly, the facilities including the regular pool and the hot spring pool was well maintained. The hot spring pool is really fun and relaxing - you feel very removed from the rest of the world. The food there was good and you are centrally located to everything. Our entire family had a really fun time in the area - thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRoberts1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights of our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. The room was very private and very clean. We loved having the hot spring on the property and that we were able to drive into town. The breakfast here was great and my husband has quite the appetite and was able to order more than one thing! The waitress was very friendly and helpful. The view here was nice and the property was maintained to perfection.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateryan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,623 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,096 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing